We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely, spacious cottage and really helpful...”
other travellers have booked this property
The Roundhouse from the garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Roundhouse from the garden
View from the cottage Master Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
The Roundhouse from the garden
View from the cottage
Master Bedroom
The sitting room
the Sitting Room
The second bedroom
The Kitchen
The Dining Area
The Bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Crediton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Peetfool
Sandford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely, spacious cottage and really helpful, thoughtful owners.”
Reviewed 13 January 2014 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Much needed respite break to take advantage of carers coming to look after our boy, who has special needs, and Caroline was really accommodating with start & finish dates; get out times etc. We were really grateful for her flexibility and willingness to be extra helpful. There was also a home made cake there to greet us on our arrival, which was a really nice surprise.

The cottage itself is lovely and really conveniently laid out, having the log burner was a delight and the bedroom was really comfortable. We didn't get out a great deal - enjoying a meal in the London Inn one evening was about as far as we ventured - but the cottage contained us really well and we had more than enough space to spend together and to take time to sit quietly by ourselves on occasions.

Didn't have much to do with the famous Roundhouse poultry, we heard and saw them but they never ventured into the living room.

All in all a lovely stay in a beautiful cottage in a delightful part of the country. Thank you Caroline!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Roundhouse experience
Liked least: The shortness of our stay
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jock and...
Windsor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So comfortable, so relaxing, home from home!”
Reviewed 30 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at The Round House over Christmas with other members of the family coming and going over the period. We needed to be near our son and his family in Sandford and it all worked very well, except the mobile phones weren't always in touch. The Round House is well equipped with plenty of cooking facilities and an excellent kitchen. We didn't expect to be able to eat out locally at this time of the year.and it was possible to invite some of the others to join us for a meal which was great. The ground floor is a lovely family room with a huge comfortable sofa and a wood burning stove and has a spacious feeling. The kitchen is open plan so you can still be part of the family while you're cooking, washing up, etc. It is a most attractive building and has plenty of chickens and ducks to keep you company. The owners were so helpful and kind and did their utmost to make our stay enjoyable, greeting us with a homemade cake and a bottle of wine on arrival - I suppose it was Christmas! We hope to return on another occasion.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ambience and location.
Liked least: The mud - it was a rather wet week!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex S
Crediton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great holiday home in the heart of Devon”
Reviewed 15 December 2013 for a stay in January 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We lived at the Roundhouse for a few weeks around our last house move. I have to say we loved it there. The house was comfortable and cosy, including a log burner with a supply of logs from the barn. Our daughter loved the various birds that would wonder by; hens, ducks and guinea fowl.

The house is in a lovely location, a mile or so outside Morchard Bishop, very peaceful and quiet in the heart of the countryside.

We felt very much looked after by Caroline and would recommend this as a place to stay to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Rural location
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simpsoncl...
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Relaxing Holiday in the Devon countryside”
Reviewed 2 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This was my tenth year staying at West Aish. It is out of way from the hustle and bustle of my usual life and gives me plenty of time to relax. The owners are very friendly and go out of their way to make you welcome. There is always something to see with the many visitors to the garden which can be seen in my photos. In the nearest village there is a lovely pub 'The London Inn' which serves excellent food and not far away is a large Tescos so you are never too far away from 'civilization' . I would recommend this holiday to anyone who wants to use it as a base for seeing Devon as it is not too far from anywhere and Exeter is only about half an hour away. If you want to get away from it all this is the ideal place for you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing