We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”
Review of Royal Albion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Albion Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Broadstairs
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

I stayed in this hotel for 1 night on a business stopover. The hotel is very friendly and very well appointed and very tastefully decorated. The furniture, fixtures and fitting were of high quality and overall the hotel left me with a good impression. Breakfast was my only meal which was enjoyed on the terrace in the sun with the sound of the waves lapping on the beach, I had to tear myself away.
I was travelling alone so opted for the single room 18 mentioned in an earlier review. Yes it is a very small room overlooking the road, but it is only a single and I don't partake in cat swinging very often! The bathroom was a good size, there was enough storage (for 1 night anyway), the only thing it lacked for me was a desk.
I would look forward to staying in this hotel again, even in room 18, although a sea view room would be a real bonus if you have the option.

Room Tip: South facing rooms face the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ja W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    218
    75
    35
    25
See reviews for
121
298
26
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Booked a room with this hotel had a confirmation from the hotel confirmed the day before arriving. Arrive on the day my room has been cancelled and no rooms available absolutely ruined not only my bday weekend but the wedding I was meant to attend. Will never book with them again or suggest this hotel. Management really unhelpful and extremely clueless. Looking at the hotel not worth the money they were charging either.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Tala M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a great position and the staff were really nice and helpful.

A colleague booked this hotel for me and I understand room 18 was the last room.

Ok it's not a seaview but not all rooms can have that. The disappointment was the size. Definitely no room to swing a cat. It was depressingly small with no desk for working.

The bed and pillows were like bricks!!

There was a lot of noise from the road as the room was at the front.

All in all a very poor nights sleep.

The bar staff knew how to pour a pont of guiness. The reception staff were really helpful. The restauant staff and quality of food were excellent.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Have just spent the weekend away at this hotel and had a really nice time. On arrival the hotel looked nice and we were soon checked in, on the way up to our room though the decor of the stairwell I thought was a bit too dark and off putting so was dreading what the room would be like. The room however was really nice and up to date unlike the stairwell. Room was airy and light and the bathroom top notch. The only problem we had or at least for me anyway, was the fact that we were Street facing.. No real problem at first, until that is of a night time when trying to sleep. Unfortunately there is no air con in the room or fan, so with Friday being the hottest day for sometime we had to have the window open, this meant that we could hear everything going on in the street beneath us until about 1.30 am, not the fault of the hotel, but air con would at least have eliminated this problem as at one point I was thinking that if I were on my own I would have checked out and driven home. The second night I slept with ear plugs in and had the best nights sleep in ages, so earplugs in my opinion are a must.
We ate out the first night at the Indian restaurant directly across from the hotel and the meal was one of the best Indians I have had in a long time. The second night we tried several locations but everywhere was fully booked, so if you plan to eat out then best to book up. Because we were unable to find anywhere to eat we decided to eat in the hotel. The food was good and the waiter even better, although if it had been busy I think he may have struggled on his own.
The breakfasts are very good and again the staff were very attentive, didn't get the waiters name but think he is Italian and he was very good and nothing seemed like too much bother and he was always smiling and chirpy.
Would I go back, tough one really as really did enjoy my stay but the lack of air con and the noise from the street would make me think twice before booking, if air con was in the rooms so as I didn't have to have the window open though then I would book it again in a flash as the staff and the location of the hotel made for a nice weekend away.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MrBainsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maidstone
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Stayed in superior room on offer £i00 per night reduction of £45 per night lovely large room king size bed , facing sea and beach,great shower.Customer service very good, not sutable for elderly
couples as no lift, as building dates back to 1756 therfor listed

Room Tip: room 26 2nd floor not suitable for elderly couples, no lift hotel built 1756 therefor a listed bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maidstonebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Decided to stay in Broadstairs Friday, 11 April 2014 as it was my husband's 50th birthday. The young receptionist who checked us in was extremely welcoming and booked us a lovely table in the hotel's restaurant, where we found the food to be extremely good and the waitress/waiter were extremely attentive.
Our room was lovely, had a balcony overlooking the sea front, and enjoyed sitting out with a cup of tea on the Saturday morning watching the world go by.

Only negative was on checking out. A different person on the reception who found it hard to even make eye contact - why be in a front line role?

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Mandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckland Monachorum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We have family in Broadstairs and visited for a cousin's wedding, though I had spent many summers in the town as a child I had never visited the Royal Albion. I am so glad we stayed there! The hotel isn't the cheapest in the town, but is very well presented with friendly staff and a high standard of food and drink.

We had booked a cream tea for our arrival (just the thing after a 6 hour drive), and were amazed when it came out. We had expected scones, jam, cream and a pot of tea...not 12 sandwiches, 4 types of cake, plus scones and tea! It was lovely and was certainly enough to tide two of us over until dinner!

The room was not overly large, but big enough. The décor and presentation were fasntastic; everything was clean and fresh, but the room was still characterful and comfortable (though a bigger bed would have been nice!). The usual tea and coffee facilities were there, as well as biscuits and hot chocolate. There were also lovely toiletries supplied, I wasn't expecting shoe polishing kits as well, though!

Sadly, my husband didn't sleep well. However, the weather was very warm and he was having to share a smaller-than-he-is-used-to bed with one of the worst sleepers (wriggling, duvet thievery and sleep walking) in the South West (or in this case, South East).

The shower took a little bit of working out (don't they all?), but was very powerful and hot. There was over-spray into the bathroom, but in the grand scheme of things it really didn't matter!

Breakfast was very good; there was a wide variety and the staff were again very chirpy and helpful. They even re-arranged a couple of tables so that we were able to sit next to our family.

Broadstairs is a fantastic place and I would recommend staying at the Royal Albion; the prices aren't cheap, but they are worth every penny. Though it has no car park, the hotel will supply you with parking tickets (free of charge) which can be renewed every 24 hours.

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor, a standard double with a sea view, I think. Go for the sea view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shnoowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadstairs
0.4 mi away
The Yarrow Hotel
The Yarrow Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadstairs
163 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Botany Bay Hotel
The Botany Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kingsgate
590 reviews
2.0 mi away
Albion House Ramsgate Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#5 of 10 in Ramsgate
1,059 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
685 reviews
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Ramsgate Seafront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Albion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Albion Hotel

Property: Royal Albion Hotel
Address: 6-12 Albion Street, Broadstairs CT10 1AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Broadstairs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Broadstairs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Albion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape from the everyday and step into a beautiful Kentish seaside retreat. Standing proudly on the Broadstairs seafront since 1776 and a former residence of Charles Dickens, The Royal Albion offers much more than your average seaside experience. Steeped in history but featuring a 21st century approach to comfort, enjoyment and relaxation. With its elegant literary heritage, fresh sea air and awe-inspiring views, The Royal Albion creates an atmosphere that makes it the ideal place to unwind, rejuvenate and take time out. The Royal Albion has 21 elegant and spacious bedrooms to choose from. Whether you are looking out over the stunning Kentish coastline or the historic town of Broadstairs, the views are stunning. All the rooms are designed to ensure your break in this seaside destination is one to remember. When it comes to dining, you'll be spoilt for choice too. Enjoy freshly ground coffee and home-baked pastries throughout the day in Ballard's coffee lounge, and delicious dishes made using only the best locally sourced ingredients in the main bar featuring a large terrace and landscaped garden whilst enjoying commanding views across Viking Bay. For a more intimate dining experience, the a la carte restaurant with beautiful sea views, is the perfect place. With a menu based on the finest seasonal ingredients and freshly caught seafood, you can be assured of a dining experience to remember. The Royal Albion is in the ideal location from which explore the very best that the Kentish coast has to offer. Wander the beaches and clear the cobwebs just as Dickens did over 170 years ago, or simply take time out to appreciate your well-earned break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Albion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Albion Hotel Broadstairs, Kent
Albion Hotel Broadstairs
Hotel Broadstairs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing