We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Cod”

Whitehead's Fish and Chips
Ranked #4 of 64 Restaurants in Hornsea
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Geoff Whitehead says "All our fish and chips are served fresh, for a taste you'll want to come back for again and again". Whitehead's - East Yorkshire's first MSC certified sustainable fish and chip shop - is set a stones throw from the Yorkshire seafront at The Greenway, Trinity Road, Hornsea, near Hull, East Yorkshire HU18 4SL. Whiteheads traditional fish and chip takeaway and comfortable 70 seater restaurant offers diners the choice of eating in or taking away to enjoy at home or at the nearby beach. Whitehead's cater for people with gluten intollerance, with a large choice of gluten free options, as well as vegetarian choices. All food is freshly cooked to order in pure rapeseed oil, so you can enjoy the wholesome goodness and taste of our fish and chips.
Reviewed 10 January 2018

Probably the best cod I have ever had!
Good sized portion, friendly staff, child friendly.
We ate on a Friday evening as we were staying in the area for the weekend.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Amysquirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (729)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 105 of 729 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2017 via mobile

Best chippy on the East Coast.

Regularly drive from Scunthorpe just for fish and chips from here. Drive down to sea front car park and sit and eat them.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Wabby69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2017

First time trying this restaurant out, very busy and obviously popular with locals and tourists. Lots of elderly people in when we called and looked like regular users.
Nice restaurant, very clean, plenty of tables and service was very good. We both had the haddock with chips and peas and a nice glass of white wine.
The chips were hand cut, fresh from the fryer and very crisp and dry, not at all greasy. The fish was really excellent one of the best I have had in a long time. It was fresh and 'meaty', cooked skinless in a nice crisp batter. I have had bigger fish at other places but not had any as nice for a long time and that includes the popular places in Grimsby, Cleethorpes and Hull so it does have serious competition.
The wine was served very cold and service was very good.
Don't be put off by the outside area, it is on a sort of housing estate, but really nice inside, friendly people and great quality fish and chips.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017 via mobile

Well all ordered different things, it all came out together, good prices, great food, the staff where very welcoming, friendly and very attentive, will deffo be returning!!

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017

We are quite frequently tempted to have a run out to the coast at Hornsea and predominantly this is also coupled with a visit to this excellent fish and chip restaurant. Occasionally it is difficult to find parking and our last visit last week we decided to eat outside and the quality of the food was first class and reasonably priced considering the quality.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dyble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Whitehead's Fish and Chips also viewed

Hornsea, East Riding of Yorkshire
Hornsea, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Hornsea, East Riding of Yorkshire
Withernwick, Hornsea
 
Hornsea, East Riding of Yorkshire
Hornsea, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to Whitehead's Fish and Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing