We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two nights stay”
Review of Salisbury House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rochester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Salisbury House
Ranked #9 of 17 Rochester B&B and Inns
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Two nights stay”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed for two nights this week. We were made to feel really welcome by Janet and Roger from the time we arrived until the time we left. It is well situated for getting around the area and not a long walk downhill in to Rochester but some might find the walk back heavy going. Lovely large room fully kitted out, very clean. Good choice of breakfast and full English cooked to order by Roger. Nothing was to much trouble. Would stay again. I have marked the sleep quality down purely as we are used to a memory foam matteress and found these a bit hard. Just what you are used to and we have had a lot worse. Next time we are in Rochester we will be staying here.

Room Tip: Only two rooms so book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djsmv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
7
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Very friendly welcome. A beautiful Victorian house with lovely high ceilings and good size rooms. The breakfast is superb, full Monty English with haggis as well. A nice stroll down to the centre of town and views out over the river Medway. Definitely recommended.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Neil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Quiet part of Rochester, yet walkable into town. Welcoming hosts, huge double room and huge luxury bathroom. Delicious breakfast alone in lovely dining room.
Best to arrive after 5 for free street parking. Really good curry restaurant 3 minute walk away (struggled to get a table for one which I took as a good sign!)

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Marina47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vlaardingen, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stayed at Salisbury House for two nights: A nice Victorian house in a quiet street. Rochester High street is a 10 minutes' walk. There was a free parking permit for our car. Both
rooms are spacious and well-appointed. The beds and shower are excellent and spotlessly clean.
Janet and Roger are great hosts and very helpful. The breakfast is one of the best we have ever had. Although there is no website or e-mail address, Salisbury House does have free WiFi and a phone number.
We'll be back!

Jaap and Ellen

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JaapenEllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The hosts Janet & Roger were welcoming and friendly without being at all intrusive. The first floor of their house is given over to two comfortable guest suites. The one of these which I occupied for a three night visit to the intriguing and lovely city of Rochester/Medway was spacious and comfortable. Their breakfasts were exceptionally good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeremy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pewsey, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We recently stayed at Salisbury house for one night. Janet and Roger were so welcoming and we really felt at home. There are two rooms and my friend and I had one room each. The whole house is beautiful, with period features, very clean and very well looked after. The rooms are spacious and comfortable.

Breakfast was excellent, fresh fruit and yoghurt, followed by full English. Every small detail was carefully thought out and all our needs were provided for. We both felt it was absolutely perfect -10 out of 10.

We hope to visit Salisbury House again in the future and would have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maggie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We were greeted by our very friendly hosts and shown to our room - the Blue Room. Large, airy and with period features, the bathroom is huge. It was spotlessly clean, bed comfortable and the with little touches like cotton buds and nice toiletries and even the offer of fresh milk for the hospitality tray.There was an open air concert in town and the eveining was hot and sunny - Rochester is very pretty with lots of bars and restaurants to choose from. There was no website for this hotel but don't be put off, it really doesn't matter as when you step through the doors you feel like you are at home - a beautiful period property which is obviously very much loved by it's owners. At breakfast the next morning we were asked how we would like our eggs cooked and told to help ourselves to the cereal and fruit salad - and it was FRESH fruit salad, strawberries, raspberries, blueberries and melon that can only have been put together that morning. The full english was fab, very good quality sausages, bacon,mushrooms,tomatoes, eggs cooked to perfection and home cooked sautee potatoes - what more could you ask for. Oh yes toast, freshly cut wholemeal bread.
I can't recommend this B & B enough. My only worry is that next time we visit family in Kent we won't be able to get a room beacause word will have spread about just how good this B & B is.

Room Tip: There are only two rooms, one twin one double. We stayed in the double but I'm sure the twin is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rochester
0.7 mi away
St. George Hotel
St. George Hotel
#3 of 6 in Chatham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Rochester Hotel
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Chatham/Gillingham (Victory Pier) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The King Charles Hotel
The King Charles Hotel
#1 of 2 in Gillingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ship & Trades
Ship & Trades
#5 of 6 in Chatham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salisbury House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salisbury House

Property: Salisbury House
Address: 29 Watts Avenue, Rochester ME1 1RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Rochester
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Rochester
Hotel Class:4 star — Salisbury House 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Salisbury House Rochester, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing