We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”
Review of Cables B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cables B&B
Ranked #1 of 8 Matlock Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Lovely small bed and breakfast, very friendly and staff cannot do enough for you. The food is home cooked, fresh and very good value for money. When Roger explained that trout was not on the menu being winter he surpised us later with a trout he had caught fresh that day! Would highly recommend this hotel for families and couples looking for a break in this beautiful area of the Peak District.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank icecreamlady10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (467)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 467 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2011

What a wonderful weekend we had staying at the cables. The welcome was very pleasent and very friendly which made us both feel relaxed. The four poster bedroom was exelent and the kissing swans on the bed were a very lovely touch, Rogers towel monkey made us laugh when we got back the second day. Every detail was taken care of in the most exelent maner, the bath robes/slippers, every toiletry you needed and the fresh milk in the the fridge/bar was brilliant. The breakfasts were out of this world and all cooked fresh for each person, there was nothing missing at all. The location is just right for everything and it was very easy to locate. We will definatly be going back to stay again and we would both like to thank Roger and Maureen for a brilliant weekend. David and Lorraine.

Room Tip: we stayed in the Four poster bedroom but I expect that all the rooms are of excelent value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DAVID W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

The Cables is not just a house where you can have a shower and some food. This is because Roger and Maureen will make you feel home welcoming you in the best way. Attention to detail, immaculately clean, wide choice of food with local, organic choices, plenty of advice about places to visit (and all much organised with folders, leaflets etc.). This shows that Maureen and Roger are not only professional, but have real passion for what they do!

Room Tip: Even if you do not get the room without en-suite bathroom, you can still use the bathroom next door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marco B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We were treated to two nights B&B at the Cables, on 21 & 22 Oct, and what a pleasure it was. Ideally situated and with easy parking. There was a welcome sign with our names on and everything in the room to make our stay enjoyable. The swans on the bed, every toiletry you can imagine,honesty bar and fresh milk in the fridge were impressive. Maureen and Roger are really friendly and excellent hosts who do their upmost to make your stay enjoyable. Roger's breakfasts are unbelievable - his home made bread, Derbyshire oatcakes and plum ketchup are amazing. We would recommend the Cables to anyone and will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2011

We had the pleasure of staying at this excellent B&B for five nights and fully agree with all the glowing comments by other reviewers.
Roger and Maureen are probably the most congenial hosts we have ever encountered in our many travels around the country. Their attention to detail is second to none, with a lot of items that we have not encountered elsewhere.
The location is very convenient for walking to Matlock and Matlock Bath and well placed for visits to the many and varied attractions in the area.
The evening menu is to be thoroughly recommended, Roger offers an excellent choice of very tasty dishes at reasonable rates.
We found no noise problems from the A6 in our room at the front.
We shall return
David and Alison

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Regular_Traveller63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We stayed at the Cables for one night, my husband, my two children (5 & 3) and myself....and were so impressed!! When we arrved, we were greeted with a warm welcome and a sign outside the door welcoming our family. Roger met us and knew all of our names, offered us all a drink, gave us our room key while we went for a wonder round. We returned later, and were shown to our room. We stayed in the family room, and they had made 2 beds up for the children complete with a teddy for each of them....and Rogers famous towel monkey hanging up!! There was a mini fridge (with various types of alcahol), coffee and tea making facilities and even chocolate and fruit shoots in the room for the children, with an 'honestly tray' by way of paying for what we wanted. We stayed that evening for dinner, and for breakfast the following day, and both, we can honestly say were outstanding!! The food quality and service was excellent, our son decided as an extra he wanted ice cream for breakfast, which Roger happily obliged!! It was a lovely atmosphere, very homely, near the local town, and offered everything we wanted and more. We will definaltey be back!! 10/10!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stu and Michell... H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Stayed here for three nights - our choice was based on the Tripadvisor reviews, and we were not disappointed. Everything was as the reviews suggested. We would recommend the evening meals - real home cooking (especially the spicy plum crumble!) at very reasonable prices. The ambience was lovely - just like eating in an exclusive restaurant!
If we had to make one critisism: our room overlooked the busy A6, and - although it was not a problem for us - it could be a noise issue in the summer if the windows were open at night.
Don`t want to repeat what everybody else has written -just that we can highly recommend The Cables!

Room Tip: The room at the back will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sgjsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock Bath
0.8 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
359 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
396 reviews
1.4 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ashdale Guest House
Ashdale Guest House
#2 of 8 in Matlock Bath
143 reviews
0.2 mi away
High Tor Hotel
High Tor Hotel
#3 of 8 in Matlock Bath
334 reviews
0.4 mi away
Explorers Retreat at Gulliver's Resort Matlock Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cables B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cables B&B

Address: 182 Dale Road, Matlock Bath, Matlock DE4 3PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Matlock Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock Bath
Price Range: £83 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are perfectly located between Matlock and Matlock Bath with a 10 min walk to both. We offer a friendly service and pride ourselves on offering lots of little extras. Relax by the log fire on the patio or in the hot tub with a glass of wine and have your pizzas cooked in our out door oven.(april to sept mon/wed/fri) We focus on special occasions with lots of surprises to make your time memorable we are licensed with room fridges, USB points and coffee machines, we source all our food locally, with homemade bread, yogurt, preserves, compote and lots more. We have special arrangements with pubs and restaurants including pick up and return and discounts. With lovely scenic views on the side of the river derwent, you can't fail to have a relaxing time at the Cables. Local attractions for young and old alike with numerous walks and activities. Garage available for bikes and classic cars and dogs accepted by prior arrangement. All dietary requirements catered for. We hope you come soon!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cables B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cables Hotel Matlock Bath
Cables Bed And Breakfast
Cables B&B Matlock Bath, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing