We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A house with history......”
Review of Bleak House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bleak House
Ranked #5 of 24 Broadstairs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Bleak House in Broadstairs was one of Charles Dickens' homes and sits overlooking the beautiful sweeping Broadstairs bay. It's privately owned and quirky but absolutely charming, with a grand sweeping staircase, chandeliers, and rooms ranging from the huge Copperfield Suite with sunken bath and dressing room overlooking the whole bay, to Little Dorrit which also has a sea view. Each room is supplied with a fridge with fresh milk and water; plenty of good toiletries in the bath or shower room, dressing gowns in the wardrobe and comfortable beds. The staff were charming, lending me an umbrella for my walk to dinner, and being very helpful in general.

Breakfast in the grand dining room was delicious with all the usual continental choices along with full English or scrambled eggs and smoked salmon (yummy!) or kippers.... I will return!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank betseybooc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_H_M_12, Public Relations Manager at Bleak House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

thank you for taking your time to write this lovely review. we appreciate all comments and are pleased you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to welcome you into our establishment again soon.

Kind Regards,.
Jake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
There are newer reviews for Bleak House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 182 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

We have stayed in many hotels and guest houses and let me tell you without any hesitation that the bedroom and bathroom of the Copperfield Suite at Bleak House are the best I have every stayed in. The size, decorations, features, benefits (including a decanter of sherry) were wonderful. The view from this suite is amazing and you can easily as we did pack a supper and take it with you and enjoy at the table in this suite. They have a fridge to keep your champagne in should you wish. Well done to the Sisters I say!! But we must not forget Jake - thanks for all your help with ice buckets, water jugs and extra milk. We will return and hope that the £250 per night might come down a little in the winter!! Or at least we might be offered some loyalty discounts!
Thank you again
Deborah & Roger

Room Tip: Choose the Copperfield Suite every time and enjoy a bath for 2, balcony which you can have your brea...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RogerandDeborahHALE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_H_M_12, Public Relations Manager at Bleak House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Thank you for taking your time to right this absolutely delightful review. we are glad you have enjoyed the service we provide as all staff members work to their absolute best. thanks again and we hope to see you again soon

Kind Regards,
Jake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Forget miserable and professional moaners, with no sentiment or feeling of history.
WHAT A LOVELY HOTEL. We stayed here 17th june for one night.
Great, energetic family and staff. (hello Jake) Very friendly and helpful, couldn't do enough for us.
We stayed in the Fagin Suite, which,of course, has sea view.Great shower. For someone who probably wasn't born before the seventies, let me educate you. You almost certainly would have had a shared bathroom, with an old bath, no shower and a loo with a long clanky chain.
Lovely decor in the room and in the hotel. I love the way they have sympathetically looked after this historic house. We had a good night's sleep, in a comfortable bed. (With our backs we have suffered many an uncomfortable night in hotels) . Terrific breakfast. and good variety.
We loved the tea on the terrace, where Dickens hosted many a party.
I sat in Dickens' chair, at his desk, looking out to sea. Such tranquility, although I know that in his time it was quite a busy waterway. Such inspiration.

I'LL BE BACK! Marge Poops

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank margepoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_H_M_12, Public Relations Manager at Bleak House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2015

Thank you for you wonderful comment on your stay at Bleak House! We are very pleased your stay was welcoming and that the bed was more than comfortable for you. Also that the food was most delicious for you! we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Nicola.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This was an interesting stay - I am surprised to see so many hugely positive 5-star reviews; our average rating is perhaps a reflection on us being fussy rather than the establishment itself.

However, our thoughts were that this is a hotel in dire need of refurbishment - the fact it's Dickensian really isn't an excuse for mismatched clutter and, as Alex Polizzi would say, a decision as to whether it is a hotel or a museum needs to be made. Our room, Fagin's, was continually full of flies and the shower, circa 1970, was so limescaled that the majority of jets didn't work. The views were dreadful, unfortunately - my fault as I really should have booked a seaview room. The concept of exiting through a working kitchen needs re-thinking and the basics, such as serving good quality coffee and freshly squeezed orange juice at breakfast, need improvement for £155+ a night.

The location in Broadstairs is unrivalled and the service, though not to our taste in its over personal approach, was extremely efficient.

If you are looking for a boutique hotel, this isn't. If you are looking for a quirky experience right in the centre of the action in Broadstairs, I guess this works but wasn't for us.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jamescw2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_H_M_12, Public Relations Manager at Bleak House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2015

Thank you for your comment on your stay at the Bleak House. I highly apologise that your stay was not what you expected. Myself and my staff try our very best to make our guests feel more than at home and insure they have everything they need and more. I hope this doesn't ruin your chances of staying with us again. Apologise again.
Kind Regards
Nicola.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

had a lovely weekend break in broadstairs where we used to holiday in the 70s 80s we stayed in the charles dickens suite the room itself was really big with plenty of storage space it has a seperate bathroom with a roll top bath shear luxury and seperate toilet everything was spotlessly clean and the staff were brilliant very friendly and made you feel right at home
although we didnt eat at the hotel we did enjoy a lovely filling breakfast again nothing was too much trouble felt like royaly in bleak house love to return in the near future .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gillLuton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_H_M_12, Public Relations Manager at Bleak House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

On behalf of everyone here at Bleak House we would like to thank you for taking your time to write this lovely review. We are ever so pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back to Bleak House again soon.
Kind regards,
Jake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

My Husband booked as a special surprise for our Silver Wedding Anniversary 6 May - I had no idea until we arrived! My criteria was "a sea view" and wow did Copperfield Suite deliver! Even a balcony off the very special bathroom - We had breakfast in our room both mornings overlooking the sea plus afternoon tea on the terrace - gorgeous setting - we were not able to dine in the restaurant as the Chef was not in on Monday and Tuesday - this makes it all the more important to return
:) and we will - thanks to all the staff who were really lovely and of course to Jeff who made us feel very welcome when we arrived! Victoria & Peter 5
and 6 May

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kitcrash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_H_M_12, Public Relations Manager at Bleak House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Thank you for your delightful review, we are more than pleased you enjoyed your stay and we hope we made your anniversary one to remember. Once again thank you for taking your time to write this review and we hope to welcome your into our establishment again soon.
Kind regards,
Jake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We have lived in Broadstairs for 10 years and never realised that Bleak House had been turned into a lovely boutique hotel. We went for Sunday lunch today and whet a great experience it was. Everyone was so welcoming, especially Jake who was charming and very attentive. We went out on the terrace for a pre lunch drink and then we had a beautifully cooked roast dinner in the lovely dining room. All the waiting staff were very professional and couldn't do enough to help us. We will definitely be returning and will certainly recommend it to our friends and family.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank anneofbroadstairs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N_H_M_12, Public Relations Manager at Bleak House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you, from everyone here at Bleak House for your perfectly delightful comments. We appreciate that you have taken the time to write this review. Once again thank you and we hope to welcome your into establishment again soon.
Kind regards,
Jake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadstairs
0.6 mi away
The Yarrow Hotel
The Yarrow Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadstairs
201 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Albion Hotel
Royal Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadstairs
640 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Botany Bay Hotel
The Botany Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kingsgate
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
730 reviews
2.8 mi away
Walpole Bay Hotel
Walpole Bay Hotel
#2 of 12 in Margate
530 reviews
0.5 mi away
Broadstairs House
Broadstairs House
#6 of 24 in Broadstairs
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bleak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bleak House

Address: Bleak House Fort Road | Kent, Broadstairs CT10 1EY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Broadstairs
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Broadstairs
Price Range: £129 - £299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bleak House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set above the English Channel overlooking Broadstairs and Viking Bay, Bleak House was the summer home of arguably Britain's greatest author, Charles Dickens, from where he wrote "David Copperfield". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Bleak House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bleak House Broadstairs, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing