We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent exept for the steps.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
South Lodge Guest House
Ranked #7 of 24 Broadstairs B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent exept for the steps.”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Very friendly and comfortable but could do with a shelf in the shower. Decorated with contemporary art painted by the landlady. Excelelnt range of book available.
The access is a pain due to the flight of steps up to the front door.
Breakfast is "continental" style but is more than adequate with plenty of options.
Excellent cleanliness.

Parking is "challenging".

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South-Lodge19, Owner at South Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Graham
We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Broadstairs and at South Lodge.

Thank you for the comments, we will look at how to make it easier to access shampoos etc.when guests use the shower.
Yes, we do have seven steps and a handrail up to the front door. Unfortunately we cannot change this, it enhances the entrance to this lovely Victorian House, but is a limitation for these who find stairs difficult.

We are lucky to be able to offer limited parking for our guests, but access is down the drive with no turning space at the bottom. So for most people it is easier to reverse in rather than have to reverse out into the road. There is usually ample free parking in the street for this that are using their car during their stay. The limitations on South Lodge parking means we have to manage guests parking if they are likely to need to use their car during their stay as cars can get blocked in by other guests cars.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    11
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
49
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Just back from great stay with Crista and Bill at South Lodge. Rooms cosy in the best possible way with v comfy large bed and modern shower and bath. V friendly generous hosts, excellent location and absolutely delicious breakfast. We had a great weekend away in and around Broadstairs and would highly recommend the B&B and the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexEmanuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South-Lodge19, Owner at South Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Alex

Thanks you for your kind words.

See you again

regards

Bill & Christa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Don't normally leave reviews when there are already so many, but I have a toddler and nowadays I am always searching for reviews from young families. There aren't many here so I thought I'd leave one!

Booked last minute (night before) and spoke to owner who was very helpful and polite. He advised he'd set a travel cot up for us and put out a high chair at breakfast. They also let us check in early (10:30am) which allowed us to leave our stuff and have a full day at the beach.

We travelled from Bromley on the train and walked from the station- took about 10 minutes. Arrived and the owner was just as friendly in person as on the phone. The cot bed had been set up and made, they had even put in toys and books for my daughter (she wanted to get in there as soon as we walked in the room as it was so appealing to her!). There was a lovely selection of tea, coffee, hot chocolate (including mint tea!) as well as good quality toiletries. They even gave my husband a toothbrush as he had forgotten his. Room was comfy and spotless.

Next morning we met the other owner who was lovely. The table was set up with high chair as well as toddler friendly crockery, cutlery and a bib. The food was lovely- selection of fresh fruit (my daughter loved the watermelon and grapes), porridge, home made bread, croissants, home made smoothie (delicious), fresh coffee and cheeses.

I couldn't recommend this place highly enough, child friendly for sure- they both made a huge fuss over my daughter.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Knitto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South-Lodge-GH, Owner at South Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you Knitto.

We enjoyed having you stay with us and are very grateful for such a glowing review. It is much appreciated.

Bill & Christa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kanchanaburi thailand
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

had a wonderful time at south lodge the hosts are really helpful,and cant do enough for there guests, the room was lovely clean and comfortable, the breakfast was 1st class fresh juice,smoothie,fresh bread,cold meats and a variety of cheeses and cereals,a wonderfull stay and if we ever go to broadstairs this is where we will stayx

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnyessex7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South-Lodge-GH, Manager at South Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thank you for your kind words. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Bill & Christa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We are just leaving the south lodge hotel and cannot fault our stay. From booking the room (I was a pain and changed the booking and arrival time a few times) they have been a delight to deal with. We have a small child and they supplied a cot, toys and blanket and a lovely breakfast.

The room was clean and cosy and we slept very well. All in all a brilliant stay and we will be back again and telling our family and friends who frequently come to broadstairs. Thank you.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Hannah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South-Lodge-GH, Manager at South Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Hannah

It was a pleasure to have you stay as our guest. When you have a young baby a short break is even more important and you need to make sure all is right, so we were very happy to accommodate you. We often have our grandchildren staying here at the Guest House so we are used to young children and babies around.

regards

Bill & Christa, South Lodge Guest House, 19 The Vale, Broadstairs CT10 1RB
00 44 (0) 7984 177 577 - 00 44 (0) 1843 600 478
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reigate, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed here for a Wedding in Broadstairs. What a fantastic place we chose. Such a warm welcome by Bill, comfortable rooms and fabulous breakfast. We had 2 rooms and they accommodated us superbly, my 3 year old felt at home which is always a bonus. This is the best guest house we have stayed in and would definitely return when next in Broadstairs. Thanks Bill and Christa.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PSReid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South-Lodge-GH, Manager at South Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thank you Paul and Sarah.

Your comments are much appreciated

Bill & Christa, South Lodge Guest House, 19 The Vale, Broadstairs CT10 1RB
00 44 (0) 7984 177 577
00 44 (0) 1843 600 478
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london uk
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Decided on a flying visit with our three year old somewhere under two and a half hours from London which had sandy beaches..Broadstairs fitted the bill. not easy to find a B and B who are happy to accommodate a young child, in fact many I spoke to practically spluttered whe I mentioned him and told me they categorically didn't accept young children , one due to 'an incident many years ago'. With this blanket damning rule ringing in my ears it was lovely to speak to christa who owns the south Lodge guest house who was not only unphased but positively upbeat!

sadly we never met Christa in person, but her lovely stand in Louise who could not have been more welcoming and gracious. The house stands only five minutes walk from the beach and houses a handful of rooms. Louise was both welcoming and professional in that she gave us what we needed and then let us sort ourselves out. The room was comfy and she had gone way out of her way to show they welcomed children with DVDs, sweets and a bedtime story left for us. What a wonderful welcome after a long long morning.
Initially my husband was disgruntled that the continental breakfast denied him his meat on a Sunday but the meal was really lovely, fresh fruits,cheeses and cold meats, yoghurt and real coffee. They even had kiddie cutlery. Louise couldn't have been more prepared or friendly. I think she deserves a salary increase!
The house is set on a very narrow road but we could park along side the house. Itwas quiet and really clean. The owners are artists and their work is all over the house. Its the kind of house whose floors creak and the whole place smells of wonderful oriental lilies. We loved it and would have loved to have stayed longer.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the back with en suite. Not huge but perfectly fine for us. Quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South-Lodge-GH, Manager at South Lodge Guest House, responded to this review, 6 September 2014
Alida

Thank you for your kind review. We often have our grandchildren stay here and welcome children as guests. They bring their own rewards to us and their parents. Other guests also enjoy seeing young children about.

We are pleased your husband overcame his disappointment at the prospect of not getting a fry-up breakfast and enjoyed our special and award wining full continental.

We agree Louise is special and always looks after Guests extremely well. We are very lucky to have such superb help.

regards

Bill & Christa
South Lodge Guest House, 19 The Vale, Broadstairs, Kent CT10 1RB
00 44 (0) 7984 177 577 - 00 44 (0) 1843 600 478
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Broadstairs
0.2 mi away
The Yarrow Hotel
The Yarrow Hotel
#1 of 2 in Broadstairs
183 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Albion Hotel
Royal Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Broadstairs
623 reviews
2.0 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#5 of 10 in Ramsgate
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Botany Bay Hotel
The Botany Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kingsgate
623 reviews
1.8 mi away
Travelodge Ramsgate Seafront
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
Comfort Inn Ramsgate
#9 of 10 in Ramsgate
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to South Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Lodge Guest House

Property: South Lodge Guest House
Address: 19 The Vale, Broadstairs CT10 1RB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Isle of Thanet > Broadstairs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Broadstairs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — South Lodge Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and breakfast accommodation in a beautiful large Victorian house and home, built in 1866. Where you will experience a sense of space, relaxation and time for yourself. South Lodge provides B&B accommodation at its best. Whether on holiday, visiting family & friends or on business - at South Lodge Guest House you will enjoy high standards in an informal atmosphere, our award winning breakfasts and comfortable beds, all in quality surroundings. All only 6 minutes walk from Broadstairs main beach, the glorious Viking Bay and only 5 minutes from the town center's many restaurants, pubs, cafes and specialist shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your South Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Lodge Guest House Broadstairs, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing