We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful 40th for my sister.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cables B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cables B&B
Ranked #1 of 7 Matlock Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful 40th for my sister.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We had a wonderful time and a lovely celebration for my sisters 40th birthday weekend on 13th June. We stayed in the Stone Lodge next door and found everything to be perfect, beautiful room which had been decorated with celebration bunting and a helium balloon on our arrival, a lovely surprise! The breakfast was well cooked and plentiful with what can only be described as heavenly bread and homemade jam. We hired the hot tub for 2 hours and were supplied with lovely fleecy dressing gowns and soft towels, it was a lovely indulgent end to a day full of laughs and happy memories. The owners of this establishment are super friendly and really want you to have a lovely stay with them. I don't think there can be anywhere better to stay in Matlock Bath or the Peaks.

Room Tip: All the rooms here appear to be perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellabarmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    406
    33
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
59
299
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

A very friendly, hospitable and relaxing place to stay. The owners can't do enought to help, from picking you up at the station to getting your breakfast order exactly right. Food is great and very good value for money. You have to try the lamb for dinner (sorry little lambies), amazing! We had a lovely room with excellent en suite bathroom. The bathroom has lots of toiletries, which is very considerate of the owners. There's an excellent well stocked mini bar. There's a hot tub, which is great (it's hot though...you might want the heat turned down). Great loaction, just a short walk from Matock Bath. The best B&B I've ever stayed at by a very long way.

Room Tip: Make sure you close the windows at night, as the road can be noisy. Room number one, the four poster...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

What a wonderful bed and breakfast. The room was beautiful with a lovely four poster bed. There was a well stocked mini bar, the bathroom had all the essentials just in case you had forgotten to pack it. Roger was very welcoming and friendly and even put rose petals on the bed and balloons in our room when he found out it was our anniversary. Nothing was too much bother for him. Breakfast was cooked exactly to our liking. We have stayed in many b&b's but this is the best by far!!!! We will definitely return and maybe next time we will try the hot tub!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sallyr77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bury manchester
Level Contributor
99 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

lovely place, very quaint, little over priced we thought for the night and spa but was still good, and I believe the weekday specials are almost half price so worth a visit then next time. The village is lovely lots to do and the cable cars a great day out. The staff are very helpful and food very good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michellecardno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night excellent location only 5 mins walk in matlock bath 15,20mins walk into matlock ,room excellent,verything you need in room,bed very comfortable ,breakfast excellent host Roger very friendly and helpful ,best B&B we have stayed in .

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nigelswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Roger and Maureen own both Stone lodge and Cables. They are friendly, welcoming and couldn't be more helpful. they cooked breakfast at 6.30am for us as we were up for a cycle event and they even gave us a vegetarian breakfast, cooked to perfection. the room was very clean and comfortable and a dip in the hot tub is highly recommended. We would defiantly stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Micvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

I stayed in The Cables next door property Stone Lodge, and it really was home away from home. Roger and Maureen are absolutely lovely. so friendly and welcoming and the breakfasts were excellent, whatever you could want, with home made bread and home made jams! I was in the area on a course, but there was no complaints from them at having to get breakfast earlier so I could catch my lift each morning. The room was so comfortable, very clean, and very comfortable bed. I would love the chance to look round this beautiful area more, and would definitely come back to stay here again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beechtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock Bath
0.8 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
1.4 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.2 mi away
High Tor Hotel
High Tor Hotel
#3 of 7 in Matlock Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riverbank Guest House
Riverbank Guest House
#5 of 51 in Matlock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cables B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cables B&B

Property: Cables B&B
Address: 182 Dale Road, Matlock Bath, Matlock DE4 3PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Matlock Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are perfectly located between Matlock and Matlock Bath with a 10 min walk to both. We offer a friendly service and pride ourselves on offering lots of little extras. Relax by the log fire on the patio or in the hot tub with a glass of wine and have your pizzas cooked in our out door oven.(april to sept) We focus on special occasions with lots of surprises to make your time memorable we are licensed with room mini bars and source all our food locally, with homemade bread, yogurt, preserves, compote and lots more. With lovely scenic views, you can't fail to have a relaxing time at the Cables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cables B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cables Bed And Breakfast
Cables Hotel Matlock Bath
Cables B&B Matlock Bath, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing