We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!”
Review of North Downs Barn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
North Downs Barn
Ranked #4 of 17 Rochester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Anonymous
2 reviews
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Had a lovely stay in a brilliant family run B&B. Nothing is too much trouble and Allison goes above and beyond to make sure you're happy. They gave good advice on places to go and made us feel very welcome. Breakfast was cooked to order and tasted really nice!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swadey73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
26
7
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hove, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

As soon as I spoke to Allison on the phone, I knew this was going to be a special place to stay.... Myself, a friend and our two boys were looking for somewhere to stay after our visit to Diggerland (which is less than 5 minutes away!) and we couldn't have found anywhere more perfect. The accommodation itself is beautifully presented with thoughtful little extras and the views from the windows are breath-taking. I certainly wouldn't say that any guests would find the family photographs intrusive - the walls were certainly not adorned with them (none in the bedrooms, just a few in frames in the communal areas) and at the end of the day it's important to remember you're staying in a family home, not a hotel. Both our boys are well behaved, but at the end of the day, they are two and three years old and Allison was very relaxed with them. She kindly heated up some 'Thomas pasta' on toast for them upon arrival and didn't mind at all that they spent most of the time pushing their newly acquired diggers along the floor and down the stairs. Allison also looked after the 'mums' very well, by providing wine classes, a choice of takeaway menus and the even brining us plates and cutlery when dinner arrived. The barn itself was extremely peacefully and a good night was had by all as we snuggled down into the Egyptian cotton bedding. In the morning, a wonderful fresh breakfast was served (Allison was happy to cook exactly what we wanted to order) before we stuck our wellies on and wandered outside to see the animals (horses and chickens). In summary, yes, North Downs Barn is a very special place to stay, but Allison's hospitality is unbeatable and what that's what really made it for us. Allison, thank you for sharing your home and we'll certainly be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PabloJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-on-Avon
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Near perfect B&B: clean en-suite room, excellent breakfast, friendly hosts, ample parking, close to Rochester attractions, lovely large garden and stables. We stayed in the twin room for £70 which was very good value when compared to similarly priced soul-less chain hotels (which don't include breakfast). The room was a little on the 'cosy' side which for us was fine as we were only staying for one night but anyone staying for longer could find it a bit of a squeeze...especially as there is no wardrobe. Hosts are very welcoming - after a three-hour drive we were made pot of tea and biscuits on the large landing area - and there is a very homely feel to the B&B. We thought this was one of the appeals - but I guess some people may feel a little awkward / intrusive in a place where the walls are adorned with family portraits and photographs etc. All in all though a brilliant B&B.
Ps: the hosts don't take card payment - cash or cheques.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bcanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We stayed here in May 2012. Delightful, clean room with lovely outllook up towards fields and overlooking stables. Bed was super comfortable with high quality and tasteful decor.

Breakfast was superb with delicious selection of cereals, jams, toast, and fresh fruit together with a lovely cooked breakfast.

The barn is in a beautiful rural location yet only a couple of miles away from Rochester and the other medway town.

Alison was the perfect host making us feel very welcome.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovemyhols1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I was walking the North Downs way and this gem of a B&B is located a stone's throw away from the path. The accommodation is of high quality, lovely quiet location, great food and Alison and Paul went out of their way to help me settle in and make me feel welcome. There is no doubt I would stay here again - thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

Planning to visit The Historic Dockyards and Rochester for a weekend, and struggling to find a nice B&B, I stumbled across this lovely place's website. It's absolutely delightful - quiet rural location although within 2 miles of Rochester (which is also charming with lots to see and do); spacious, super-comfortable bedroom with all mod cons and tasteful decor; delicious selection of breakfast options, and a really friendly welcome. Relaxing with a glass of wine in the garden as the sun sets is a very pleasant way to end a day's sightseeing! There are pretty villages and country walks nearby, and all the rich history of the Medway towns is within easy reach, and well worth exploring. Unreservedly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crystal1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

Beautiful homely barn conversion with gorgeous bedrooms, delicious breakfast, friendly hosts and a peaceful country location just 1m from the motorway. We walked here, as it is just off the North Downs Way (NB- the address on Trip Advisor is correct- just ignore the reference to the Northumberland National Park- it is just outside Rochester in Kent!) and could not have had a more perfect place to rest our weary heads and feet. The breakfast was incredible, and they do sometimes offer dinners which we didn't get to experience, but if the breakfast is anything to go by, I'm sure they'll be great too.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbiemoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rochester
2.1 mi away
The Inn on the Lake
The Inn on the Lake
#4 of 5 in Gravesend
504 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Manor Hotel
Best Western Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Singlewell
249 reviews
4.0 mi away
Bridgewood Manor - QHotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham
4.6 mi away
Ship & Trades
Ship & Trades
#6 of 6 in Chatham
367 reviews
4.4 mi away
The King Charles Hotel
The King Charles Hotel
#1 of 2 in Gillingham
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Downs Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Downs Barn

Property: North Downs Barn
Address: North Downs Barn Bush Road | Cuxton, Rochester ME2 1HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Rochester
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your North Downs Barn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Downs Barn Rochester, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing