We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel. Perfect if you want to experience an old fashioned British seaside holiday”
Review of Royal Albion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Albion Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Broadstairs
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Hotel. Perfect if you want to experience an old fashioned British seaside holiday”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

The royal albion is everythong that you would expect from a family hotel. The staff were friendly and professional. The room was clean comfortable and well stocked. They have a good restaurant and bar with indoor and outdoor areas looking onto the sea. They offer a good standad english breakfast. On the whole everything you would expect.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adrian-kawaguchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    216
    73
    33
    23
See reviews for
111
290
26
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Went for an overnight celebratory stay. We had the room ( number 11 ) with the best sea view and a splendid terrace, although divided up is a tad shared with other room occupants adjacent. The quality of Service varied greatly....Reception was lacklustre in duties I.e. Welcome and departure, both hurried and relatively perfunctory ...1st impressions and all that. The hotel aspect is part of the business, they do a brisk pub trade from early til late. This leaves elements short-staffed we thought. We had a pleasant reasonably priced lunch on arrival, but getting a drink from the bar and placing the order was tortuous and slow 'cos it was busy with only one person behind the bar. The discussion about what number table we were at was nothing short of farce as I dashed off to get the detail only to be told it didn't matter anyway!! The food itself...calves liver a bit tepid, but excellent taste and the ham and eggs were pretty good. The on tap beers and largers were plentiful. Our room truly had a great view, it was quirky with a pronounced left to right sloping floor, a small shower room which was actually fine, one or two decorative blemishes, but cleanliness and comfort were not an issue. Generally in the context if a day and a half of mild/warm weather the hotel was a bit stuffy, a bit more AC would help. It didn't affect us but as we were leaving other guests and visitors had suffered with a blocked sewer and associated stench...oh dear I would have found that intolerable had it happened to us directly. The breakfast was goodish, a hot dish menu with cereal and fruit buffet. Pots of tea served and coffee self-service. Again some tables had a great sea view. It's a bit if a mixed bag in all sorts of ways, but mostly very adequate and pleasant. Not incredibly cheap so mistakes should be in short supply...I stayed at a luxury hotel recently where Management was so discreet it suffered from a luck of guidance for staff and support for guests, the Albion has no obvious Managerial presence and I think that's an issue they need to address. If I wasn't about to move to Broadstairs I'd have been up for staying again and wouldn't discourage friends and family from using it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TrueBlueRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Comfortable, clean, tastefully decorated, and well furnished bedroom, with a beautiful view of Viking Bay, accompanied by a good bathroom with both bath and shower. Cooing of pigeons accompanied by some screeching of seagulls was only obtrusive after around 6.30 am although there were one or two rowdy drinkers a little late in the evenings.

Excellent breakfast and a well cooked dinner on the night I ate there, with a varied menu that was not too expensive.

Only bad point was that the restaurant area was too hot, especially at breakfast, and some of the buffet food was therefore a little dry and jaded - for example bananas were brown! We did manage to get the air conditioning on for one morning (the second day we didn't succeed despite asking).

Generally efficient and pleasant staff.

Room Tip: Room 26 (twin) on the second floor was excellent. Our friends had doubles on the first floor also o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We had a wonderful one-night stay. The room had windows on two sides, a great sea view and a fabulous bathroom with a big bath. The service was friendly and helpful. The food in the a la carte dining room was first class. As others have said, parking is 300 yards away with a free permit, but we dropped the bags off at the hotel so that was no problem. And there isn't a lift and quite steep stairs but we were offered help with taking our bags upstairs. Broadstairs was a real gem.

Room Tip: We asked for a sea view room with a bath and found our room - 28 - absolutely perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnlyinBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

A lovely Hotel...warm & welcoming...has a lot of history with Charles Dickins! Well worth a visit! Plenty of interesting places to visit in Broadstairs..Sandwich is a must to visit & Canterbury both close by!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My husband and I spent three nights at the Royal Albion for our honeymoon. We were really excited as we'd been wanting to stay here for ages, but had never been able to book far enough in advance before.

Some friends had ordered a bottle of champagne to be delivered to our room on arrival as a surprise. Check in starts at 3pm, but when we arrived around 5pm the bottle of champagne was room temperature and any ice that had been there had long since melted. We accept that the hotel didn't know what time we would arrive, but surely it would be possible for someone to top up the ice every now and again in these circumstances? Or deliver the champagne once we've arrived?

We ate in the dining room downstairs the first night. The waiter was very friendly and the food was amazing. In fact, we had such a good meal that we decided to go there again on the second night. We arrived around 30 mins before the table was booked and bought some drinks at the bar. The bar area was quite busy, so we asked the barman if we could perhaps take our drinks into the Dining Room where we had a table booked for a little later. He said this should be fine. We walked into the Dining room, which was virtually empty. The waiter (a different one from the previous night) immediately turned from the customers he was speaking to and quite aggressively challenged us. When we said we had a reservation he seemed reluctant to believe us. After effectively ordering us to sit down he turned to his other customers and apologised profusely for the interruption: as if we had done something wrong! After this astonishingly rude treatment, and the discovery that the a la carte menu we had so enjoyed the night before was unavailable, we informed the waiter that we had changed our minds and would eat elsewhere.

Then came the really shocking part. We took our drinks back into the bar section and started to discuss where we would go for dinner instead. The waiter followed us out of the restaurant and confronted us. When we explained that we had found his attitude rude, he insisted on getting the manager to "deal with us" (at no point had we asked to speak to the manager!). The manager apologised "if we felt we'd been treated badly", said she would talk to the waiter later and offered us a free drink, which we declined. But she kept insisting he was an excellent member of staff, which seemed to imply that she disbelieved our version of events! We were left feeling insulted, dismissed and unwelcome. We seriously considered checking out a day early as we were so uncomfortable in the hotel after this experience.

On the next day, some guests were smoking on the communal balcony, which meant that we couldn't have the doors open without smoke coming in. My husband asked at reception whether smoking is permitted on the balcony. When he was told that it is allowed, my husband asked the person at reception not to say anything to the other guests, as they weren't doing anything wrong. Next thing we knew reception had spoken to the other guests to "pass on our complaint". So frustrating!

All in all, not the level of service I would expect from any hotel, let alone one with as good a reputation as the Royal Albion. We were left very disappointed and will not be going again.

The two stars we are giving are purely for the food and waiter service on the first night - if only that standard had been maintained!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulietMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wilts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

This Hotel is in a great location overlooking the Bay of Broadstairs, you are issued with a parking permit on arrival and it didn't take too long to find a parking space, the car park is a short walk from the Hotel, there are steps leading into this hotel no ramp, & no lift, we stayed on the first floor and had an upgrade to a sea view room, although small it was adequate enough, spotless linen and towels, a selection if toiletries, tea, coffee making facilities TV all excellent, breakfast superb, we chose to dine in, the choice and presentation of food was just lovely, a smiley cheerful staff member, what more could we ask for, there is also a coffee lounge serving food, which all looked excellent, the hotel is always busy, which has to be a good sign, there is an additional 2 tiered wooden seating area outside, (again with steps) for snacks and drinks, our only negative with the hotel was finding a place to sit after our evening meal which resulted in us walking to a Bar. but this wouldn't put us off booking again, lovely hotel. Thank You

Room Tip: Sea view room on first floor, has access to sun terrace..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WiltsSonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadstairs
0.4 mi away
The Yarrow Hotel
The Yarrow Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadstairs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Botany Bay Hotel
The Botany Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kingsgate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
2.3 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#4 of 10 in Ramsgate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
0.1 mi away
Copperfields Guest House
Copperfields Guest House
#1 of 24 in Broadstairs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Albion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Albion Hotel

Property: Royal Albion Hotel
Address: 6-12 Albion Street, Broadstairs CT10 1AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Broadstairs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Broadstairs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Albion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape from the everyday and step into a beautiful Kentish seaside retreat. Standing proudly on the Broadstairs seafront since 1776 and a former residence of Charles Dickens, The Royal Albion offers much more than your average seaside experience. Steeped in history but featuring a 21st century approach to comfort, enjoyment and relaxation. With its elegant literary heritage, fresh sea air and awe-inspiring views, The Royal Albion creates an atmosphere that makes it the ideal place to unwind, rejuvenate and take time out. The Royal Albion has 21 elegant and spacious bedrooms to choose from. Whether you are looking out over the stunning Kentish coastline or the historic town of Broadstairs, the views are stunning. All the rooms are designed to ensure your break in this seaside destination is one to remember. When it comes to dining, you'll be spoilt for choice too. Enjoy freshly ground coffee and home-baked pastries throughout the day in Ballard's coffee lounge, and delicious dishes made using only the best locally sourced ingredients in the main bar featuring a large terrace and landscaped garden whilst enjoying commanding views across Viking Bay. For a more intimate dining experience, the a la carte restaurant with beautiful sea views, is the perfect place. With a menu based on the finest seasonal ingredients and freshly caught seafood, you can be assured of a dining experience to remember. The Royal Albion is in the ideal location from which explore the very best that the Kentish coast has to offer. Wander the beaches and clear the cobwebs just as Dickens did over 170 years ago, or simply take time out to appreciate your well-earned break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Albion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Albion Hotel Broadstairs, Kent
Albion Hotel Broadstairs
Hotel Broadstairs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing