We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"The perfect place for a business or holiday stay"”
Review of Merriland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Merriland
Ranked #10 of 24 Broadstairs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Weilheim, Germany
1 review
“"The perfect place for a business or holiday stay"”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

At a five minutes walk to the seafront, in an absolutely quiet residential area, this lovely hotel offers you the perfect base for any activities in Broadstairs and Kent. I shared an apartment with a colleague on a business trip. Two bedrooms with en suite bathrooms and a wonderfully cosy and tastefully furnished sitting room with dining table and open kitchen were perfect for our needs. Breakfast was served with fresh fruit, a choice of bread and cereals according to our tastes. The kitchen equipment was perfect for preparing tea in the afternoon and dinner in the evening. Dropping in at midday for a quick lunch, we found beds made and everything spotlessly clean. Annette is the perfect, helpful and friendly landlady. The Merriland will always be my choice in Broadstairs.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelika W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    8
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
24
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Like Cathy N, I also come to Broadstairs to visit an elderly mother and also enjoyed an early morning walk on the beach. Annette was very helpful and welcoming. The room was quiet and clean, the bed was comfortable and convenient en suite bathroom. Perfect location for the beach and cliff top walks. On site parking a bonus. I will definitely stay again. Thank you

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank val l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

My husband, daughter and I had a really enjoyable stay for 1 night, we were met by Annette, who was really friendly and happy to give us the key to the
top floor apartment without asking for payment/deposit.
The apartment was very clean & tidy, en-suite shower, microwave & tea/coffee facilities.
It was ideal for us and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YazKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Myself and my husband stayed at the Merriland for a well needed long weekend to celebrate our anniversary sept 2012. We couldn't have asked for a friendlier atmosphere and accommodating patron.. Annette is always on hand with a smile happy to help with any requirements. The Merriland was lovely an clean, bed was really comfy and everything was at hand re- tea/coffee etc.
Lots of info about things to do (days out etc)
We will definatley book again..

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hbsol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southport merseyside
1 review
Reviewed 13 November 2012

having travelled extensively during my 66 yrs.this was the most comfortable clean and hospitable hotel ever.l would not hesitate to recommend merriland to everyone which l shall do.lf you could give 10 stars they deserve this.everything was fabulous.many thanks for everything and will see you again when l travel from n.west. necia

Room Tip: advice on no.of guests booked in
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judith b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Great place Annette a wonderfully welcoming hostess breakfast. Superb. We slept like babies
Leanne pleasant and very helpful close to the seafront absolutely spotless. Top marks a great place to stay would recommend to anyone wishing to stay in the area

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank casamoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 September 2012

I come to Broadstairs a few times a year to visit my mother who lives at a local nursing home. And I always stay at Merriland. The location is perfect for an early morning walk on the beach before breakfast and I often have the beach to myself. Any time of year its a real pleasure to be out there. And breakfast is always a treat. Annette and her staff have always made me feel welcome, in fact I feel so comfortable there its like a home from home. Nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are tastefully furnished, spacious yet cosy. I love waking to the sound of seagulls flying overhead and always wish I could stay a little longer. A great B and B and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadstairs
0.2 mi away
The Yarrow Hotel
The Yarrow Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadstairs
164 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Albion Hotel
Royal Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadstairs
599 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Botany Bay Hotel
The Botany Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kingsgate
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
#9 of 10 in Ramsgate
305 reviews
0.2 mi away
Copperfields Guest House
Copperfields Guest House
#2 of 24 in Broadstairs
127 reviews
0.0 mi away
South Lodge Guest House
South Lodge Guest House
#9 of 24 in Broadstairs
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merriland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merriland

Property: Merriland
Address: 13 The Vale, Broadstairs CT10 1RB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Broadstairs
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Broadstairs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Merriland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merriland Broadstairs, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing