We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Evening Sadly Ruined by another Table.”
Review of Med Mex Restaurant

Med Mex Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 54 Restaurants in Hornsea
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$26
Cuisines: Italian, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: At Med we serve pure Mediterranean food, always fresh and delicious. Our authentic food and surroundings are typical of a traditional Mediterranean restaurant. From the relaxed, friendly atmosphere to the fresh, delicious food - this is the place to come to in Hornsea for the real Mediterranean experience.
Hornsea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Evening Sadly Ruined by another Table.”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We have been going to The Med for nearly 10 years and in all honestly, we find the place a gem in Hornsea. We decided to go again on Monday 21st April which was a bank holiday monday. When we arrived there, the place was buzzing with around 70 people dining, the waitress showed us to our booth and we ordered a bottle of house wine which was very good. My wife ordered the muscles and I ordered the breaded brie which was excellent and our starters were followed by two medium rare fillet steaks grilled to perfection. However, sadly our night was ruined by the table next to us when this big bloke stood up, shouting angrily at the waitress because they forgot his food. The poor waitress, obviously looking quite shaken, told him his meal would be made for him for free, but he wasn't having any of it. He created quite a scene and winged, upsetting the rest of his family by the looks of things. Actually, my wife and I found it quite amusing that although he complained so much, they took the meal home in boxes. The tables around us all seemed uncomfortable thanks to this unnecessarily angry diner (who by the way seemed as though he was about to hit the poor waitress who he was screaming at) and I think I speak for the entire restaurant when I say we were entirely grateful for his exit. I hope the Med doesn't let him, or any other obnoxious and rude customer for that matter, into the place again. Let's hope the next time, which will be shortly, our night isn't ruined by such people.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank George K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    63
    24
    20
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hornsea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Been going to the Med several times a year for many years and we have always really loved everything; the food, staff and the atmosphere but the last time we went we thought they were simply having a bad night because the food was oily and not as good as usual. We went again two weeks later for our sons birthday and it was rubbish, we waited an hour for starters and a further hour for our main meals. My husband didn't recieve his meal because they hadn't written it down on the order, he had to go up and ask about where his meal was as the staff failed to notice we were one meal short at our table, they offered to cook it for him free of charge (which is to be expected) but after waiting for so long we didnt want to wait even longer for another meal when everyone else was almost finished eating, so he sat with no food while we ate ours. Also, the pasta dishes where oily again and had too much cream in them so that they were quite sickly and we couldnt taste the other elements in the dish. When the bill came they said they had taken some money off for the delay and mistake with the order, but when we checked it all they had done was removed the service charge which is essentially a tip and we obviously would not have left a tip anyway. Very disappointed to see one of our favourite restaurants go down hill like this, and unfortunately we will not be going back again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claude E, Owner at Med Mex Restaurant, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
dear angela you have been coming to the med for 7 years and after 1 mistake you left a review on tripadvisor giving us 1 star no comment as for the mistake as human being we all do and the waitress forgot one of your meal its not a big deal and the way your husband spoke to us is out of order (screaming .... for god sake its only a pizza.
as for the service we never ever charged for service
and for the food read the other review all 5 stars
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Consistent”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We go to the Med often and we have never had a poor meal. The atmosphere is good. Lots of people chattering and eating.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Reliably excellent”
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

My mother (who lives in Hornsea) always books The Med if we're coming to visit - and to be honest it's never disappointed before. This however, is the first time I've ever felt compelled to write a review of the restaurant.

The manager/owner- we thought he was excellent! We went early on a Saturday night as we had a young one in our party. We were there to celebrate my Mum's birthday - the host was so genial (the perfect restaurant host really; not obtrusive but interested, genuine and full of humour) and although we were only there for an hour or two I really felt like The Med had stepped up a gear or two from the year or so that we were last there (when it was perfectly fine anyway!)

The food anyway... Actually let's start with the wine, the new house white is really very very nice. I decided on the mozzarella starter - and I've had this before on a previous visit and I think the new smaller ratio of sweet chilli sauce is a winner. This was followed by fillet steak (cooked medium rare to perfection). Two other people in our group had the fillet (cooked to different orders) and all agreed it was beautiful.

It was getting on a bit so we needed to get home pronto for the young one but I am already looking forward to coming back and sampling more.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank AimeeHannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“THE place to eat celebrate and enjoy in Hornsea”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The service is always 1st class. All the staff and management are friendly attentive and nothing is too much trouble. We like to visit whenever possible and we are always made to feel welcome. The food has always been spot on..... but the menu has now been updated and we have honestly just had the BEST pizza ever. The new rustic pizza range is amazing. We love the atmosphere and it will continue to be our favourite venue.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trina4560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Med Mex Restaurant also viewed

Hornsea, East Riding of Yorkshire
Withernwick, Hornsea
 
Hornsea, East Riding of Yorkshire
Hornsea, East Riding of Yorkshire
 
Hornsea, East Riding of Yorkshire
Hornsea, East Riding of Yorkshire
 

Been to Med Mex Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing