We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely Sunday afternoon treat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Raft Restaurant - CLOSED

Raft Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Raft Restaurant is currently only available for private hire dining and functions. Its a fantastic space for private dining for 15 - 50 guests. Its also a really flexible space, and makes a lovely cosy function room for up to 60 people. Dining is available from the main bar menu, bespoke menus and from our function buffet menus. For further information please contact us.
derbyshire
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“A lovely Sunday afternoon treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2014

Went to this restaurant after a family trip out last Sunday. Décor fantastic. Food and service both excellent. Will be back and definitely recommend to others.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lovesfood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian G, General Manager at Raft Restaurant, responded to this review, 24 September 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to put your review on. I am delighted that you enjoyed your meal with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    8
    1
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Memorable Birthday meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

We visit Matlock Bath each year on my Birthday for a family meal and this year chose the Raft having read good reviews. There were 5 of us eating and we had a drink downstairs in the Fishpond before; good service and we were shown to our table upstairs which has a totally different atmosphere to the bar, very relaxed with a light airy feel yet intimate too. Great ambiance, tables are spaced enough to not feel too close to other diners.

We didn't have starters but were given complimentary canapés and a selection of breads baked on-site - delicious! Even the people who don't normally eat bread said the sourdough was v good.
Main meals were delicious, meat being cooked according to personal preference and nicely presented.
Would recommend the sticky toffee pudding with butterscotch sauce, not too dense or sweet. My sister had a cheese plate and loved the selection and the accompanying chutney.

In summary, we spent nearly three hours over a great meal..flavoursome, locally produced and beautifully presented. The wine choices, whilst not extensive, were good value and complemented the menu. £125 in total (with drinks) on the early bird deal and I know we will return again before the next Birthday!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FionaBebbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A secret surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Well I never expected that above the fishpond! absolutely lovely posh nosh, really attentive but not overbearing staff. They could do with making it a bit more obvious because it's like entering through a secret door!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Top Quality Cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

My wife and I ate here having seen the online reviews. It really is a pleasant and relaxed, upmarket dining experience. I had the asparagus, egg and walnut followed by sea bass. My wife had the ham hock terrine followed by lamb. In all cases the food was cooked to perfection. The lady attending our table was friendly and helpful. If we're being ultra picky there could have been some more gravy with the lamb and the walnut on my starter was virtually non-existant (imagine cutting the end of a matchstick to form a perfect cube and this was the sum total of my walnut in a couple of smaller pieces). We weren't offered lemonade at the end of the meal as another reviewer mentioned though we did have lovely canapes and sourdough bread to dip into olive oil with balsamic vnegar.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pete C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, derbyshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Five Stars!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Not sure where else in Derbyshire you could enjoy an fantastic meal in an elegant (but relaxed) dining room and then move downstairs to hear an excellent live band. A truly unique experience. The restaurant offers freshly prepared, locally sourced, beautifully presented food for a very fair price. The average cost for our party was £26 for three courses including a stand out beef filet main.

Helpful?
Thank Noplanjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Raft Restaurant also viewed

Matlock Bath, Matlock
 
Matlock Bath, Matlock
 
Matlock Bath, Matlock
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing