We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cables B&B
Nearby Hotels
Hodgkinson's Hotel(Matlock Bath)
US$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Lion Hotel(Wirksworth)
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$274
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Peak Edge Hotel(Stonedge)
US$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Alfreton(Alfreton)(Great Value!)
US$55
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Reviews (469)
Filter reviews
469 results
Traveller rating
421
37
9
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
421
37
9
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroger and maureenhot tubfour posteron arrivalrose petalshomemade breadcup of teasky tvbirthday decorationsheights of abrahammini fridgegranolafeel very welcomean evening meallittle touchesshort walknothing is too much trouble
Filter
Updating list...
173 - 178 of 469 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Highly recommend Cables for the best place to stay, we stayed for two nights. The food is 1st class from breakfast to dinner and a wide choice, meals, mini bar & wine prices are fantastic value even down to the items supplied incase we forgot anything a nice touch. The hot tub is a must, well worth it. Yes Cables is situated on a busy main road but because this is fantastic play to stay your oblivious to it! Thanks Roger & Maureen (lovely people) Hope to see you again soon !

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bridget T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Just spent a lovely weekend at Cables. It's everything you could want from a B&B. Wonderful selection of food at breakfast and lots of very thoughtful extras provided in the rooms. The large hot tub discreetly screened off from view in the grounds was a huge bonus after a hard days walking and a very welcome addition to the facilities. Roger was a most welcoming and attentive host and even collected us from the station with our cases. We have already recommended this B&B to friends and relatives and are looking forward to staying there again before too long. In short, a very successful and well run B&B which we could not fault.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I booked me and my hubby in for two nights relaxation for his birthday, and that's what we got. A warm welcome on arrival, and a room that had been decorated lovely with birthday banner,ballon and a nice smelling candle burning, a great touch. The room was beauitful,clean and excellent en-suite facitites.A little fridge in the room filled with wonderful treats, at affordable prices.The first night Rodger made pizza's in his oven and we hired the hot tub with robes provided, what a way to start the weekend totally chilled.Roger had a nice collection of beers,which pleased my hubby. Breakfasts are tasty and wholesome,and lots of healthy options with homemade ingredients.A nice stroll into Matlock Bath, and although set on the main road we didn't find it noisy at all. We will stay again,It was one of the best B & B we have ever stayed at. Thank you Roger and Maureen, you a great couple and love to Max (the dog)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nottingahm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Returned from spending two nights at The Cables,we would have loved to have stayed longer. Maureen and Colin could not have done any more to have made the time more enjoyable.Have stayed at many hotels that have not offered a fraction of what we enjoyed at their establishment.So many little touches made to the pleasure from excellent beds,towel changes daily,lovely food,bathroom toiletries,hot tub with such good waiter service Roger.Will be back again.Once again many thanks for a very pleasant couple of days spent in a great position.

Room Tip: Number 3 was excellent
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cridders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Sad to say we only had one night at The Cables but would have loved to have stayed longer. We were made to feel very welcome and the room was lovely and clean. It's the little touches that make a B & B and this has many. Breakfast was first class and nothing was too much trouble. Although we didn't partake in the mini bar, the prices were extremely reasonable, a rare find! The B & B is on a busy road but in our view, this is offset by the experience of a really first class establishment. Would we stay again? Of course, no question! We would like to wish Roger and Maureen all the success in the world. David and Linda

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews