We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal Place for Business & Pleasure” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Merriland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Merriland
Ranked #13 of 26 Broadstairs B&B and Inns
1 review
“Ideal Place for Business & Pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

I have stayed at Merrilands on several occasions now due to travelling throughout the South East with work commitments. I know Annette to be very friendly, welcoming and also relaxed enough to not crowd her guests but to be there when you require anything for your stay, which i find is a nice balance to have when staying anywhere relatively unfamiliar.
As I am away from home a lot it is often rare to find somewhere that feels without sounding cliched "home from home" but here I feel this very much so. I am guaranteed a good nights rest and relaxation, which considering the hours I clock up driving to and from meetings is essential!
The apartment has everyting I need and is clean, tidy, and finished to a high standard. I have my next three stays already booked here for the coming months and I hope to bring my family here for a break also to be able to explore Broadstairs more and the surrounding areas as she is located just over a 5 minute walk to the seafront and town.
See you again soon Annette! Thankyou again!
Robert. Whitlow

Room Tip: The newly finished Studio apartment where I stayed is well worth checking in for
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    8
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
21
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

We booked apartment for 3 week time.Annette gave a lots of information about Broadstrairs and all places we should visit and can interested in.Apartments has all equipments which you need to cook.That was amazing.It helped us to decrease our daily meal cost.It was really comfortable and clean.The facility is located best location to go everywhere(10 min to train and 5 min to beach by walk).We used train to go London, it was economic and easy way.It takes only 70 min.Moreover,Broadstairs has some humorous pubs and is safety place to stay.The cost of stay was eligible.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mert I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We booked very last minute, we received a very warm welcome from Annette and her family who were all very accommodating during our stay. Lovely comfortable studio apartment just like going from home to home with bedroom, living space including kitchenette and en suite. Spacious and included everything that you would need in a self catering accommodation which was perfect not having to work to a set breakfast time. Exceptionally clean and very comfortable. Perfect location in a peaceful street yet minutes from the beautiful seaside town baring so much history and natural features. Perfect destination for a romantic weekend away with plenty of quaint shops, bars and restaurants and yet night life if you want something a little livelier. I cannot thank you enough Annette and we will definitely be visiting again.

Room Tip: We had top floor studio apartment which was quiet with reasonable views but this might not be approp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weilheim, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

At a five minutes walk to the seafront, in an absolutely quiet residential area, this lovely hotel offers you the perfect base for any activities in Broadstairs and Kent. I shared an apartment with a colleague on a business trip. Two bedrooms with en suite bathrooms and a wonderfully cosy and tastefully furnished sitting room with dining table and open kitchen were perfect for our needs. Breakfast was served with fresh fruit, a choice of bread and cereals according to our tastes. The kitchen equipment was perfect for preparing tea in the afternoon and dinner in the evening. Dropping in at midday for a quick lunch, we found beds made and everything spotlessly clean. Annette is the perfect, helpful and friendly landlady. The Merriland will always be my choice in Broadstairs.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angelika W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Like Cathy N, I also come to Broadstairs to visit an elderly mother and also enjoyed an early morning walk on the beach. Annette was very helpful and welcoming. The room was quiet and clean, the bed was comfortable and convenient en suite bathroom. Perfect location for the beach and cliff top walks. On site parking a bonus. I will definitely stay again. Thank you

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank val l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

My husband, daughter and I had a really enjoyable stay for 1 night, we were met by Annette, who was really friendly and happy to give us the key to the
top floor apartment without asking for payment/deposit.
The apartment was very clean & tidy, en-suite shower, microwave & tea/coffee facilities.
It was ideal for us and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YazKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

Myself and my husband stayed at the Merriland for a well needed long weekend to celebrate our anniversary sept 2012. We couldn't have asked for a friendlier atmosphere and accommodating patron.. Annette is always on hand with a smile happy to help with any requirements. The Merriland was lovely an clean, bed was really comfy and everything was at hand re- tea/coffee etc.
Lots of info about things to do (days out etc)
We will definatley book again..

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hbsol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadstairs
0.3 mi away
Royal Albion Hotel
Royal Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadstairs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
#8 of 9 in Ramsgate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
0.0 mi away
South Lodge Guest House
South Lodge Guest House
#9 of 26 in Broadstairs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.2 mi away
Copperfields Guest House
Copperfields Guest House
#1 of 26 in Broadstairs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Merriland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merriland

Property: Merriland
Address: 13 The Vale, Broadstairs CT10 1RB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Broadstairs
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Broadstairs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Merriland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merriland Broadstairs, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing