We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like staying with my parents” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ashdale Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ashdale Guest House
Ranked #2 of 7 Matlock Bath B&B and Inns
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Like staying with my parents”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Myself and my partner recently stayed and have nothing but good things to say about the guest house itself and Lindy and Baz its owners. The welcome was warm and friendly and the accommodation was clean and comfortable., even having a secure courtyard where we could leave our motorbike. The food was excellent with a wide range of cereals, fruit, fruit juice and yogarts along with homemade bread and jam to accompany the range of traditional English Breakfast items that you are given to choose from. We are very much looking forward to the time when we can visit again and definitely would not hesitate in reccomending Ashdale to anyone wishing to visit Matlock Bath.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jean8362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    15
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
31
65
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

Barry & Lindy were both very friendly and helpful throughout our stay, always happy to assist in finding locations of days out and places to visit. Nothing was ever too much trouble. Room was comfortable but could benefit from a bit of D.I.Y. Breakfasts were delicious with as much variety as you ever need. All in all a pleasant stay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank denise g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spent a night at the Ashdale Guest House and I really wished we had stayed longer. Barry and Lindy were so welcoming and the room we had (number 3) was very spacious and had a lovely view of the river. It was very clean had some lovely period furniture, nice toiletries and an impressive selection of teas, coffee and hot chocolate. Breakfast was delicious and the homemade bread and black currant jam were excellent. We would recommend the Ashdale to everyone and we will definitely return. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank BeckiSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siggiewi, Malta
Level Contributor
124 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

I have spent 3 nights in this beautiful B&B, and it felt like going from my home in Malta, to another home in Matlock Bath. I felt very comfortable here and the hosts (Barry and Lindy) were perfect. They helped us getting around the town and giving us advise on the bus rides as well as the best attractions around. The breakfast was really fresh, tasty and generous. We stayed in the biggest room in the house, and we had a beautiful view of the river. The location was in the center of this small town, but it was still very quiet and peaceful.... I would go back in a heartbeat....

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteffiGrimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We were in Matlock for my sons birthday. Our stay at ashdale was lovely. Barry and Lindy were very welcoming. . We were welcomed as a family. Barry gave me a list of places to eat and whats going on in the area and is where we decided to take the children to Gullivers Kingdom. a double celebration as it was fathers day there was no charge for dads. My children were fussed upon which is always very nice. Whilst having breakfast the kids books toys area came in very handy whilst my husband and finished our wonderful breakfast.
Thank you again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zanib M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrewsmatlockbath, Manager at Ashdale Guest House, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Your review is much appreciated. We enjoyed meeting you and your lovely children. We hope to welcome you again sometime. Thanks. Lindy and Barry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

This was one of our stops on the Derwent Valley Heritage Way and we were so glad we'd booked this wonderful Guest House. Arriving somewhat dishevelled, we were warmly welcomed by Barry and Lindy. Nothing was too much trouble - a very friendly couple who had lots of recommendations for us, including the Pie Night taking place that evening! Our room was fantastic - a really good size and very comfortable. The breakfast was one of the best we'd tasted. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and really hope we have the opportunity to return!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WezzyWez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrewsmatlockbath, Owner at Ashdale Guest House, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope we will see you again. Barry and Lindy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

I booked this B&B for a family stay. As I had made the booking about 6 months in advance I was told that I couldn't book one night I had to book both the Friday and Saturday night. Having done this I was disappointed to find out that everyone else who stayed there had been able to book just one nights stay for either day. I was told that everyone else had booked last minute so didn't have to book both nights. On the Saturday night none of us slept much as we were given a ground floor room and the couple staying above us, who came in drunk at midnight, were banging around until about 5am.
We will not be going back there ever again!

Room Tip: Book an upstairs room to avoid sleepless nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank S J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrewsmatlockbath, Owner at Ashdale Guest House, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
We are upset by your damning review. The only weekend we insist on a two-night minimum stay are the firework display nights and Bank Holidays. Going by the 2012 dates, 28th Sept 2013 would have been a night with a firework display, so, when you booked, we explained this to you. When the dates were announced, we contacted everyone who had booked, including you. The others all changed their dates to coincide with the fireworks, but you said you did not mind missing the fireworks, so kept to the original booking.
The creaking floorboard in the room above,which you mentioned at breakfast, has been repaired.
We were not aware of the guests above you causing a disturbance in the night - we would have had a word with them if you had brought it to our attention.
33% of our guests are returners. We work hard to provide an enjoyable stay. Sorry that did not happen with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matlock Bath
0.4 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hodgkinson's Hotel
Hodgkinson's Hotel
#1 of 3 in Matlock Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Matlock
Premier Inn Matlock
#2 of 4 in Matlock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Alison House Hotel
Alison House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cromford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cables B&B
Cables B&B
#1 of 7 in Matlock Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.6 mi away
High Tor Hotel
High Tor Hotel
#3 of 7 in Matlock Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashdale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashdale Guest House

Property: Ashdale Guest House
Address: 92 North Parade, Matlock Bath, Matlock DE4 3NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock > Matlock Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our house was built in 1847, is early Victorian, built in the Georgian style in the centre of the village of Matlock Bath which was developed as a spa. There are still some natural thermal springs and a petrifying well. There are four spacious en-suite rooms, three of which are family rooms. A cot is available. All rooms have access to wireless broadband, TV kettle etc. The house is situated immediately opposite the Victorian Jubilee bridge, which is a footbridge over the River Derwent. This bridge gives access to walks, an informal riverside park with childrens play area and attractive fountains and pools. There are walks up by the river and up the wooded hillside to extensive all-round views. Within walking distance are Gulliver's Kingdom (Childrens theme park), Cable Cars to Heights of Abraham, (where you can visit to old lead mines), the Museum and Aquarium with the petrifying well, the Mining Museum, and an assortment of restaurants and pubs with regular live music. Masson Mills (shopping village and museum in Arkwright's historic mill) is 10 minutes walk and there are many small, interesting shops both in Matlock Bath, and within nearby Matlock & Cromford. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ashdale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashdale Guest House Matlock Bath, Derbyshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing