We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”

St Peter's Village Tour
Ranked #1 of 3 Tours in Broadstairs
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The St Peter's Village Tour offers four free award winning guided walks around the historic village and churchyard of St Peter's, Broadstairs in Kent. The Tours are arranged by a team of 110 volunteers.During the walking tour with your guide, you will meet many costumed characters from past centuries. You will see the flint built church and find out a little more about its long history. You will hear of conditions in the workhouse, the Newbolts breakfast concerts for hundreds of fashionable people, the tower used in the Napoleonic wars, famous (and infamous) local residents and our ancient seat of local government for the area.The tour is conducted in groups of around ten and covers less than a mile of flat walking, but does involve standing for a number of 5 minute presentations. It includes a break for tea or coffee (although no break on evening tours, or wet weather tours). You are advised to allow two and a half hours for your tour. In very wet weather we provide an Inclement weather Routine. Access for visitors with disabilities. Children are very welcome on our tour. We would however, suggest a minimum age of 10 years to fully appreciate the experience. At the end of the tour you are invited to contribute towards our costs which average £4 per adult. Here at the St Peter's Village Tour we appreciate any comments you may have with regard to any of our tours and our website. We are Supported by the Broadstairs and St. Peter's Town Council and we are member of the Broadstairs Tourism and Leisure Association.
Reviewed 28 May 2014

First time visit to the Village Tour and what a wonderful experience it was. Plenty of useful information and the costumed characters were a delight to behold. Very funny especially Ranalagh Gardens. We will be back for a further visit

Thank crichton2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelFVT, Committee Member at St Peter's Village Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Crichton 2

Thank you for visiting us on May 28th and the costumed characters and management are delighted to receive such a positive response. We look forward to your next visit which we hope will be before the end of this present season


With all good wishes from the Village Tour Committee
30th May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 98 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2014

Having recently moved to St Peters, my wife and I were looking forward to doing this tour and finding out more about the history of the place we now call home.

The tour was fantastic- a leisurely stroll around the village where we met lots of colourful characters from the past. It's easy to see the dedication of all the volunteers that take part and the tour is incredibly well organised.

We really enjoyed the tour and can't wait to come back with friends and do it all again!

2  Thank Michael229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelFVT, Committee Member at St Peter's Village Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

All the costumed characters, guides and managers wish to thank you for your favourable review and are pleased to welcome you officially to this are. As you have experienced there is much going on here with an emphasis on local history.

We look forward very much to seeing you again this season.


Michael Flagg (on behalf of the St Peter-in-Thanet Village Tour) 18th May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

A group from Bradstow School visited on the first tour of 2014, we were all spellbound and amazed by some of the stories-even though we are local and know some of the history of St Peters. The vignettes were very well thought out with not too much information and each having their own brand of humour with the odd surprise here and there!!! This is a very enjoyable experience, one that I am happy to say I will be experiencing again next month when I fetch a group of European educationalists who are part of the school Comenius project. I am sure they will enjoy the experience as much as I did and will take the stories back to their own countries. Thank you.

Thank lolly422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelFVT, Committee Member at St Peter's Village Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Thank you Bradstow School, a very welcome review and a first for 2014 our twentieth season!
It is also good to learn that you will be back and hopefully in the open air next time.

We will be pleased to know whether the historical content has encouraged a greater interest in local history all round.

With many thanks once again

Michael Flagg (on behalf of the St Peter's Village Tour Committee) 14th May 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We went on this tour in early May, the first one of the season as it turned out. The weather was bitterly cold but the re-enactors were very professional and although some of the ladies could have done with shawls or coats they braved the cold to re-enact various episodes from the past. I wanted to visit St Peter's as I have discovered I have many ancestors from the parish and was amazed to see two actors dressed as my medieval ancestors Richard and Joan Culmer. A surreal experience to say the least. Well done to all involved in bringing the parish and its past to life!

1  Thank Juanito635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelFVT, Committee Member at St Peter's Village Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

Dear Juanito 635 from Warrington in the United Kingdom.
Thank you very much for your retrospective but very favourable review of your visit to us in May 2013.

This will cheer all the management and costume characters as we approach the Christmas season and next year's programme.

Please spread the word and we do hope to see you again.

With best wishes from the St Peter-in-Thanet Village Tour Committee 2nd November 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Excellent morning tour of the church and village with some very entertaining (and informative) vignettes. Have been going to the area for 50 years and never know there was so much in the village, changed a lot over that time of course. These people are great and obviously enjoy doing the shows and dressing up - great fun. Even free coffee - don't know why you don't charge properly I am sure people would find it worth it.

Thank dinoHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichaelFVT, Committee Member at St Peter's Village Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2013

All the management, the guides and of course the cast of the St Peter-in-Thanet Village Tour were very pleased that you attended the very last tour of this season and we thank you for your very encouraging comments.

Please spread the word and here's to our next season in 2014.

With very best wishes from us all.

Michael Flagg (On behalf of the Committee)

22nd September 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St Peter's Village Tour also viewed

Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
 
Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
 

Been to St Peter's Village Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing