We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely A Gem”
Review of Cables B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cables B&B
Ranked #1 of 8 Matlock Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Highly recommend Cables for the best place to stay, we stayed for two nights. The food is 1st class from breakfast to dinner and a wide choice, meals, mini bar & wine prices are fantastic value even down to the items supplied incase we forgot anything a nice touch. The hot tub is a must, well worth it. Yes Cables is situated on a busy main road but because this is fantastic play to stay your oblivious to it! Thanks Roger & Maureen (lovely people) Hope to see you again soon !

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bridget T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 464 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2013

Just spent a lovely weekend at Cables. It's everything you could want from a B&B. Wonderful selection of food at breakfast and lots of very thoughtful extras provided in the rooms. The large hot tub discreetly screened off from view in the grounds was a huge bonus after a hard days walking and a very welcome addition to the facilities. Roger was a most welcoming and attentive host and even collected us from the station with our cases. We have already recommended this B&B to friends and relatives and are looking forward to staying there again before too long. In short, a very successful and well run B&B which we could not fault.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I booked me and my hubby in for two nights relaxation for his birthday, and that's what we got. A warm welcome on arrival, and a room that had been decorated lovely with birthday banner,ballon and a nice smelling candle burning, a great touch. The room was beauitful,clean and excellent en-suite facitites.A little fridge in the room filled with wonderful treats, at affordable prices.The first night Rodger made pizza's in his oven and we hired the hot tub with robes provided, what a way to start the weekend totally chilled.Roger had a nice collection of beers,which pleased my hubby. Breakfasts are tasty and wholesome,and lots of healthy options with homemade ingredients.A nice stroll into Matlock Bath, and although set on the main road we didn't find it noisy at all. We will stay again,It was one of the best B & B we have ever stayed at. Thank you Roger and Maureen, you a great couple and love to Max (the dog)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nottingahm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Returned from spending two nights at The Cables,we would have loved to have stayed longer. Maureen and Colin could not have done any more to have made the time more enjoyable.Have stayed at many hotels that have not offered a fraction of what we enjoyed at their establishment.So many little touches made to the pleasure from excellent beds,towel changes daily,lovely food,bathroom toiletries,hot tub with such good waiter service Roger.Will be back again.Once again many thanks for a very pleasant couple of days spent in a great position.

Room Tip: Number 3 was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cridders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Sad to say we only had one night at The Cables but would have loved to have stayed longer. We were made to feel very welcome and the room was lovely and clean. It's the little touches that make a B & B and this has many. Breakfast was first class and nothing was too much trouble. Although we didn't partake in the mini bar, the prices were extremely reasonable, a rare find! The B & B is on a busy road but in our view, this is offset by the experience of a really first class establishment. Would we stay again? Of course, no question! We would like to wish Roger and Maureen all the success in the world. David and Linda

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Just returned from a 5 night stay at The Cables. A great B & B with the perfect hosts. Roger & Maureen made us feel very welcome making our stay memorable. The breakfasts are amazing and sets you up for the day. The evening meals, cooked by Roger are excellent and at a very reasonable price, make sure you book. Food and drinks prices are very good value. And make sure you try the Hot Tub, great after a days walking. As other reviews have mentioned the premises are situated on a busy main road and passing traffic is noisy. However this couldn't distract from an excellent stay at the best B & B in Derbyshire with the perfect hosts.

5-10 minute walk into Matlock Bath, which reminds me of an old seaside resort with a lot of fish & chip shops and arcades, not my cup-of-tea, but there's so many other great places in the area to visit. Worth walking to the top of High Tor, the views are stunning.

We would certainly book again and recommend it to anyone who's looking for a B & B in Derbyshire that goes that extra mile to deliver a personal, friendly service.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Really could not recommend this little B & B enough. Fantastic service all round, perfect setting, clean and very reasonable prices. Easily the best B & B I have stayed at and will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MattEdGSOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock Bath
0.8 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
330 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
385 reviews
1.4 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
High Tor Hotel
High Tor Hotel
#3 of 8 in Matlock Bath
326 reviews
0.8 mi away
Castle Green B&B
Castle Green B&B
#2 of 53 in Matlock
442 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riverbank Guest House
Riverbank Guest House
#4 of 53 in Matlock
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cables B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cables B&B

Address: 182 Dale Road, Matlock Bath, Matlock DE4 3PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Matlock Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock Bath
Price Range: £59 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are perfectly located between Matlock and Matlock Bath with a 10 min walk to both. We offer a friendly service and pride ourselves on offering lots of little extras. Relax by the log fire on the patio or in the hot tub with a glass of wine and have your pizzas cooked in our out door oven.(april to sept mon/wed/fri) We focus on special occasions with lots of surprises to make your time memorable we are licensed with room fridges, USB points and coffee machines, we source all our food locally, with homemade bread, yogurt, preserves, compote and lots more. We have special arrangements with pubs and restaurants including pick up and return and discounts. With lovely scenic views on the side of the river derwent, you can't fail to have a relaxing time at the Cables. Local attractions for young and old alike with numerous walks and activities. Garage available for bikes and classic cars and dogs accepted by prior arrangement. All dietary requirements catered for. We hope you come soon!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cables B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cables Bed And Breakfast
Cables Hotel Matlock Bath
Cables B&B Matlock Bath, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing