We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”
Review of Bleak House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bleak House
Ranked #6 of 24 Broadstairs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
kent
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We have lived in Broadstairs for 10 years and never realised that Bleak House had been turned into a lovely boutique hotel. We went for Sunday lunch today and whet a great experience it was. Everyone was so welcoming, especially Jake who was charming and very attentive. We went out on the terrace for a pre lunch drink and then we had a beautifully cooked roast dinner in the lovely dining room. All the waiting staff were very professional and couldn't do enough to help us. We will definitely be returning and will certainly recommend it to our friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anneofbroadstairs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_H_M_12, Public Relations Manager at Bleak House, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you, from everyone here at Bleak House for your perfectly delightful comments. We appreciate that you have taken the time to write this review. Once again thank you and we hope to welcome your into establishment again soon.
Kind regards,
Jake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    40
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
30
101
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed in this charming cosy hotel for my birthday and fell in love with the place, we had the Fagin suite it was spotless very comfortable, we even had some sherry provided in the room. we were made very welcome by the young lady at reception, and by the porter Geoff, who's quite a character and blends in well with the surroundings. The hotel is beautifully situated, just a short walk to anywhere in Broadstairs. On the Sunday we arrived we had dinner in the restaurant it was delicious, on the Monday we ate somewhere else at lunchtime so we tried to book a table for Tuesday, we were Unlucky, as the chef had his day off, but one of the young ladies working there suggested a local restaurant, which was very good, I can honestly not fault this hotel Go there it's a must, even with the family. Also put the address in your g.p.s as it's a bit difficult to find.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lewstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_H_M_12, Public Relations Manager at Bleak House, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Everyone here at Bleak House sends a massive thank you for your delightful comments. We are more than pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you into our establishment again in the near future,
Kind regards,
Jake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I had known of Bleak House since I was a little girl because of holidays spent in Broadstairs, but never thought I would have the opportunity to stay there. From the moment we arrived and Jeff, the porter, helped us into a tight parking space, (note: parking is the only problem at Bleak House), we were made to feel so welcome. We decided to splash out and had booked the Copperfield Suite, which I thought was worth every penny and definitely the best room in the hotel. We had an enormous bedroom, a huge bathroom with a double bath, a dressing room and a small balcony overlooking the jetty and Viking Bay. Breakfasts were excellent, I ordered scrambled egg with smoked salmon which I love, but there was so much I couldn't finish it as I wanted to save space for the delicious croissants. The staff were all wonderful and because there are so few rooms it was more like a house party in a private house than a hotel. We have stayed in some fantastic 5* hotels over the years, but for sheer enjoyment Bleak House takes some beating. Mind you, the weather was brilliant which always helps.

Room Tip: Having looked at all the rooms, Copperfield is definitely the best and if you want history you can s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_H_M_12, Public Relations Manager at Bleak House, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
We here at Bleak house cannot thank you enough for you amazing review. Also we are all so glad you enjoyed our stay with us and hope that you will visit us again soon. As well as all your lovely comments we are aware of the issues with parking in which we do apologise for; although parking in Broadstairs itself isn't the best. However we must still consider ourselves lucky for the parking we do have. Once again thank you from everyone at Bleak House for your review.
Kind regards,
Jake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

This was our second stay at Bleak House and we were made to feel so welcome on our visit it was fantastic. This stay was in the Fagin suite. Once again the bed was so comfortable, the room had its decor to fit the rest of the house although my wife was a bit weary of the 'scary' Fagin painting with eyes that followed you around the room. All the staff were so helpful and eager to please even though the evening meal was unavailable- 'Jeff' phoned around an booked us a table at a local restaurant. We like this quirky establishment so much we have booked a return visit already.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanJenny7372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_H_M_12, Public Relations Manager at Bleak House, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for taking your time to write this delightful review. Myself and everyone here at Bleak House very much appreciates you comments and are thrilled that you enjoy your visits here so much. We are all looking forward to welcoming you back to Bleak house once again and are looking forward to seeing you.
Kind regards,
Jake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This was our first trip to Broadtsairs and I wanted to treat my mum and her partner to a fantstic experience as we have had a bit of a difficult time of late. My mum had emergency surgery on Xmas day and has been recovering since. I had this booked since late Feb and it gave us all something really special to look forward to and for mum something to motivate her recovery. And we were not disappointed ! Bleakhouse is just such a perfect place to stay with enchanting rooms and really lovely staff. We met Jacob, Geoff and Nicola and a few others who names I didn't catch but within minutes of being there we felt at home, everyone was so friendly and welcoming. Bleakhouse is perfectly positioned for the beach, restaurants and pubs. Thank you for a wonderful stay and a truly lovely memory, we hope to revisit soon! From Elaine, Mireya, Alan and Shameem x x x x x x

Room Tip: The Dicken's suite is not en-suite but the sea views make up for it !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shameem M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_H_M_12, Public Relations Manager at Bleak House, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
I would like to start by saying how wonderful it is to here from you all and also your excellent reviews. We are ever so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here and I hope we made your stay as special as it was. Everyone here at Bleak House would would like to send our regards to you mother and hope that her stay with us helped her along the road to recovery. We here at Bleak House would also like to thank your for your wonderful comments and hope you will visit us again soon.
Kind regards,
Jake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

My partner was given the gift of afternoon tea for his birthday and I added to it by booking an overnight stay which was my birthday gift. So yesterday afternoon we booked into Bleak House. On walking down the pathway we were immediately greeted by a staff member, who introduced himself as Jeff. He then took our overnight bag and showed us into the house. After a few admin matters he then showed us to the suite we had booked (Little Dorrit). However, as the Fagin suite wasn't booked he offered us the choice of upgrading. A very thoughtful touch, but we were quite happy with the room we'd booked. All suites were spotless and welcoming. We were able to look around the upstairs area and the Copperfield Suite was absolutely amazing - I'd love to spend a week using that room!
Afternoon tea which included sparkling wine was very good and the young lady waiting table was attentive to all of us there, as was Jeff, who was keeping an eye on all that was going on.
Later in the evening we were shown around the rest of the house and we also had a really good tour of the cellar and learned much about the smuggling history of Broadstairs. Jeff, who seemed to be on duty all the time made our visit all the more pleasant by his attentiveness and obvious enjoyment and commitment to us and his employers.
Judging by the comments in the visitors book, we were not alone in thinking this a fantastic venue, the whole house had a warm and relaxing atmosphere and we were so lucky to have spent the night there, in a very comfortable bed. The sherry/biscuits/water/fridge and tea making facilities were very welcome.
Breakfast was interesting - a fresh fruit salad in a china cup and saucer - very twee but nice. We had the standard English breakfast and as much coffee/tea/fruit/toast/fruit drinks/cereals as we wanted. We left feeling that we couldn't eat now for a fortnight.
We were going to have the evening meal but decided to go out to the town and we had a fabulous evening in the Greek Taverna in Albion Street - food/service and atmosphere deserve a good 10/10.
So if you are lucky enough to book Bleak House I hope you enjoy it as much as we did. It must be even better on a wonderful summer morning waking up overlooking the beach and sea, surrounded by the history and background of Charles Dickens.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loops27349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_H_M_12, Public Relations Manager at Bleak House, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Myself and everyone here and Bleak house would like to thank you for your wonderful comments. Here at Bleak House we are trying not only to build a business but also a community in which you delightful comments encourage us to do this more so. We would like to again thank you for your review and hope we will see you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Jake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidcup, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I so wanted to love this place. My wife and I have been visiting Broadstairs for years but have never stayed over, so we thought we would give Bleak House a try. We booked an afternoon tea for our arrival at 2pm and arrived on time. We checked in, and there seemed be a lot of confusion about whether our room was ready, then whether we should pay, then where we were having our afternoon tea. We were left hanging in the reception for ages despite staff walking past us and asking us if we were being dealt with then walking off and not dealing with us.
In the end we were sat in a room full of people eating roast dinners, so we asked to be moved to another room to avoid all the hot meal smells. The afternoon tea arrived and was quite disappointing. So we advise you not to have it.
On the plus side, the room we stayed in was lovely. It was supposed to have a sea view, but it had an estate agents sea view if you get my meaning. If you want to over look the bay then do not have the Fagan Suite. The room was spacious , airy, clean with a comfortable bed and a fantastic shower. A nice supply of tea and coffee with fresh milk in the drinks fridge. So as far as the room was concerned it was of high standard.
The house itself looks amazing and has a great atmosphere. Make sure you find the light switches when you leave to go out and return in the dark. The stair way and hall were almost pitch black when we returned so this is essential.
All they have to do is get the service right and I would return, but our first impressions sort of put us off. I hope it was a one off and they get the service right for everyone else.

Room Tip: We had the Fagan Suite which was a lovely room but does not have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pbholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_H_M_12, Manager at Bleak House, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for your review on Bleak House. Firstly I am very sorry that the service that was provided was not how it should of been. We did have 3 staff including myself taken sick with a Flu virus over
that weekend. I do hope that you will come back to visit and i would like to offer a complimentary
Afternoon tea and i am sure you will love it.

Very kind regards

Nicola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadstairs
0.6 mi away
The Yarrow Hotel
The Yarrow Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadstairs
177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Albion Hotel
Royal Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadstairs
616 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Botany Bay Hotel
The Botany Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kingsgate
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
699 reviews
2.8 mi away
Walpole Bay Hotel
Walpole Bay Hotel
#2 of 12 in Margate
502 reviews
0.5 mi away
Broadstairs House
Broadstairs House
#5 of 24 in Broadstairs
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bleak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bleak House

Property: Bleak House
Address: Bleak House Fort Road | Kent, Broadstairs CT10 1EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Broadstairs
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Broadstairs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Bleak House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set above the English Channel overlooking Broadstairs and Viking Bay, Bleak House was the summer home of arguably Britain's greatest author, Charles Dickens, from where he wrote "David Copperfield". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Bleak House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bleak House Broadstairs, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing