We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel ”

Hodgkinson's Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 32 Restaurants in Matlock Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel ”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a wonderful stay at the Hodgkinsons hotel. The whole stay couldn't have been better. Friendly owners who made us feel very welcome. The room was tastefully decorated and very comfortable. The robes, homemade biscuits and leaf tea were lovely extra touches. We ate a three course meal in the evening and thought it was well priced and beautifully made. Will return and would recommend.

Helpful?
1 Thank Spalover5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    2
    1
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hen Weekend Meal”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

A group of 16 of us enjoyed a wonderful evening at Hodgkinson's Hotel. Our meal was delicious and Chris and Zoe went out of their way to make the evening special for us. We would recommend the hotel to anyone planning a special celebration.

Helpful?
1 Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“5 star”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

eat here sat evening ,what a find .thouroughly enjoyed it .the starter (fish cakes )best i have ever eaten fab surrounding great service will be back .dont sack the chef ...superb antony sheehan..........

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antony2406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZoeandChris H, Owner at Hodgkinson's Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for taking time to write your review. We are happy to hear you really enjoyed dinner and the Hodgkinson's experience. We agree our Chef Leigh Matthews is very talented and we feel lucky to have him work here. He actually used worked here a couple of years ago before we took over the business and has recently returned to the area and chef here at Hodgkinson's this May. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The worst restaurant in derbyshire”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

A gorgeous building, a fabulous setting for the worst food & service we've ever experienced.
We went for a meal here and were astounded by how the staff managed to get it wrong on every turn. There were 6 diners in the small and beautifully decorated restaurant, but even with such a small number of guests, the staff seemed unable to cope.
The starter of fish gratin with brioche set the tone for the food - shop bought, ultra sweet brioche was a bizarre partner to a flavourless fish pie. The combinations on the main courses looked to have been picked from a bag at random - steak, with risotto and a red wine jus was one mind boggling option. I chose lamb with goats cheese mash, my companion chose duck. Both of us almost choked on the dry potatoes, over cooked meat and flavourless accompaniments. If served by a well meaning friend you would have tolerated it, but at the prices they were charging, it really stuck in the throat (both metaphorically and in reality!)
The service was of a calibre only Basil Fawlty could have been proud of. A highlight being hearing the waitress shouting to the kitchen in a disappointed voice 'they want cheese'. Once the two other couples in the room had departed, we remaining were made to feel like an utter inconvenience. The owner and waitress stood at the bar arranging their diaries, talking loudly as if we were not there. It was very clear they wanted to go home. Please bear in mind our table was booked for 8.30, they showed us to our table late, and still it was only 10pm - we had most definitely not prolonged the experience!
When the bill arrived we had to laugh, otherwise we could have cried. Hodgekinsons is the most expensive restaurant in the Matlock area. It's competitors serve exceptionally high quality food, well cooked with excellent service at a notably more reasonably tariff. I gave Hodgekinsons a try expecting the same standard, I will not be returning and will actively discourage others from making the same mistake we did. They are clearly taking advantage of tourists who assume this is the best Matlock has to offer - this is far from the truth!

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZoeandChris H, Owner at Hodgkinson's Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
We did respond to your review earlier but when Tripadvisor separated our restaurant page from the hotel unfortunately the reply did not transfer to the new page so we are re-posting our response. Thank you for your review. We feel its very harsh for your first and only review on Trip advisor but are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience with us at Hodgkinson's. We wish that you had expressed any dissatisfaction with your meal or service at the time so we could have replaced anything you were not happy with or at the very least offered you some alternatives.
The night you ate with us we actually had 10 diners (including yourselves) in our restaurant including two other couples who had enjoyed their first experience with us so much they came back again for their second time.
Our aim is to combine a friendly service that we have experienced on our travels and living in the USA along with the restaurant’s intimate ambience and dining experience but without intruding on the privacy of our customers.
As our kitchen and dining room are small we never rush anyone and we actually encourage people to stay for the evening, relax, enjoy individually cooked food and our intimate lounge and dining room at Hodgkinson’s. Most diners do stay and enjoy the leisurely dining experience so we were a little surprised by comments you made that you felt unwelcome or were rushed out from your table. As you and your partner had requested we brought you the bill promptly and we called you a cab as soon as you asked us to so we just assumed you were ready to leave.
We would like suggest that in future if you do have a problem or are dissatisfied with any meal or service that you bring it up at the time, as any responsible owner would react if there was a problem and do anything to make your experience an enjoyable one, rather than eat your whole meal and leave without saying a word.
Again sorry if you feel you did not get to experience the true ambience of dining at Hodgkinson’s. We do hope anyone reading this review will also take into account all other reviews we have received regarding both on the restaurant and the hotel page listing. Also to note though we had a lot of positive feedback on the menu running at the time of the above we now have a excellent new chef who has returned to Hodgkinson's after 2 years away and he has been receiving many compliments on his new menus from hotel guests and local diners.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A special night out”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

The ideal place for a special night out. The restaurant is small, with a historic and atmospheric interior. Service is personal and friendly, and the food is excellent. You have the table for the whole evening, and bedrooms are available. It's not cheap, but it was well worth the price.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tram-Inspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hodgkinson's Hotel Restaurant also viewed

 
Matlock Bath, Matlock
Matlock, Derbyshire
 

Been to Hodgkinson's Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing