We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely people lovely guest house”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ashdale Guest House
Ranked #2 of 7 Matlock Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely people lovely guest house”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Centrally located in Matlock Bath and only 10min walk from train station and we had a lovely stay, looked after by Lindy and Barry. Our son and family had the large room at the front - nice and spacious and we had another very nice bedroom at the back - all ensuite.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    16
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
32
71
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
historyman
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Stayed here for a few days in April 2013. Can not rate Ashdale highly enough. Rooms spotless, breakfast brilliant. As hosts Barry and Lindy can not be faulted. You will not be dissapointed with your stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pthistory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013 via mobile

Stopped here last weekend , our 4th visit and as ever, really enjoyed our stay.
The rooms are big and spotlessly clean , the breakfast gorgeous and Barry and Lindy are the perfect hosts.
Can't wait for our next stay, highly recommended !

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stings27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

My 9-year-old son and I stayed here for a few days in half-term. We had a really big family room at the front of the house with a great view across the river to the park. There were board games to play, a TV with DVD player, plus a tasty cooked breakfast every morning. Barry and Linda were very warm and welcoming and we really couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. Ashdale is very conveniently situated for the train station, bus stops, eateries and attractions such as the Aquarium, Mining Museum and Heights of Abraham. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrewsmatlockbath, Owner at Ashdale Guest House, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Thank you for your kind remarks. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Just an overnight stay, midweek. Very clean, tidy.... and wonderfull hosts! Impressive breakfast choice, prepared just as I asked. I was made to feel at home from the moment of arrival, (which was without booking and totally spontaneous) until I left. The £35 cost was exceptional value for money. Plenty of coffee/tea provided in room. No skimping here! I would recommend to anyone and will definately stay here again. If I had to have one criticism.... when staying in ground floor room, noise can be heard from upstairs as people move about, just a little thing and certainly not enough to ruin my stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrewsmatlockbath, Owner at Ashdale Guest House, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Thank you for your review. I hope we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

I stayed here for one night as I was working late in the area. Barry and Lindy went out of their way to be helpful even though I wasn't turning up until quite late in the evening. It is brilliant base for people touring the area.

The breakfast was superb and would put many much more expensive hotels to shame. The Ashdale offers brilliant value and as shown by the other reviews on this site, is highly recommended.

A very friendly and welcoming place.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikey091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

A really friendly b&b,big bedrooms which were very clean.Barry and Lindy were superb!The breakfasts were the best ive tasted for years! BRILLIANT! T hank you so much for last weekend!Matlock bath is one of the most relaxing places in england,the people are all chilled which spreads the relaxing atmosphere!That atmosphere starts at the Ashdale!

Room Tip: some lovely pubs,the county and station serve the finest ales and food! the fishpond is still cool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ash F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock Bath
0.4 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
264 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
368 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Matlock
Premier Inn Matlock
#2 of 4 in Matlock
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cables B&B
Cables B&B
#1 of 7 in Matlock Bath
458 reviews
0.6 mi away
High Tor Hotel
High Tor Hotel
#3 of 7 in Matlock Bath
316 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riverbank Guest House
Riverbank Guest House
#5 of 52 in Matlock
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashdale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashdale Guest House

Property: Ashdale Guest House
Address: 92 North Parade, Matlock Bath, Matlock DE4 3NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Matlock Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our house was built in 1847, is early Victorian, built in the Georgian style in the centre of the village of Matlock Bath which was developed as a spa. There are still some natural thermal springs and a petrifying well. There are four spacious en-suite rooms, three of which are family rooms. A cot is available. All rooms have access to wireless broadband, TV kettle etc. The house is situated immediately opposite the Victorian Jubilee bridge, which is a footbridge over the River Derwent. This bridge gives access to walks, an informal riverside park with childrens play area and attractive fountains and pools. There are walks up by the river and up the wooded hillside to extensive all-round views. Within walking distance are Gulliver's Kingdom (Childrens theme park), Cable Cars to Heights of Abraham, (where you can visit to old lead mines), the Museum and Aquarium with the petrifying well, the Mining Museum, and an assortment of restaurants and pubs with regular live music. Masson Mills (shopping village and museum in Arkwright's historic mill) is 10 minutes walk and there are many small, interesting shops both in Matlock Bath, and within nearby Matlock & Cromford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ashdale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashdale Guest House Matlock Bath, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing