We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful Guest House”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
South Lodge Guest House
Ranked #9 of 24 Broadstairs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Beckenham, Kent. UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A beautiful Guest House”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We stayed in South Lodge Guest House for one night at the beginning of July. The location is excellent, only 5-7 minutes walk to the beach. We had a beautiful room with bathroom. The room had a large very comfortable double bed. Everything one could imagine was available in the room, a kettle, all types of coffee and tea, radio, TV, books, guides and maps of the area even a hot water bottle. The bathroom was very clean and had shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, all top brands. Several sizes of towels. The breakfast was fantastic. Continental but lots of different cereals, meats, cheese, breads, croissant, jams etc. Very nice coffee served in a cafetiere. The owners, Bill and Christa, were very attentive and extremely pleasant. A stay in the South Lodge is highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had the White Room. The view was not that brilliant but we did not intend spending time in our ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonios T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    11
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
13
48
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Spent a week here and had a lovely stay. The room was a nice size. As mentioned in previous reviews the breakfast is lovely and really makes a change from the usual fry up. We were made to feel very welcome and would highly recommend. We parked on the street and although the street is narrow we were happy to leave the car there. The B&B is in a great location for walking into the town and was close to bus stops for a very regular service to Ramsgate or Margate. The train station is also close and we caught a train from there to Canterbury to save the hassle of driving.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baggiebird22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Booked this guest house as couldn't find any hotels with availability....what a stroke of luck !! From the minute we walked in, the warmth and friendliness was almost tangible. Crista and her husband Bill took pains to ensure that everything was to our liking and that we felt comfortable. The room is quaint with very dated but nice furniture...the bed was just BLISS !! I always dread having to sleep away from home as I have very rarely found a bed that I have found comfortable but this was heaven ! The bedding was crisp and clean ..the towels had seen some use but were also beautifully clean. Shower room was clean and well presented . Lovely cups and saucers and a plentiful supply of tea / coffee / hot chocolate / lovely biscuits / little chocolates...glasses and water by the bed..lots of little extras in the room ie: corkscrew / sewing kit / hot water bottle / hair dryer and iron was available if required. The breakfast was amazing. Crista makes her own marmalade / yoghurt / delicious pumpernickel bread ...there was an amazing selection of food available and surpassed any other continental breakfast we have had. Eggs / fruit/ cheeses including local makes / selection of continental meat / croissants / porridge/ freshly made fruit juice / cereals / toast / honeys / jams...I could still go on..... They will also leave breakfast outside your room if given notice ! The house oozes character and the walls are hung with Cristas own paintings which are amazing. Am almost reticent to let people know just how nice the guest house is in case there is no availability if we come to stay again ! You can park on the road outside but it is very narrow and I would be concerned about it getting bumped. There is parking at the back of the house for 4 or 5 cars although you must be prepared to have to negotiate moving times with the other guests. This wasn't a problem at all though as Crista and Bill ensure they know when you need to move your car and will ensure there isn't a problem. Really handy for both the sea front ( 5 minute stroll) and the train station ( ten minutes) If you intend visiting margate get a taxi instead of the train as it cheaper ! Such a pretty town that has retained its character and we will definitely be visiting again!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adakdd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013 via mobile

A really lovely and friendly hotel with a truly gorgeous local-produce continental breakfast including home made chutneys.

Our party had two rooms. The rooms were clean, spacious and had everything you need. The mattresses were really comfortable and the room was warm. And to top it off we were about 5 minutes walk from the front.

Perhaps a little too pricey but I'd really recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
210 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

We were staying in the area and were intending to book a hotel but all were fully booked. I admit to not liking bed and breakfasts. My expereince in the past hasnt been very good, find them usually awful decor and I find they tend to lack privacy so on arriving and struggling to park the car on the narrow road outside and arriving I was already filled with dread. We were greeted by a very warm welcome, clean hallway and a vase of fresh roses.Our furniture in the room was old and dated but definately had a charm to it. At the side of the bed was a shaped glass bottle filled with water. A good filled supply of tea, coffee etc. China bright mugs and chocolate mints on the saucers, was clear that time and thought had been put in to make our stay and room welcome. The bathroom although not large was ample in size to get ready with a good shower. The towels are old and not very fluffy but this is a minor thing and certainly not something that you would fault or not want to stop here for. Breakfast in in the lower ground and not a great view from your tables but again we were greeted by a table that had plates filled with cheese, mea, fresh fruit. There was fresh bread in a basket with 3 different types. Home made yogurt and mixed fruits stewed fruits. Fresh made porridge that was lovely, boiled eggs. We were offered pots of coffee, tea and toast with a good selection of jams etc. Home made smoothies. The time and effort that was put into our breakfast was outstanding. I am used to a cooked breakfast when being away but I would rather have what was offerd here antyime. It is in a good location and within easy walking distance. I liked Broadstairs and was a nice place to take a stroll. I would visit Broadstairs again and would stay at South Lodge again when I next visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jav66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This B&B was perfect for a short break in Broadstairs, right down to the broad stairs that welcome you up to their front door, set amongst some wonderful brickwork around the magnificent bay windows. Friendly, well placed, good value, great breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sifriday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

The bnb was within easy reach of all amenities e.g. The Station,it was very clean and well stocked up with the essential plus Cotton buds,both Christa and Bill were very welcoming and attended to our every need.We also enjoyed the Continental breakfast with a different smoothie every day,all the other guests were also very friendly

Room Tip: The Red Room is a spacious twin room,it has lovely paintings and art work on the walls
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bunnyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadstairs
0.2 mi away
The Yarrow Hotel
The Yarrow Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadstairs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Albion Hotel
Royal Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadstairs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 583 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Botany Bay Hotel
The Botany Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kingsgate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#5 of 10 in Ramsgate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
0.2 mi away
Copperfields Guest House
Copperfields Guest House
#1 of 24 in Broadstairs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Broadstairs House
Broadstairs House
#5 of 24 in Broadstairs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Lodge Guest House

Property: South Lodge Guest House
Address: 19 The Vale, Broadstairs CT10 1RB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Broadstairs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Broadstairs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Lodge Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and breakfast accommodation in a beautiful large Victorian house and home, built in 1866. Where you will experience a sense of space, relaxation and time for yourself. South Lodge provides B&B accommodation at its best. Whether on holiday, visiting family & friends or on business - at South Lodge Guest House you will enjoy high standards in an informal atmosphere, our award winning breakfasts and comfortable beds, all in quality surroundings. All only 6 minutes walk from Broadstairs main beach, the glorious Viking Bay and only 5 minutes from the town center's many restaurants, pubs, cafes and specialist shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, Expedia and Evoline ltd so you can book your South Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Lodge Guest House Broadstairs, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing