We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simon & Wendy”
Review of Cables B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cables B&B
Ranked #1 of 7 Matlock Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“Simon & Wendy”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Just returned from a four night stay were made very welcome by Maureen & Roger.
We found the room very clean & tidy,well equipped with refreshments.
Breakfast was excellent with a good variety.
We ordered dinner for our first night stay which we found excellent so we decided to wine & dine for the rest of our stay.
Pizza cooked by Roger & hot tub evening was very much enjoyed.
Am sure we will return.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    35
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
63
303
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

After reading previous reviews we thought that this place sounded good. It wasn't just good it was excellent. The attention to detail that Roger and Maureen have put into this B & B is beyond belief. From the welcome board with your name on as you arrive, the honesty fridge with a tray full of chocolate bars and lots of drinks - both alcoholic and non-alcoholic, even a jug of fresh milk to go with your tea or coffee. The food is out of this world. The choice for breakfast of cereals, home made yoghurt, granola, berry compote, marmalade, jams and bread. Then there was the full English, you could choose how you liked your bacon cooked, eggs came fried, boiled, poached scrambled and even omelette. Four types of sausage - I could go on. Evening meals were superb. Our only regret was that we didn't pre-order an evening meal for the first night and went out for one, not a patch on the one we had on the second night at the b & b.
Thank you Roger and Maureen for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayell4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Just returned from a three night stay at the cables. What a fantastic place. Roger and Maureen are great host's. Bedroom very cosy and clean. The standard of food is a massive plus. mouth watering food cooked and served with flair and passion. What remarkable value. ( Not forgetting their little dog Max who is just adorable.) Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulieBrooke187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013 via mobile

First the welcome was a bit intense but friendly it was pointed out right away ' oh you have booked through .com so no breakfast
On that subject £80 for room was ok but £7 each for breakfast on top , I don't think
The room looked clean but on dropping the blind it was covered in dust as was the bed top
Very very noisy road shame as not really there fault but being honest that's the truth
Matlock bath is very tired and dated well past it's sell by date however if you like fish and chips every other shop is one
Pubs are a bit crappy but the fishpond is brilliant good beer good food
Sorry cables as the heading states it is our opinion

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blackbess2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecables, Owner at Cables B&B, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Hello there
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I have had a word with the cleaner and given myself a good telling off!!!! Traffic noise is an issue in front rooms with the window open, we are however double glazed and when closed noise level is greatly reduced. Daytime traffic is busy but in the evening is very minimal. Using a third party web site such as booking.com or late rooms will incur a breakfast charge which is stated before and after booking on our confirmation letter. I am sorry if this cause offence and you felt we represented poor value for money. We always welcome feedback and are constantly reviewing our approach.
kind regards
roger and maureen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We spent the weekend in a family room, which was adequate size for 2 adults and one child. The hosts were more than accommodating including their little dog Max who kept our little girl entertained. Roger cooked home-made pizzas for us in his garden pizza oven, they were the best. The breakfast was plentiful, spoilt for choice, i had the sausage platter which was lovely. There is no negative points about this place, its lovely, very easy walking into Matlock Bath and i would thoroughly recommend, it is well worth the money.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BASmith66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

What can I say apart from you MUST stay here, MUST have your evening meal here (restaurant quality in taste and presentation) and MUST spend time in the hot tub! The breakfast definitely sets you up for the day...home made granola, yoghurt, fruit compote, jams, marmalade and bread...an extensive breakfast menu as well as the Full English...yum! Nothing is too much trouble for Roger and Maureen...you cannot ask for the wrong thing, it's all about the little extras and finishing touches! All the comforts of home and more! Definitely will be going back! Fantabulous!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShellsPorter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Only been to Matlock Bath for a couple hours at a time so we decided to spend a few days there as a base to roam around the Derbyshire attractions. Roger and Maureen even had our names written on a welcome sign outside by the front entrance. The usual stuff is there like tea/coffee, but there is also a full range of toiletries, A loyalty fridge full of chocs and wine, Food cooked to perfection, Breakfast bar choices would beat any hotel. The accommodation is excellent - 5* service in a 4* B&B how good is that?

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maurice373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock Bath
0.8 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
263 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
368 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Matlock
Premier Inn Matlock
#2 of 4 in Matlock
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
351 reviews
0.2 mi away
High Tor Hotel
High Tor Hotel
#3 of 7 in Matlock Bath
316 reviews
0.8 mi away
Castle Green B&B
Castle Green B&B
#1 of 52 in Matlock
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cables B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cables B&B

Property: Cables B&B
Address: 182 Dale Road, Matlock Bath, Matlock DE4 3PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Matlock Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are perfectly located between Matlock and Matlock Bath with a 10 min walk to both. We offer a friendly service and pride ourselves on offering lots of little extras. Relax by the log fire on the patio or in the hot tub with a glass of wine and have your pizzas cooked in our out door oven.(april to sept) We focus on special occasions with lots of surprises to make your time memorable we are licensed with room mini bars and source all our food locally, with homemade bread, yogurt, preserves, compote and lots more. With lovely scenic views, you can't fail to have a relaxing time at the Cables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Cables B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cables Bed And Breakfast
Cables Hotel Matlock Bath
Cables B&B Matlock Bath, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing