We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Messing about on the river” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sovereign

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rochester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sovereign
Ranked #7 of 19 Rochester B&B and Inns
Chesham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Messing about on the river”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

A lovely experience to spend a few days away on this boat moored on the Medway. Bob and Sue are very welcoming hosts and Bob provides a hearty cooked breakfast. I can recommend this b and b to anyone visiting the area who would like to try something just a little bit different.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    25
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
18
52
17
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

This was our second stay at the Soverign as a group of friends touring the area. Big welcome and cuppa on arrival. Rooms clean and comfortable. Location quite unique. Sue and Bob are great hosts and have worked hard to convert this lovely boat into a successful B&B.
Cooked breakfast was man size and set us up well for the day. The residents lounge was comfortable with great views. A 15 minute riverside walk into Rochester where there are plenty of pubs and eating options. We enjoyed our stay very much.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank CJCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishops Itchington UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

For a B & B with a difference this is strongly recommended. Don't expect a marina like Monte Carlo (it is more mud flats and some rotting 'hulks') but obviously very nautical - great views of the Medway and at high tide the B & B does float!
Sue and Bob are the perfect hosts and nothing is too much trouble, clean rooms (cabins?) great cooked breakfast (perhaps cereals could be offered as well?), own guest lounge.
Certainly worth experiencing, even though Rochester is a bit 'rough looking' as you enter from London end, once in the old town it is very impressive with lots of eating places - great Thia and non-chain Italian (£5/6 taxi journey from marina) and historic dockyard/ Upnor Castle visits are a must.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigmutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

My Husband and I had a two night stay in the Yellow Cabin and it was perfect, we only wish we had longer to spend on the Sovereign . All your needs are looked after by Bob and Sue and we were made to feel like part of the family. Always a cuppa on hand and a smashing breakfast that really set us up for the day. Higly recommend a visit before Bob and Sue retire.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlieSue2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Delightful b+b in Rochester at Medway Bridge Marina. Lovely experience watching the river and the boatyard activities. Bob and Sue most welcoming - after minutes of meeting we felt we'd known them for years. Couldn't do enough for us. Hope to be back sometime and will definitely recommend to friends visiting the area.

Room Tip: Blue room wonderful for river watching.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

A warm welcome, mugs of tea, comfortable room, hearty breakfast - what more could you want in a B & B?
We would definitely stay there again.
Warning to shower users (in Blue room) - you'd hit your head if taller than average - however, corner bath more than compensates - plenty of horizontal room!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PamandRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

Lee says

now that the b+b boat on the isle of wight is no more, a genuinely unique experience. run by the friendliest of people and most comfortable at a reasonable price, i'll be back (tomorrow), also can't wait to stay here in summer.

Room Tip: all rooms are different depending on requirements, all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lee m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rochester
1.5 mi away
St. George Hotel
St. George Hotel
#3 of 6 in Chatham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Rochester Hotel
3.4 mi away
Premier Inn Chatham/Gillingham (Victory Pier) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The King Charles Hotel
The King Charles Hotel
#2 of 2 in Gillingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bridgewood Manor - QHotels
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sovereign? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sovereign

Property: Sovereign
Address: Box 29 Medway Bridge Marina Manor Lane | Manor Lane, Rochester ME1 3HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Rochester
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Rochester
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Sovereign Rochester, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing