We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Perfect stay for a girly getaway!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cables B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cables B&B
Ranked #1 of 7 Matlock Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect stay for a girly getaway!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

Myself and two friends stayed at the Cables from 12/07 to 15/07 and had a fantastic time. The attention to detail and personalised touches that Roger and Maureen put into our stay has made it a place that I will definitely consider returning to- from the towel hanging monkey to ensuring that all of our needs were catered for. The food was delicious and I recommend the Pizza's that Roger makes as well as the Malibu ice cream that Maureen made too!! (Why couldn't we have stayed a week??!!).
The B&B is extremely homely and even though we only stayed for three nights, I think we all came back home feeling well rested. The decor is lovely and the garden is beautiful. We were lucky enough to have pizza's cooked outside by Roger and then to enjoy staying there with a log burner to keep us warm. On the whole, absolutely impressed and you'd be hard pushed to find a better place at such reasonable rates. Set in a beautiful village too with plenty to do. Thank you Maureen and Roger for a lovely weekend.

Room Tip: Benefit of room 3 is that you have a separate bathroom which is large in size. The room accomodates...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    31
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
58
292
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wirral, Merseyside
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

As it was our anniversary on the day we arrived we were greeted by Roger who was very welcoming and offered us complimentary coffee and cake, which we appreciated after a long journey.

We then found our room was decked out with a chalk board heart with our names on it, a card, bunting and balloon. We did think that the balloon was a gift to us but no it was all taken back the next day whilst we were out for the day. No matter but we thought that was a bit mean.

Although we stayed B & B an evening meal was on offer at very reasonable cost so we opted to try it. It was simply great together with the service provided by Roger.

Although we were told that Maureen, the landlady was working during the day at no point over the 3 days were we introduced to her. We did ask to see her and was told she prepared the puddings and so she would serve them to us. No Roger served us again. How bizarre we thought. Perhaps she is just shy, not what we expected of a landlady.

Overall though Roger fullfilled our needs and seemed to do just about everything, cooking the meals, cleaning the rooms and the washing.

We booked this stay as a result of previous posts comments regarding attention to detail. Something very important to us. This B & B is midway between Matlock & Matlock bath very close to the cable cars of Abraham's Heigths which is definately worth a visit. Roger will offer a small discount. Apparently the illuminations are on in September 2012 so this would be an ideal place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chippy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger M, Owner at Cables B&B, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear paul
thank-you for taking time to write a review,so glad you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry about the balloon we would have been more than happy to have given it to you. My wife maureen was particular tired during your stay because it was her mums 96 birthday, however she does apoligise for not putting in an appearance.
Once again thanks for your comments we always welcome constructive feed back
kind regards roger and maureen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

Likes - comfortable room - (limited views) - the honesty fridge, all those goodies available - the hot tub - the home made Pizza's - Roger's efforts to make all things comfortable - breakfast - there are lots of positive things about the Cables........the only negative ? - the A6 that runs alongside. To be fair the double glazing blocks out most of the noise - but it does intrude in the garden.
A very enjoyable stay - would recommend!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiarainn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

We stayed at the Cables for 3 nights on route south. Roger and Maureen were very welcoming and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The bedroom was great although we weren't en suite but we had our own private bathroom, which was fine. Breakfast was excellent and on one night Roger cooked our evening meal, it was superb. There are restaurants within walking distance of the Cables. It was a great base as there are local attactions nearby with the Heights of Abraham within walking distance. Tea and cake was on offer when we arrived which was a lovely touch. Excellent accommodation without breaking the bank. I would certainly recommend the Cables.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fisherrhuvaal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

We stayed at The Cables while spending a weekend at the end of June exploring the Peak District. I can't fault our stay at all, the room was spotless and the cooked breakfast was a great way to start the day.

Roger and Maureen were really welcoming and friendly and provided us with some really useful information on the local area.

We look forward to staying again some time in the future.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew_W_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

Such a wonderful place! Everything was perfect. I've stayed in a fair few B&Bs but this is by FAR the best. I felt at home right away, such a lovely atmosphere the place has and I literally couldn't think of anything that was missing. It definately goes above and beyond expectations, so much choice and the facilities are spot on.

My boyfriend planned this little break away as a surprise, and what a nice surprise it was!! The chalkboard outside with our names on was a lovely touch :) When showed our room, much to my surprise, it was decorated in rose petals, along with chocolates, wine, flowers & fresh strawberries. So much effort had been put in, I was truely shocked & amazed (and rather emotional! haha) My boyfriend explained to me later that he'd arranged it all with Roger & that he was more than happy to make the room extra special for us - what a wonderful job he did :)

I'm still on cloud 9 after a wonderful few days away, this B&B is brilliant and I will be recommending it to everyone! The food was absolutely gorgeous, the room was spotless, great value for money & the owners are lovely. Fantastic place - perfect for couples .

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sell0ut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

There is not much more to say that hasn't already been said, it truely is the best B&B my husband and I have stayed in, and we have stayed in several. We were a little dissapointed that we left it too late to book an evening meal especially as it smelled delicious,
There isn't anything that hasn't been thought of to make our stay wonderful from a great breakfast to all the little extras that are in the bedroom with coffee and cake on arrival, Excellant value for money,
If your looking for a B&B around the matlock area book early you certainly will not be disappoint with your stay

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caz2008Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock Bath
0.5 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.8 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Matlock
Premier Inn Matlock
#2 of 4 in Matlock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.2 mi away
High Tor Hotel
High Tor Hotel
#3 of 7 in Matlock Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riverbank Guest House
Riverbank Guest House
#4 of 50 in Matlock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cables B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cables B&B

Property: Cables B&B
Address: 182 Dale Road, Matlock Bath, Matlock DE4 3PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Matlock Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are perfectly located between Matlock and Matlock Bath with a 10 min walk to both. We offer a friendly service and pride ourselves on offering lots of little extras. Relax by the log fire on the patio or in the hot tub with a glass of wine and have your pizzas cooked in our out door oven.(april to sept) We focus on special occasions with lots of surprises to make your time memorable we are licensed with room mini bars and source all our food locally, with homemade bread, yogurt, preserves, compote and lots more. With lovely scenic views, you can't fail to have a relaxing time at the Cables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cables B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cables Hotel Matlock Bath
Cables Bed And Breakfast
Cables B&B Matlock Bath, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing