We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dont be fooled coz it's joined to Tesco superstore..”
Review of Decks Broadstairs Tesco Extra - CLOSED

Decks Broadstairs Tesco Extra
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: As an exciting and modern British casual dining restaurant, we take pride in serving up a tasty slice of home. Our mornings begin early with freshly ground coffee and great help yourself breakfasts, our lunches and dinners consist of the best modern roasts with always four British meats to choose from, they can be tailored to match your tastes - want yours with salad and Piri-piri sauce? No problem! All polished off with the tastiest desserts and cakes around.
Broadstairs, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“dont be fooled coz it's joined to Tesco superstore..”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Have been there several times and whilst not "Michelin star" the carvery is excellent with generous-size servings of a choice of four meats and a help-yourself selection of all the usual veggies....There is also a large choice of vegetarian options as part of the "package". We have had no problems with the greeting, seating and drinks ordering. Value for money is excellent.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 321Andy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    47
    33
    16
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Strood, England
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Avoid”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We visited this Tesco extra and decided to eat in decks , well all I can say is what a hole , bells started ringing straight away as it was Friday lunchtime and it was empty , now for the food , everything on the carvery was dried out, I get the impression that they keep it there until its all gone!! and as for service we satdown and had eaten are meal and not one person came and took a drinks order , it was like all the staff was avoiding customers , they seemed more interested in sucking up to Tesco managers that use it as a meeting place for coffee, when I complained and asked for the manager I was sent some young girl who was the so called manager, who didn't have a clue about customer care , all she said was that they was having staffing issue's, so when I pointed out the fact that all her staff are in the other side of the restaurant trying to keep Tesco managers happy her reply was, it is there building and she also pointed out that they do use it everyday,

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank justrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Abysmal Service”
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

My brother and I visited Decks at the Tesco Extra Broadstairs today and didn't even get to the point whereby we could comment on the food or drink.
We entered the almost empty cafe and were taken to seat number 3 and told a server would take our drinks order.
10 minutes later still no server or drinks. Plenty of servers - chatting, waving to friends and milling around but none directed to our table.
What on earth is Tesco doing dabbling in this server-led format? The previous format was quite adequate.
Tesco you are a grocer with a convenience cafe - let the shoppers just get on with serving themselves - they are better at it than your cafe staff!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paulnet48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“No soft drinks available!”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

My wife and myself were sat at a table by a pleasant young lady before going through the menus. When ordering our drinks we were told that they had no soft drinks available! Why not tell people this upon entering and before seating them.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Smiffyttl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
428 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“not good”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Poor service, poor food, not nice at all.........I hoped this place would be good linked to Tesco but alas.....poor all round. Enviroment was ok, but staff seemed to be low key, not looking out for customers and giving bad service...sorry guys that's what I got...try yourselves ....................

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank marty w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Decks Broadstairs Tesco Extra also viewed

Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
Ramsgate, Isle of Thanet
 
Broadstairs, Isle of Thanet
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing