We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean with no frills”

Riverview Lodge Rochester
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rochester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Riverview Lodge Rochester
Ranked #15 of 17 Rochester B&B and Inns
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Clean with no frills”
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights from 15 Jan 2012 whilst on a training course from work. As the title suggests, the room was very basic but clean - all that was needed for getting your head down after a busy day. Breakfast was also very basic - help yourself to cereals, fruit juice, toast and tea/coffee but fine by me as I don't like a cooked breakfast anyway. As was said by Jo T, you get what you pay for and for £36 a night I'm not complaining.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front are on a fairly busy commuter route; rooms to the rear have spectacular views acr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlfaFan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    9
    6
    6
    12
See reviews for
8
7
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Were quite worried after reading everyone's reviews on here but for a girlies weekend it was perfect,a bit rough round the edges but had the family room downstairs near communal kitchen so could help ourselves to a cuppa and took our own bacon and made breakfast in the morning,the guy was very helpful and the rooms were warm and clean for such a cold weekend.Town was 10 min walk away but perfect as not in the thick of it,would definately stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for the family one
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

I made the mistake of saving £20 by booking for a family visit. It really does seem to be a 1980's care home that one night shut down and opened up next morning as a B&B. All a bit tired and creepy, the nearest I can liken it to was the old budget rooms in the now shut Butlins hotel Margate. Two things I took from this, don't take any notice of a fancy website and you get what you pay for (wasn't that cheap..). I left feeling sad for the former residents of the old peoples home but at least I could leave in the morning....

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SidcupTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rochester hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Definitely the worse accommodation I have ever stayed in. The room was awful, the food was awful. The manager was strange. It was as a previous reviewer stated like the worse kind of old people's home. Never again. Do yourself a favour and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Swampyrexer12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My partner and I decided to go to a nice little town for a weekend at last minute and Rochester seemed to fit the bill (which it did). Upon our Arrival we were met by the manager outside ( as it is not lived in by owners, and not staffed other than when checking guests in and being cleaned) and let us into the Entrance Hall, very old fashioned Victorian building, very mish mash in décor and furnishings, it seemed more like an old folks home (which I discovered once arriving in our room that it must of been in a previous life) we where giving instructions that breakfast was cereal and toast, and it was a help yourself system...
The room was at the very top of the house. the room had a double bed, that was very uncomfortable to sleep on, the bedding did not fit, although it was clean and freshly laundered, the curtains did not fit the window and did not close, and even if they did, they would not have blocked any morning sunlight as they were of a very cheap cotton mix and light in colour, and all very very washed out. the room had a portable T.V that had no remote control and only three channels and very poor picture quality.
there are no Tea and Coffee facilities in the room,(you are welcome to go down three flights of steep stairs to make your self a drink in the communal kitchen, we did not, as we decided to get some juice to keep in our room).
the view was of the River Medway, but its not very scenic as you can see major roads, bridges and Industrial sites.
the lamp above our bed did not work as an old smashed bulb was still in it. the clock on the wall had no battery in it, the room was clean but very very tired and in need of new fixtures and furnishings.
the En suite was clean but very old, the towels were clean but all completely different and some had bleach marks,I wouldn't use them as dusters!.
beside the toilet is an orange button with the picture of a nurse on it!(my detective skills tell me that maybe this not so long ago was a care home, there is also a green button by the main light switch in the room).
the wind was up the weekend we stayed and with the doors having at least an inch gap at the bottom proved to be very noisy as it rattled our door all night and our neighbours, my Partner actually wondered why our neighbours keep going in and out of their rooms( as this was what it sounded like) until I pointed out the gaps in the doors.
The walk to town is a nice brisk walk, Rochester is a lovely little place, with The Guildhall Museum, The Six Travellers museum both in the high st and free entry. the Cathedral and Castle both being just off the high street, lovely little shops and places to eat.
I think for the same money, our room was £59.00 per night, you can actually get a room at the pub in the high st, or or one of the other BnBs and have a more comfortable stay, I know I sound like moaning minnie here, but it really was tired, naff and in desperate need of a complete makeover. we had to keep laughing at the room, we spent as little time as we could in it and enjoyed Rochester!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foxy1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Should have realised that if they had rooms when all others were full, there must have been a reason. Manager extremely helpful on the phone. Said we could have our rooms at 15.00 but when we arrived at 18.00, our room had still not been made up. Breakfast things had not been cleared from that morning. Rooms were adequate, though rather dated. Mismatched towels, basic bed linen. A fellow visitor, (very drunk and foulmouthed) tried to get into my mother's room after midnight, and with no staff on the premises, made a commotion in the corridor for nearly half an hour before his unfortunate roommate relented and let him in.
Breakfast is very basic. I've paid same and had much better stays elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sofalofa_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnet, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Having searched for a room at very short notice on a budget this B&B exceeded our expectations wonderfully. The manager was very helpful and courteous, and even let us have the larger (1 double, 2 single beds) family room (downstairs, adjacent to communal kitchen, with large window and clear glass patio door with access to terrace) at the same rate as a standard double or twin as he did not have a double room available. The bedroom and ensuite shower were clean and well kept, with fresh towels and bedding. The kitchen next door was very convenient, well kept and clean, providing access to the fridge, freezer, cooker, glasses and utensils etc. as well as having a very pleasant atmosphere (in keeping with the rest of the house; victorian features and stunning views over the Medway valley and river). The breakfast was prefectly adequate and well presented and the staff were friendly. All in all a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seraphim_09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rochester
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Chatham Maritime Hotel
2.0 mi away
The King Charles Hotel
The King Charles Hotel
#1 of 2 in Gillingham
640 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ship & Trades
Ship & Trades
#6 of 6 in Chatham
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Bridgewood Manor - QHotels
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham
2.5 mi away
The Golden Lion Hotel
The Golden Lion Hotel
#1 of 17 in Rochester
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverview Lodge Rochester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverview Lodge Rochester

Property: Riverview Lodge Rochester
Address: Rochester 88 Borstal Road, Rochester ME1 3BD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Rochester
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Riverview Lodge Rochester Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing