We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasent stay and good value.”

Riverview Lodge Rochester
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rochester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riverview Lodge Rochester
Ranked #15 of 17 Rochester B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Was on a recent business trip to Rochester from N. Ireland. Searched the internet for accomodation and came across Riverview Lodge. On arrival was met by the proprietor whom I found to be a very pleasent and helpful man. The room itself was clean and comfortable with an ensuite shower and TV. Views of the river especially at sunset were stunning. Kitchen clean and tidy, you just help yourself. The road is very quite, even with my window open still had a good nights sleep. All in all I found my stay at Riverview Lodge to be very enjoyable and would have no hesitation in returning in future.

Laurence McGowan

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurencemcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2011

We enjoyed this B&B for 2 nights. We had a room at the first floor with an amazing view on the Medway river, really astonishing (and romantic to see the sunset). The room was clean, but basic, with shower and toilet. Also pleasant to have a kitchen downstairs (at level -1) to cook or just refrigerate something - with possibility to enjoy the terrace (if good weather, of course). Breakfast was basic as well, but OK: just tea, juice or instant coffee, with bread and cereals. And all that for a very reasonable price. We're definitely going back!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveler1Tremelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2011

Riverview Lodge had everything that you need for a basic sleep over. Room was adequately big, shower worked and had hot water. Place is a few minutes walk from centre of Rochester and has views towards the river.
Place is not anything fancy; room is a bit worn down and breakfast is simple (yoghurt, cereals and bread), but it is not expensive place to stay either.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kuusimaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2011

I was up with my family and when we got at the guest house we were pleasantly surprised by the old style of this building and for the reception. The building is a typical victorian style and the room was spacious and immaculate. We had an amazing view on Medway river.
This lodge is on a quiet road and has got its own parking place, it's reassuring!
The manager was helpful and knowledgeable.
Value for money is excellent! This experience was interesting and I sure to come back for another long weekend!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank belbv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2011

River View Lodge is situated on a quiet road. stayed on the first floor for 4 nights. Only 5 minutes drive from the station and local shops. 15 minutes drive to Chatham shopping centre.the room was very bright and clean with clean shower. Towels and beddding were claen and fresh too.The bed was very comfortable with the fresh smell of laundry. and there was no noise during the night . The view from the window was mesmerising.
The service was very good. for breakfast there was a choice of three cereals, jams,marmalade, butter, wholemeal and white bread ,tea, cofee and fruit juices. for out of breakfast hours there is a fascility of using a kitchen which is situated on the ground floor. i had my evening tea out side in the garden.
The best thing i like was the building itself with beautiful, original victorian fire places( they are not in use though, but they look lovely) and the colour theme of the main hall and dining room. Dining room is very clean. The fridge was clean too and so was the sink. The view from the dining room was spellbind and so very romantic.
the parking fascility was great. Riverview Lodge has got its own parking place.
Will definitely go there again with family and friend.

Room Tip: Back rooms have a lovely view of the river Medway.
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
Thank freeya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

Due to a serious house fire, I needed economic but comfortable accomodation whilst my house was being rebuilt. All of the large chains have to be booked well in advance to achieve the rates they advertise as "from".
The Riverview Lodge, proved to be clean, comfortable and an excellence price. In addition the staff were extremely helpful and were knowledgeable in all areas, particular their extensive local knowledge. I sincerely hope I do not suffer another house fire, but should I do so Riverview Lodge would be my first choice.

Regards John Howard.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pmills26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2011

Perfect for our needs. Clean and tidy room. Walking distance from the Rochester city centre. Possibility to cook your own meals in a kitchen. We came without reservation and got a nice family room with river view. Possibility to visit London by train, only 40 mins.
Good service. Nice and quiet environment, good to relax.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Runway20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rochester
0.9 mi away
Gordon House Hotel
Gordon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rochester
131 reviews
1.1 mi away
St. George Hotel
St. George Hotel
#3 of 6 in Chatham
331 reviews
2.1 mi away
The King Charles Hotel
The King Charles Hotel
#1 of 2 in Gillingham
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Chatham Maritime Hotel
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham
0.0 mi away
Botleigh Villa B&B
Botleigh Villa B&B
#5 of 17 in Rochester
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverview Lodge Rochester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverview Lodge Rochester

Address: Rochester 88 Borstal Road, Rochester ME1 3BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Rochester
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Rochester
Price Range: £45 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Riverview Lodge Rochester Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing