We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Proper fish and chips”

Whitehead's Fish and Chips
Ranked #4 of 64 Restaurants in Hornsea
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Geoff Whitehead says "All our fish and chips are served fresh, for a taste you'll want to come back for again and again". Whitehead's - East Yorkshire's first MSC certified sustainable fish and chip shop - is set a stones throw from the Yorkshire seafront at The Greenway, Trinity Road, Hornsea, near Hull, East Yorkshire HU18 4SL. Whiteheads traditional fish and chip takeaway and comfortable 70 seater restaurant offers diners the choice of eating in or taking away to enjoy at home or at the nearby beach. Whitehead's cater for people with gluten intollerance, with a large choice of gluten free options, as well as vegetarian choices. All food is freshly cooked to order in pure rapeseed oil, so you can enjoy the wholesome goodness and taste of our fish and chips.
Reviewed 14 September 2017

The best we've had! We ate in after exploring the local coast line. Staff helpful, kids catered for, colouring supplied, orders very prompt alothough busy. Super tasty too!
Reasonable prices would return.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Happybeachboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (733)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 127 of 734 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2017

Called in at teatime and was surprised how busy it already was
The lovely staff found us a table though
We both had the fish and chips bread and butter and a good old cup of tea
Was beautiful fish really tasty the chips were good to perfection too
Will certainly be having a ride out there again and soon

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Angela c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

Ten years ago I rated this the best fish and chip restaurant in the area, I had chums who came across from Leeds to eat here. That was when we lived up the road in Cowden.

Last night we returned after a long time away - brought my Grandson Lewis to sample the best fish and chips of his life!

Although the place was pretty busy - we were seated and served very pleasantly by Katie on table 16.

Food was great - the fish was fantastic, great chips and delicious Yorkshire Caviar [aka mushy peas].

Strong pot of tea in a pot that didn't leak - another plus point - completed the meal

Absolutely perfect - just as I remembered it - and a credit to Geoff's mother who was working last night and spoke with us as we left!

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank BigSteve52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

excellent quality, friendly service, good value for money. On a par with Whitby. Wife and myself with 2 fourteen year old grandsons, wife had the light bite, the rest of us had standard size, all had haddock, all really enjoyed it. On street parking nearby.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 961keith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

40 minute drive for me but worth it, Fantastic fish and chips every time. Not the cheapest in the area but worth the extra pence.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank TheScouserCrowd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Whitehead's Fish and Chips also viewed

Hornsea, East Riding of Yorkshire
Hornsea, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Withernwick, Hornsea
Hornsea, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Hornsea, East Riding of Yorkshire
Hornsea, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to Whitehead's Fish and Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing