We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value for money at £38 a night including breakfast!”
Review of Taw Vale

Taw Vale
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Taw Vale
Ranked #4 of 10 Crediton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 April 2013 via mobile

I booked here due to its location to a local school and the reviews it had received already. When you call, don't be put off by Sylvia's rather brusque telephone manner; she is really friendly and helpful when you meet her. I was offered a nice pot of tea when I arrived and shown a twin room with en-suite shower for the price of £38 including a breakfast that included fruit, cereals, full English, toast, tea and fruit juice. That is FANTASTIC VALUE! Its location is about 100 metres from the railway station, a mile to centre of the town and easy to find. The gardens are beautifully manicured and I presume Sylvia's husband is the architect of the lovely design at the rear. You really cannot go wrong.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnWoottonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (68)
There are newer reviews for Taw Vale
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2013

I have now stayed at Taw Vale three times and would always put this at the top of my list to phone first if ever in the area needing a home from home.

The hosts, Sylvia and Peter Whitby are welcoming, friendly and attentive to every detail. Other B&B establishments would do well to take a leaf out of their book! Affordable, comfortable, warm and very well equipped, the beds are comfortable and the rooms have everything you need.

Breakfast is, obviously, hand prepared and served and there is plenty of choice including a selection of home made jams and marmalade. Sylvia also sells the jars of delight for very reasonable prices. Yum!

I would highly recommend this homely bed and breakfast.

Room Tip: All rooms are comfortable.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Comfortable, spotlessly clean, excellent breakfasts, very reasonably priced, plenty of private parking for guests.... impossible to fault this. Best of all, the wonderful Sylvia, who is friendly, thoughtful and tireless. During a very stressful visit to Crediton, it was invaluable to know I could relax, sleep well, and feel thoroughly looked after at Taw Vale.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fundingadviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Stayed her for 2 nights in February 2013 with my wife to attend my nephews wedding in Crediton. We stayed in a room on the first floor overlooking the front garden. The room was excellent, very clean with good coffee and tea making facilties, and a good sized en-suite. Breakfasts were excellent, and so was the service given by Sylvia, the owner. We had clean towels each day, which was good. We would certainly return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kolimpia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

The delightful owners of Taw Vale most kindly came to our rescue when my wife and I found ourselves unexpectedly marooned in Crediton late one night, and went far beyond the call of duty the following morning in helping us to find a way to travel on to our destination. We got, I believe, the last room available, but a fine and comfortable one it was. The home-cooked full English breakfast, served in the elegant dining room, was faultless. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexander120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Difficult to find accomodation in Exeter and chose went further afield which in this case was a good move. Close to station and town. Spacious, clean and well furnished/equipped comfortable room, friendly atmosphere. Excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holitrolli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Beautiful rooms, wonderful breakfast and a warm welcome. What more could you ask for? We stopped overnight a relatively short notice and couldn't have been more welcome. Stayed in one of the annexe rooms which was well furnished. Breakfast was a delight - home made marmalade, excellent full English and good conversation. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chuffer81A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crediton
3.7 mi away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#1 of 3 in Sandford
246 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hillside Bed & Breakfast
Hillside Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 3 in Sandford
38 reviews
1.7 mi away
The New Inn Coleford
The New Inn Coleford
#1 of 1 in Coleford
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Frogmill B&B
Frogmill B&B
#1 of 4 in Tedburn St. Mary
113 reviews
5.4 mi away
Combe Lancey Farmhouse B&B
Combe Lancey Farmhouse B&B
#6 of 10 in Crediton
24 reviews
5.0 mi away
Waie Inn
Waie Inn
#2 of 10 in Crediton
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taw Vale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taw Vale

Address: 2 Taw Vale Terrace | Station Road, Crediton, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Crediton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Crediton
Hotel Class:3 star — Taw Vale 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Taw Vale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taw Vale Crediton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing