We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (209)
Filter reviews
210 results
Traveller rating
143
47
13
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
143
47
13
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews harry potter owners and staff wet room sea view comfortable lounge very nice hotel locally sourced ingredients five minute walk night's sleep clean rooms sound of the waves walk in shower short walk from the centre toast excellent breakfast single room room was large
Filter
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 210 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2017

I booked a single room for 1 night. The room itself was fine and the shower was just about useable for a person of my size. What let the room down was the size of the single bed. The advert promised a three foot single, but I was presented with one which was slightly over two foot, and I felt in danger of falling out of bed all night. I eventually moved the bed against the wall on one side as a precaution and just about managed a night's sleep, and then moved the bed back into the centre of the room in the morning. A good breakfast with sea views, but overall an average stay.

Room tip: Good sea views if you can get a room with one. Good brekfast.
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay T, Owner at Bay Tree Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Thank you for your review

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, which was 10 months ago just before before we closed in October 2016 for a major refurbishment

We will re-open in August 2017

All areas will have been completely refurbished and this will include new en suite wet-rooms and bathrooms

We will have one single room (previously we had three) and this will have a three foot single bed. We pride ourselves on the quality of our beds and mattresses. We have not had any other complaints about our bed sizes and we hope this did not detract from your stay with us.

Please contact us directly and we will be happy to offer you a discount as a goodwill gesture for your next stay with us

Robert Stone - Co-Owner/ Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

Had a lovely relaxing time at the Bay Tree Hotel. The owners & staff were very welcoming and extremely helpful. Delicious breakfast with option to sit outside and enjoy great sea views.

Broadstairs is within easy walking distance and is a delightful, charming town with a quaint cinema and great restaurants. Also there's a good bus service to Margate & Ramsgate.

I had the attic room with a very tiny ensuite, it was okay for me as I'm only 5ft 4 inches tall. It is currently more like a guest house. The owners have an adorable cute dog, which you may occasionally see during the day.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank mahnaz a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay T, Owner at Bay Tree Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

We're glad you have enjoyed your stay with us and have loved exploring delightful Broadstairs

As The Bay Tree is an old Victorian house, designing some of our ensuites has been challenging but we hope that our clever use of wetrooms and swiss Laufen bathroom furniture has made the most of the space available - we haven't yet had any negative feedback on our bathrooms since we have reopened after our refurbishment

Robert (co-owner/ manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2016

We keep going back because it's so good. We've stayed in almost every room. They're all different but they''re all lovely. Robert and Alastair always make us feel at home. The cooked breakfasts are delicious. And if you decide to have your evening meal there, you won't be disappointed - Alastair is an amazing chef - his Fisherman's Pie is not to be missed. Now that they're closed for a refurb, we're getting withdrawal symptoms. We can't wait to go back there again and again.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tony and Patsy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay T, Owner at Bay Tree Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

We love having you return again and again to enjoy our facilities and food - and Ben (our Bedlington Terrier) loves being taken out by you!

Robert (co-owner/ manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2016

Room was overpriced. Terrible ancient shower which kept falling off the wall. No tissues in room, no shaver point. Beds were good but not always made. Cups not always washed. Only three coat hangers. Someone needs to teach them how to cook a breakfast. Their accounting leaves much to be desired. Nice position and they are apparently going to update it but quite frankly we were not at all impressed by this hotel.

Room tip: Try another hotel
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank 305christinamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay T, Owner at Bay Tree Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2016

Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. The Bay Tree closed on 3rd October for a 6 month refurbishment: this includes knocking into chimneys to create more space for our bathrooms and fitting new bathrooms and wet-rooms, including shaver points.

We pride ourselves on the amenities we provide in our rooms. We apologise if we have omitted or not provided items you were expecting; had this been brought to our attention during your stay we would have been more than happy to address your concerns. We would also like to apologise if our staff had not cleaned to the standard you would expect, We are very exacting in our standards, staff follow a very detailed check-list to ensure things do not get missed and, at any time, we can identify which staff have completed specific tasks so that we can address any issues immediately.

We were very surprised that you were disappointed with our breakfast offering: the vast majority of our reviews indicate that our guests are extremely satisfied with the standard of our breakfasts, which are cooked to order and use locally sourced products. As you stayed with us for 4 nights, we are surprised that you didn't raise your concerns over our breakfasts with us directly so that we could address any issues you had.

We would like to apologise if there was any confusion regarding your bill. Unfortunately we were experiencing major issues with our card services provider and we did not have a working card machine leaving us no choice but to delay taking card payments. We have since changed our card provider.

Regarding our pricing: given our sea-front location, minutes from the centre of Broadstairs, our on-site parking and our guest facilities - including sea-facing restaurant and lounge, that our prices deliver excellent value and also remain competitive within our local area. Further, we make sure that guests have as much information as possible (including regarding location, room features, hotel facilities etc) on our website, so that guests can make an informed choice as to whether we are offering value.

We are very happy to discuss any additional concerns you have with you directly.
We will put a token credit as a gesture of goodwill on your account.

Robert Stone and Alistair Dixon (co-owners/ managers)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2016

It is unfortunate we only booked one night in this lovely B&B but we plan to return for another stay. It is in a prime location over looking the sea and just a short walk into town centre. We had the room with a balcony which was lovely to sit out on and relax. The room was nicely prepared and clean with a super large double bed. Parking on site was a bonus as we had a large truck. Everyone was friendly, polite and helpful. Highly recommended.

Room tip: Room 4 ( with a balcony)
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank irena o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews