We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“waitress with an attitude”

The David Copperfield Harvester
Ranked #104 of 136 Restaurants in Broadstairs
Price range: US$5 - US$19
Cuisines: British, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At The David Copperfield Harvester in Broadstairs food is fresh, full of flavour and just how you like it. Choose your tasty grill, sauce and side at our restaurant and we'll get cooking - while you head off to the famous Harvester salad bar to grab as much crisp, freshly prepared tasty salad as you like.About our Harvester restaurantIf you're looking for a family friendly restaurant in Broadstairs, there's nowhere more popular than Harvester. Close to St Peters, Westwood and Cliftonville, our restaurant is a great choice for anyone who loves tasty grills, indulgent desserts and eating out in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Plus we've loads of choices for young guests.
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“waitress with an attitude”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

I have eaten in many eateries all over the world and what makes this experience stand out was the complete lack of service from start to finish. 8 of us were there to celebrate a birthday and the waitress should have listened more and assumed less.
We ended up with meals we hadn't ordered but still paid for leaving one member of the party borrowing to pay.
The manager took the waitresses side and failed to listen to ours and didn't much care whether we came back or not. all over £16!!
Can I assume that Harvester have stopped caring, reminds me of Ratners a few years back. James even offered to throw me out assuming, I'm sure, we were trying to pull a fast one.

Finally Harvester don't bother to respond I've read all your standard responses

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The David Copperfield Harvester, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
May we take this opportunity to thank you for raising these issues with us. We always aim to learn through the feedback we receive, and we have replied to you personally about this matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    95
    68
    68
    119
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible service and waitress with attitude problem who needs to listen to what is said.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Where do I start. There were 8 of us celebrating a birthday.The waitress had a problem with hearing. My friend in our group ordered 2 drinks for himself and partner she came back with his. He asked again for his partners drink and after 5 minutes still no drink . Then the partner asked and she was told she could order her drink when she came to take food order. The food order was a complete shambles but I'll leave my husband to deal with that and the rude waitress grinning at him during discussion with manager. I had steak sandwich which was awful. The steak was so tough and grisly. There were no peppers in the sandwich which was stated on the menu. I ordered garlic sauce with it but got chilli. We will not be returning.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank rose w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The David Copperfield Harvester, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
We were sorry to see from your review that you were disappointed in your recent visit to us. Your feedback is always welcomed as our aim is to get it right, and we will learn from your comments. We have also replied to you personally on this matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Family treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Went to D C's this week for a family meal with children,10 of Us altogether.A very good well priced meal .service was very good and the food was good.We have been here before and We will certainly return.thanks.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jlitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The David Copperfield Harvester, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you for your positive review following your recent visit. We are passionate about getting it right and your feedback will help us to achieve this aim. We really hope you will visit us again and we have sent you a personal reply.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
160 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Very tasty meal, great for Coeliacs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We visited on a Sunday lunchtime, and both thoroughly enjoyed a lively meal. Staff were very helpful and pleasant. The allergy menu list highlighted that people following a gluten free menu now can have the apple/blackberry crumble and custard which was lovely.

The meal for two was reasonably priced.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The David Copperfield Harvester, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you for your kind review. All the staff here find it very encouraging to see feedback, and we are pleased that you enjoyed the experience when you visited us recently. We would love you to visit again, and have replied to you personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just the two of us”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Very enjoyable meal this evening, minor hiccup to start. Really tasty and great value for money! Visit here about once a month.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank michael24sam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at The David Copperfield Harvester, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
We have replied to you personally as we were so pleased to see your kind comments on Trip Advisor. It means a lot to all the staff, as the aim here is always to ensure that our guests enjoy their visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The David Copperfield Harvester also viewed

 
Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
 

Been to The David Copperfield Harvester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing