We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Taw Vale

Taw Vale
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Taw Vale
Ranked #4 of 8 Crediton B&B and Inns
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We arrived at Taw Vale absolutely drenched doing our Lands End to John O'Groats trip we had appauling weather and Sylvia and Peter had just arrived back from a weekend away themselves. We had our clothes washed and dried and nothing was too much trouble we were made to feel very welcome. An excellent breakfast set us on our way the next morning giving us some information about a route along a canal which proved to be excellent. Thank you so much for your hospitality we would definitely recommend this bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
18
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Taw Vale is an excellent example of the Best of British B and B's. Why would anybody want to stay in a hotel is beyond me. Great welcome, great food, super rooms, immaculately clean and very good value. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreyNomad27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2012

This was our second visit as we had such good memories of the experience last time. The prices are extremely reasonable anyway but Sylvia offered us an even more generous deal as we were late in booking and she hadn't got available exactly what we asked for. Our rooms were very comfortable and attractive and particularly suitable for my disabled companion. The historic house and views of the gardens are beautiful, the breakfast amazing with an imaginative menu and great touches like fresh rhubarb from the garden and intriguing home made marmelades, the location and parking very convenient. Best of all is the atmosphere of the place - Sylvia and Peter could not have been more helpful and yet it was all done in a sensitive and unobtrusive way which made us feel completely relaxed. Gill from Suffolk

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aviemore, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

After a week staying in Cornwall and Devon in moderately priced and OK pubs and small hotels, Taw Vale B&B took the prize for being personal, warm and kind. The house was full of interesting things and the breakfast menu was imaginative and by a long way the healthiest and most homely we had. Everthing was comfy and clean. Many places hadn't offered a sitting room so we appreciated that here. Highhly recommended

Room Tip: Not all rooms have en suites, but we didn't mind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jemima231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012 via mobile

I recently stayed at Taw Vale for a single night after a week staying in Devon on holiday. I was greated by a friendly welcome and offered tea and biscuits as I was shown to my room. I stayed in a twin room even though I was travelling alone and the room was spotlessly clean, well decorated, kept to a high standard and full of little extra touches which made me feel completely comfortable staying there. Breakfast was excellent, I had a full English preceeded by cereals and fresh fruit and accompanied with tea or coffee and toast. Nothing was too much trouble. Wish I could have stayed longer! Would certainly recommend, excellent accomodation at a good price.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corsham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We stayed here for a short break in Devon. We chose it on the basis of other tripadvisor reports and we were not disappointed. Sylvia made us welcome from the start. We stayed in the annex (the Wendy House) and it was very comfortable and quiet. Breakfast was great with a good selection of cereals, yoghurts, fruit etc. and the cooked breakfast was very substantial. We would highly recommend Taw Vale to anyone looking to stay in the mid-Devon area.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WiltshireParrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Stayed here on Tuesday 29th November , Recommended to stay here by a supplier , what a great choice and for the price definately one I will be visiting again .

The accomodation is very clean and tidy , the room was spacious and even had wooden shutters over the windows which were great for making it nice and dark .

Breakfast was faultless , I went for the kippers and poached egg option .

Definately 100 % recommended

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JFK050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crediton
3.7 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#1 of 3 in Sandford
237 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hillside Bed & Breakfast
Hillside Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 3 in Sandford
35 reviews
5.0 mi away
Waie Inn
Waie Inn
#2 of 8 in Crediton
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Combe Lancey Farmhouse B&B
1.7 mi away
The New Inn Coleford
The New Inn Coleford
#1 of 1 in Coleford
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taw Vale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taw Vale

Property: Taw Vale
Address: 2 Taw Vale Terrace | Station Road, Crediton, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Crediton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Crediton
Hotel Class:3 star — Taw Vale 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Taw Vale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taw Vale Crediton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing