We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good and inexpensive cream tea”

The Old Curiosity Shop
Ranked #2 of 11 Coffee & Tea in Broadstairs
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Description: This is a tea room
Essex
Level Contributor
251 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Very good and inexpensive cream tea”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Following other recommendations we sat outside and tried the great value cream tea for just £3.50. It was good and the service was very quick and friendly.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank EssexRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    32
    2
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ramsgate
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Warm and welcoming cafe with exceptional prices.”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We are local but visited here during folk week. A large family group ranging in age from 2-80, it is often difficult to find somewhere willing to accommodate us all and be child friendly. This was not the case here from the moment we walked through the door we were welcomed and the restaurant was rearranged to fit all 12 of us in. We had lovely friendly service with reasonable drinks enjoyed by all. We would recommend highly and are looking forward to returning ourselves to have a bacon sandwich. Thank you we look forward to coming back soon.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Turners-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
237 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Best cream tea”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This is a lovely little cafe not far from Broadstairs beach. It has chairs inside and out, not looking over the sea. It serves snacks and the best cream tea which was such good value for money at £3.50. You are able to take your dogs into the cafe which is unusual and good for dog owners.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Allisoncsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“excellant we keep going back !”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

great bacon sandwiches ,perfect afternoon tea ,great value for money .the whole place is so clean ,lovely staff and owner sam .a dog friendly cafe that we love to go to . just try it you won't be disappointed .

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lindsey m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
395 reviews
260 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Second visit for scones and tea which is really nice and great value at only £3.50 for homemade scones and nice strong tea.
Only downside is if sitting outside it is on a slope and the tables can be a bit wobbly but not enough to stop us from making it our favourite place for cream teas in Broadstairs.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank penfolds_bin_95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Curiosity Shop also viewed

Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
 
Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
 

Been to The Old Curiosity Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing