We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, spotless accommodation, cheery hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Copperfields Guest House
Ranked #2 of 24 Broadstairs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2014

If you want meat, go elsewhere. Otherwise, Copperfields Vegetarian Guest House is for you. A warm and continuing cheery welcome from friendly hosts Julie and Neale, who go to great efforts to make guests comfortable and at ease in their spotlessly-clean, characterful guest-house. Breakfasts (buffet cereals and juices while a cooked vegetarian breakfast to taste is prepared) are delicious and substantial, and, there being no other meals in-house, (non-meat) snacks are permitted in the charming rooms complete with a selection of teas, coffees and biscuits. The bed was very comfortable, though the wardrobe-rail was too high for my lady-friend and one side of the bed was a touch cramped; otherwise, plentiful drawers etc. and the shower-room was easily one of the best I've experienced, not least because of the high-tech (but not intimidating) equipment. Thoroughly recommended! Close to shops, beach, station, bus-stops.

Room Tip: We used the Ivory Room (see above), but it being onto the main road, it was a bit noisy. Next time I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank fredro2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

I had a very comfortable and pleasant mid-week stay at Copperfield's. The room was nicely furnished and supplied with all sorts of little extras that you don't always get, and sometimes find yourself needing - such as cotton buds in the bathroom, or a first aid kit. The owner was exceptionally friendly and helpful, offering suggestions on walks and where to eat etc. The cooked breakfast was very good.

I chose Copperfields because it is closer to the centre of town and the station than many of the other B&Bs in Broadstairs. This was important as I was recovering from a leg injury. It is an easy walk to the High Street and the promenade, and very close to the bus stop, with excellent bus services to the rest of Thanet. I had no problems getting around.

Room Tip: All the rooms are on the first floor. I stayed in room 2 (the Wicker Room), which is a small, quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Highrise61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

My wife and I had a one night stay here. We had a warming welcome from our hosts. The room we had was very quiet, comfortable and had all the expected amenities. The breakfast was really good. I would recommend this to anybody considering staying in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Huw1864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Excellent guesthouse; very friendly owners, spotless bedroom - big comfortable bed and all-important nespresso coffee-making facilities. Big and very clean bathroom. This place will obviously appeal to vegetarians but also to non-vegetarians like ourselves because special care is taken to replace the bacon and sausage! Home-made marmalade and proper fresh orange juice were most welcome. Only downside is lack of parking but there are streets nearby.

Room Tip: The Antique room certainly suited us very well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nickypritc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Excellent guesthouse; very friendly owners, spotless bedroom - big comfortable bed and all-important nespresso coffee-making facilities. Big and very clean bathroom. This place will obviously appeal to vegetarians but also to non-vegetarians like ourselves because special care is taken to replace the bacon and sausage! Home-made marmalade and proper fresh orange juice were most welcome. Only downside is lack of parking but there are streets nearby.

Room Tip: The Antique room certainly suited us very well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickypritc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed for one night in the Antique Room, which was clean and very comfortable. Although we are not vegetarians, we were impressed with the breakfast provided, and the hosts, Neale and Julie, who have recently taken over the premises, were very helpful and friendly.

The guest house is just a couple of minutes' walk from the high street and seafront, with free parking in nearby side streets. Definitely recommended to anyone looking to stay in Broadstairs.

Room Tip: Antique room was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan70EastLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We were lucky enough to be Neale and Julie's first customers since their takeover of this vegetarian B&B. They are new to the B&B business but you would not know it from the way we were looked after. The room was very comfortable and they are maintaining the attention to detail regarding vegetarian food and the use of sustainable and carefully sourced products. We had a very friendly welcome and they were both more than happy to stop for a chat without being at all intrusive. There were a good variety of options for breakfast including locally sourced apple juice and freshly made bread. Fresh fruit each morning and a 'full English' veggie breakfast or other cooked options were available. The room we were in had a new addition, an espresso coffee machine which was a great way to start the day and made sure we were fully awake by breakfast.
I would heartily recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MickGinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadstairs
0.1 mi away
Royal Albion Hotel
Royal Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadstairs
683 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Yarrow Hotel
The Yarrow Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadstairs
241 reviews
2 mi away
The Botany Bay Hotel
The Botany Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kingsgate
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Walpole Bay Hotel
Walpole Bay Hotel
#2 of 12 in Margate
548 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bleak House
Bleak House
#3 of 24 in Broadstairs
197 reviews
0.2 mi away
South Lodge Guest House
South Lodge Guest House
#8 of 24 in Broadstairs
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copperfields Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copperfields Guest House

Address: 11 Queens Road, Broadstairs CT10 1NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Broadstairs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Broadstairs
Price Range: £74 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copperfields Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small vegetarian B&B in beautiful Broadstairs. We have 3 rooms, 2 of which can be twins. We provide a sumptuous breakfast including a full cooked veggie breakfast, and don't forget to try our "Fluffy eggs". We cater for most dietary requirements. We are a very short walk to Broadstairs centre with a huge choice of bars pubs cafe's and reataurants. Viking bay with its clean sandy beach is just a 3 minute walk away. We are right on the Loop bus route getting you to Ramsgate and Margate to see the attractions there as well. We are VisitEngland 4 Star silver rated. We have won several awards, and recently were winners of Channel 4's "Four in a Bed". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Copperfields Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copperfields Guest House Broadstairs, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing