We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reply to bad review of 14th July”
Review of Cables B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cables B&B
Ranked #1 of 8 Matlock Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

When we stayed last October our fruit pies where a bit overdone,being polite we never mentioned anything but Roger noticed and would not charge us for them.We realised this couple work extremely hard running 2 adjoining properties and no we didnt see maureen much but could not fault anything as we understood how hard they work

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank breen17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (462)
There are newer reviews for Cables B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 462 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

I see no point in Trip Advisor if one is unable to be totally honest when writing a review - for that reason I am going to be frank about a certain aspect of our recent stay at the Cables.
Positives first - Good location on main road in Matlock Bath (a little traffic noise but not too much to be a real issue). Very nice rooms, well furnished with comfortable beds - room serviced and beds made up daily. Extremely good breakfasts with superb variety served with alactrity by Roger.
Regrettable the pizzas served on our first night were a little disappointing. First one out was badly burned (the underside of the base was as black as soot) and was barely edible. Roger did admit that the first one out was generally like that. Third one out was mine and it had bits of what seemed like charcoal in the topping (I presume from the top of the oven) - I imagined it to be what bits of coal might be like in your food. Didn't make a fuss about these issues as Roger was doing his best in what was quite bad weather.
The real disturbing aspect of our stay was Maureen (the alleged partner who, with Roger, welcomes the guests (according to the information on their website). She (Maureen) completely ignored us when she first appeared immediately after our arrival (we were in the guest lounge with Roger at the time). On every occasion she was near us she totally "blanked" each and every one of us as if we were invisible. No "goodbye" on departure - No "did you enjoy your stay" - nothing whatsoever - to us she was the ultimate in rudeness - perhaps she didn't like us.
We were all genuinely puzzled by her behaviour toward us.

I would mention that I was with three well presented, polite professionals.

To conclude I admit that Roger was very welcoming - thank you for that.
JFH - Norwich
PS: Note to readers - we are not alone - see review by "louise d" posted on 28/07/2013. She appeared to have had the same experience as us - (interesting that).

Room Tip: Nice room at the back with private bathoom.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank John F H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thecables, Owner at Cables B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank-your for your review.

Us British never say what we think at that time, but happily put it down in writing, frustrating because things can be so easily rectified at the time. None the less I would like to address your concerns, better late than never. Sorry about the pizzas, I would not have charged you for them at the time if I had known, please call me with your card details for a refund. Maureen does apologize, but in her defense her 98 year old mother has been seriously ill, and been in hospital and she has been making daily trips to Chesterfield, as well as being called out in the night the day before your arrived. She was extremely tired and worried and not at her best, running a business 7 days a week takes it's toil. When all is said and done we try to not let our personal life effect our attitude but don't always manage it. We are sorry.

kind regards Roger and Maureen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed at The Cables for 1 night and the service was awsome, the room was imaculate and had everything you would need at hand...we was made to feel very welcome and the breakfast was one of the best we had experienced.....we was that impressed that we booked to stay again before we left .....top peple top place top notch.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Leachy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed at the Cables in June 2013 and had a fantastic stay. The B&B is in a great location within walking distance to Matlock and Matlock Spa and even closer to the Heights of Abraham. The room was clean, the bed comfortable and our baby daughter was made very welcome, with a travel cot and high chair provided. Rodger was the perfect host making an incredible home cooked dinner, the Trout and Steak were both delicious and his breakfast were also top class. I would definitely recommend a stay!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Feds85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

What a great find ,
It is great to find a good biker friendly B+B on a popular bike touring route.With the added bonus of great hosts and secure garage parking.
We both enjoyed the stay very much and would like to thank you for your hospitality .

We will be recommending you to all who are visiting the area and will book again if we are touring in the area again.We are also looking at returning for a few days for some local fishing ,what a great place and location.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Had a great 2 night stay. Ate at the Cables on the friday night, the trout was brilliant. Even though we were in Stone Lodge the welcome from Roger and Maureen was superb. The breakfast was great full range Rooms clean and well equipped although my husband had trouble with the hight and room of the shower. The noise of the main road did spoil our stay.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back if your a light sleeper because of the main road
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Wonderful B&B. Myself and my partner spent 2 nights here for our anniversary. We had a 3 course meal on the Friday night which was exquisite and priced very well. We also used the hot tub which was provided which made for an amazing evening. Also breakfast was beautiful with lots of choice. Rodger and Maureen where excellent hosts and we will definitely visit again!!!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock Bath
0.8 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
312 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
379 reviews
1.4 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
High Tor Hotel
High Tor Hotel
#3 of 8 in Matlock Bath
325 reviews
0.8 mi away
Castle Green B&B
Castle Green B&B
#1 of 53 in Matlock
439 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ashdale Guest House
Ashdale Guest House
#2 of 8 in Matlock Bath
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cables B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cables B&B

Address: 182 Dale Road, Matlock Bath, Matlock DE4 3PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Matlock Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock Bath
Price Range: £75 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are perfectly located between Matlock and Matlock Bath with a 10 min walk to both. We offer a friendly service and pride ourselves on offering lots of little extras. Relax by the log fire on the patio or in the hot tub with a glass of wine and have your pizzas cooked in our out door oven.(april to sept mon/wed/fri) We focus on special occasions with lots of surprises to make your time memorable we are licensed with room fridges, USB points and coffee machines, we source all our food locally, with homemade bread, yogurt, preserves, compote and lots more. We have special arrangements with pubs and restaurants including pick up and return and discounts. With lovely scenic views on the side of the river derwent, you can't fail to have a relaxing time at the Cables. Local attractions for young and old alike with numerous walks and activities. Garage available for bikes and classic cars and dogs accepted by prior arrangement. All dietary requirements catered for. We hope you come soon!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cables B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cables Hotel Matlock Bath
Cables Bed And Breakfast
Cables B&B Matlock Bath, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing