We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great fun” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Greek Taverna

Greek Taverna
Ranked #15 of 135 Restaurants in Broadstairs
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Romantic, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Went for one of their Greek theme nights. Food was great, lots of different things. Left very full up! Great atmosphere, just like being in Greece! Music was fab. Not much space between tables and got quite hot with the amount of people in the restaurant. But fantastic night

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jodiea7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    54
    21
    12
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Châteauponsac, Limousin, France
Level Contributor
107 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Mini Meze not so mini!!! Fabulous.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Used to stay at the Albion a lot and whenever we did, we always popped to the Taverna across the road at least once during our visit. Sometimes twice in a week, its that good. I don't know how they manage to serve up so much food on the Mini Meze for £8.95pp but they do. You almost feel guilty paying so little. Food is all really good, lots of little dishes to choose from, by the time you get to the main course you will already be stuffed. Always wanted to try the Mega Meze but having seen how much food comes on the Mini, we doubted we would be able to eat any more! Always offered a drink on the house after our meal as well which was gratefully accepted but again you wonder how they turn a profit. I just wish they would move to France and open up a restaurant here. We miss this place.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank The_Munro-Jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, kent
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice but could be improved”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

A group of us went here on sunday 25 may. The waitress was plesent and prompt at taking our drinks order, a few minutes later she took our food order. Food was very nice and hot could of done with explaining what was what. The older gentleman who was working there chef/waiter was pretty grumpy (a smile goes a long way). While we was there 2 groups of people got turned away 1 was a couple and another of 4, I dont know why as there was plenty of room. I would come here again but the atmosphere could do with some improvement and not have the waiting staff hovering over you

Helpful?
Thank Loolabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westgate-on-Sea, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

The was great the service was great apart from when I am trying to eat and enjoy my dinner I really wish the waitress and waiter would not of stood on the other side of the room and watch every single mouth full. Please sort this out as that is the only bad thing that I have to say as it was good

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stevegall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A genuine and great Greek experience in the UK”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

If you like eating out in Greece then you'll love this restaurant. The atmosphere is perfect along with the food. A fixed 4 course menu is standard and you cannot believe the amount of high quality food that just keeps coming! Traditional meze of dips and pitta bread begin the torrent of food followed by fish and meat courses including calamari, lamb and chicken shish kebabs, chorizo sausages and meat balls, halloumi, smoked ham and ending in fresh fruit that includes strawberries, melon and freshly cut pineapple. A free drink rounds off the meal and the wines available are great table wines that go well with the courses.
Service is a little detached but can be forgiven as it was so very busy on a Saturday night.
Need to book weekends in advance.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Greek Taverna also viewed

Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
 
Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
 

Been to Greek Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing