We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very happy”
Review of Merriland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Merriland
Ranked #11 of 24 Broadstairs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2011

my husband and I stayed at this b&b for 3 nights with our 10 month puppy we were given a large family room at the top of the house so we could have more space with to pup very steep stairs very clean and comfy we could come and go as we pleased no extra charge for the puppy very good breakfast very friendly landlady Annette and staff very helpful would recommend this B & B to everyone, and you can take you dog

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khewettsurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2011

My partner and I stayed here for a weekend away from the kids. It was a lovely little hotel set on a side road only a short walk from the beach and all the lovely things one goes to Broadstairs to do/see. The proprietor was one of the nicest I've met in my travels and very helpful. Lovely big breakfast. Would definitely stay again, hopefully taking kids next time as they do have rooms to accommodate the whole family.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sassifrass13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

On behalf of staff I have booked B&B for I recommend the Merriland Hotel. I have been booking staff into the Hotel, all with positive feedback, for the last 7 years and we have found the Hotel to be very accommodating to our needs especially with late bookings and early morning breakfasts. They are friendly and professional makin it the perfect place to stay, the breakfast is good, the rooms are large and clean and the prices are reasonalbe.
Sarah McGoldrick on behalf of the staff who have stayed there from Wessex Archaeology, Salisbury

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank violetroberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2011

As soon as we arrived the service was brilliant! The owner was very helpful and friendly and just left us to it after giving us our room keys. Perfect!
The room was the perfect size for a couple, with great big windows and a very clean bed and furnishings.
The shower was fantastic - so powerful!
Although our room was right by the front door, Merriland is in a lovely, quiet road and the other guests went in and out of the front door quickly.
The only issues were the bed springs were rather squeaky but not too annoying, and breakfast is only served 8.30-9. Apart from that it was a great stay and I'd definitley use it again if I'm spending another night in Broadstairs :)

Room Tip: Check with owner where the best place to park is!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WellTravelledGirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2011

Central location, great value for money. Clean, good facilities and lovely landlady.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LibbyR73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2010

My husband and I went to visit friends in Broadstairs and stayed at the Merriland BnB. We received a warm greeting by Annette and her mother. We were shown to our room which was on the main floor, large, clean and airy with good beds, pillows and a wonderful bathroom. The traditional English breakfast in the morning was also good. We will return in the future. Mr. Mrs. Robson from Purley, Surrey

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PurleyBrandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

Landlady Annette could not have been more welcoming, and immediately made us feel at home, full of advice and tips of where to go during our visit. We were given a large family room at the top of the house which despite a climb up some steep stairs we found spacious, clean and comfortable, with a great view across the rooftops. The en-suite shower room was tiny but clean. We were given a key so we could come and go to suit ourselves and next morning a full cooked breakfast was served with a smile in the spotlessly clean and nicely decorated dining room. We would definitely stay again at Merriland!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jox66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadstairs
0.2 mi away
The Yarrow Hotel
The Yarrow Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadstairs
213 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Albion Hotel
Royal Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadstairs
654 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Botany Bay Hotel
The Botany Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kingsgate
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Copperfields Guest House
Copperfields Guest House
#2 of 24 in Broadstairs
138 reviews
0.0 mi away
South Lodge Guest House
South Lodge Guest House
#7 of 24 in Broadstairs
91 reviews
0.1 mi away
Broadstairs House
Broadstairs House
#6 of 24 in Broadstairs
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merriland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merriland

Address: 13 The Vale, Broadstairs CT10 1RB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Broadstairs
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Broadstairs
Price Range: £68 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Merriland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merriland Broadstairs, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing