We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel.”
Review of Royal Albion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Albion Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Broadstairs
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This Hotel is in a great location overlooking the Bay of Broadstairs, you are issued with a parking permit on arrival and it didn't take too long to find a parking space, the car park is a short walk from the Hotel, there are steps leading into this hotel no ramp, & no lift, we stayed on the first floor and had an upgrade to a sea view room, although small it was adequate enough, spotless linen and towels, a selection if toiletries, tea, coffee making facilities TV all excellent, breakfast superb, we chose to dine in, the choice and presentation of food was just lovely, a smiley cheerful staff member, what more could we ask for, there is also a coffee lounge serving food, which all looked excellent, the hotel is always busy, which has to be a good sign, there is an additional 2 tiered wooden seating area outside, (again with steps) for snacks and drinks, our only negative with the hotel was finding a place to sit after our evening meal which resulted in us walking to a Bar. but this wouldn't put us off booking again, lovely hotel. Thank You

Room Tip: Sea view room on first floor, has access to sun terrace..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WiltsSonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (674)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

420 - 426 of 674 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

Booked last minute. Got a good price for a Twin room. Breakfast brilliant. Hotel room very good. Very clean throughout. Great location. Voucher supplied for local car park. All in all a very good stay. Will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TripMartin3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

My regular trips to the UK always include a stay at the 'Albion' in Broadstairs. The beach, harbor and ocean views are a joy to behold and the location in the lovely little seaside town of Broadstairs could not be better. Park the car (Free) and forget about it. Everything you want to do and see is a simple stroll away.
Lovely rooms and facilites, great food and drink, all served with traditional warmth and service. No wonder it is so popular with tourists and locals alike.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KenJennings1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed recently in a superior double room with a balcony,thanks to a free upgrade. The service I received from the young receptionist was faultless. She welcomed us in and really made our trip special.
Good food!Great views!
We will be back again.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lr1325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

A great place to eat a superb breakfast overlooking the sea. Friendly and helpful staff. Great rooms particularly those that face the sea, interesting to watch the harbour. I like the iPod docks in some rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank footlooseOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Amazing view over the bay. Extremely friendly, helpful staff, delicious breakfast and very spacious room all contributed to making our stay an excellent experience. We will definitely go back! Would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KathyE964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Comfy room, great staff, breakfast and location. We really enjoyed it. Parking is a 'work around' solution with free time at a nearby car park and that worked OK once we'd checked in and got the parking voucher. Just a minor logistical challenge parking up first to 'check in' THEN get the parking permit/voucher. We would return again if returning to Broadstairs ;-)

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back as we were at the front and could hear 'village/town' activity. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AnneReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadstairs
0.4 mi away
The Yarrow Hotel
The Yarrow Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadstairs
229 reviews
2 mi away
The Botany Bay Hotel
The Botany Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kingsgate
660 reviews
2.3 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#5 of 10 in Ramsgate
1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
3.4 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
759 reviews
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Ramsgate Seafront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Albion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Albion Hotel

Address: 6-12 Albion Street, Broadstairs CT10 1AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Broadstairs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Broadstairs
Price Range: £76 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Albion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape from the everyday and step into a beautiful Kentish seaside retreat. Standing proudly on the Broadstairs seafront since 1776 and a former residence of Charles Dickens, The Royal Albion offers much more than your average seaside experience. Steeped in history but featuring a 21st century approach to comfort, enjoyment and relaxation. With its elegant literary heritage, fresh sea air and awe-inspiring views, The Royal Albion creates an atmosphere that makes it the ideal place to unwind, rejuvenate and take time out. The Royal Albion has 21 elegant and spacious bedrooms to choose from. Whether you are looking out over the stunning Kentish coastline or the historic town of Broadstairs, the views are stunning. All the rooms are designed to ensure your break in this seaside destination is one to remember. When it comes to dining, you'll be spoilt for choice too. Enjoy freshly ground coffee and home-baked pastries throughout the day in Ballard's coffee lounge, and delicious dishes made using only the best locally sourced ingredients in the main bar featuring a large terrace and landscaped garden whilst enjoying commanding views across Viking Bay. For a more intimate dining experience, the a la carte restaurant with beautiful sea views, is the perfect place. With a menu based on the finest seasonal ingredients and freshly caught seafood, you can be assured of a dining experience to remember. The Royal Albion is in the ideal location from which explore the very best that the Kentish coast has to offer. Wander the beaches and clear the cobwebs just as Dickens did over 170 years ago, or simply take time out to appreciate your well-earned break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Albion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Albion Hotel Broadstairs, Kent
Albion Hotel Broadstairs
Hotel Broadstairs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing