We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Albion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Albion Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Broadstairs
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

We spent three nights here in early May 2013. This is an excellent hotel. It was our first visit to Broadstairs and I was on family history business. It is a comfortable hotel with friendly, efficient staff, a large choice at breakfast of hot or cold dishes. The bar serves an excellent range of drinks. You must sample the local ales. We didn't have a meal there but from what we could see when we were in the bar the food looked good and diners were tucking in with enthusiasm. The room we had, I can't remember the number, was on the top floor at the end of the building. It ran from front to back, the bathroom on the main street side and the room with a large bay window overlooking the promenade and the beach was very spacious and comfortable. There is also access to a balcony so guests can sit outside in warmer weather and watch the world go by. Broadstairs is a lovely town and if you arrive by car there are many nearby places to visit. Two negative points which by no mean spoiled our stay was the fact that parking is about 100 yards away but free with a permit from the hotel. The other thing you have to be aware of is that because it is a listed building the Royal Albion has no lift. Don't let this put you off as reception found a fit young man to carry our bags up the stairs!

Room Tip: It's worth paying the extra to get a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Juanito635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    216
    70
    32
    20
See reviews for
108
288
25
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

My Husband, four year old Daughter and myself joined my Parents, Sister, her Boyfriend, and baby to enjoy a very relaxing stay at the Royal Albion Hotel in May 2013. The unseasonably bad weather did not hamper our stay as we were still able to enjoy the Royal Albion's unrivalled location. We all had seafront facing rooms which not only had the most breathtaking coastal views, but were very also very comfortable. During our stay we had very pleasant and good value dining experiences in the downstairs restaurant. We also thought the choice of breakfast in the morning was a good idea, although my personal favourite is the full English option! The atmosphere in the hotel as a whole is very welcoming and the reception staff in particular are very helpful. My Parents and Sister have stayed at the Royal Albion before and I would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uktravelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

I have only stayed at this property in Broadstairs Folk Week so I guess that I did not see it at its best(?). This is a very old hotel recently well refurbished. The rooms are very clean and nicely decorated,and if you are on the Sea side then great views. It is owned by a brewery chain and during Folk Week it's "all hands to the pumps" to serve beer and security is a second thought. Hundreds of people(really) are in and out of the hotel and at times no one mans the front desk. The bar is five deep at times so no use trying to get any problems sorted there! The staff are really great people and they do their best at all times,but the volume of people at the bar swamp everything. I'm sure that for the rest of the year this establishment "purrs", but I think that during FW the drive to make money from the bar,relegates normal hotel practices.
The breakfast is excellent,as much or as little as you want served by great staff,and the bar/ bistro menu is varied and good. Parking is free although some way from the hotel,and now free WiFi throughout works fairly well. I always enjoy coming back to this hotel,but during FW I do worry about security! The hotel do not employ" door staff" (unlike most other bars in town) so anyone can and do come into the property at times" unsupervised " so the potential for some type of incident is there!!
Nevertheless,I will go back.

Room Tip: A room with a sea view is ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JTFomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

This Hotel is like home away from home. I have stayed here five times. Very cosy and always very welcoming. A fine breakfast. Rooms are a great standard.
This hotel is very central and overlooking the sea.
I would totally recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonStella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

I can't believe that the Royal Albion Hotel have asked us to review our stay. If they had read the review we left after our stay in June, they would know that we were less than satisfied. We said
"Although we had booked online and completed a form with our details, we were surprised to be asked to pay upfront for our accommodation on arrival. There was no-one available to help carry our cases up the winding staircase and in the end the young receptionist helped us. We were disappointed to find that our 'Superior Room' (Room 12) was cramped with so much furniture in the small space that it was difficult to move around. However because of the way it was set out, there was space for only one bedside table. No suitcase stand or full-length mirror was provided and the single small mirror was awkwardly positioned directly below tv screen. The room undoubtedly has a great view, but at the moment this is obscured by scaffolding and guests are not allowed onto the balcony. Be prepared to be woken by the crash of empty bottles being binned around 7.45 a.m."

Room Tip: If you want to swing a cat, don't choose Room 12.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patdavidroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Nice clean hotel with very good service generally and in the restaurant. Restful time - nice tea rooms near the sea and small restaurants - treat yourself. We are senior folk and there was no help with cases incoming but help on leaving which was appreciated. Would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank RAF981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

Really enjoyed our stay had a lovely view of the beach from our room, was close to bars and restaurants and the staff were friendly and welcoming...we are thinking of bringing the kids to stay maybe next year during nice weather

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyeverest35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadstairs
0.4 mi away
The Yarrow Hotel
The Yarrow Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadstairs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Botany Bay Hotel
The Botany Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kingsgate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
2.3 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ramsgate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
0.1 mi away
Copperfields Guest House
Copperfields Guest House
#1 of 26 in Broadstairs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Albion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Albion Hotel

Property: Royal Albion Hotel
Address: 6-12 Albion Street, Broadstairs CT10 1AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Broadstairs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Broadstairs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Albion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape from the everyday and step into a beautiful Kentish seaside retreat. Standing proudly on the Broadstairs seafront since 1776 and a former residence of Charles Dickens, The Royal Albion offers much more than your average seaside experience. Steeped in history but featuring a 21st century approach to comfort, enjoyment and relaxation. With its elegant literary heritage, fresh sea air and awe-inspiring views, The Royal Albion creates an atmosphere that makes it the ideal place to unwind, rejuvenate and take time out. The Royal Albion has 21 elegant and spacious bedrooms to choose from. Whether you are looking out over the stunning Kentish coastline or the historic town of Broadstairs, the views are stunning. All the rooms are designed to ensure your break in this seaside destination is one to remember. When it comes to dining, you'll be spoilt for choice too. Enjoy freshly ground coffee and home-baked pastries throughout the day in Ballard's coffee lounge, and delicious dishes made using only the best locally sourced ingredients in the main bar featuring a large terrace and landscaped garden whilst enjoying commanding views across Viking Bay. For a more intimate dining experience, the a la carte restaurant with beautiful sea views, is the perfect place. With a menu based on the finest seasonal ingredients and freshly caught seafood, you can be assured of a dining experience to remember. The Royal Albion is in the ideal location from which explore the very best that the Kentish coast has to offer. Wander the beaches and clear the cobwebs just as Dickens did over 170 years ago, or simply take time out to appreciate your well-earned break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Albion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Albion Hotel Broadstairs, Kent
Albion Hotel Broadstairs
Hotel Broadstairs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing