We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sumptuous and Secluded!”
Review of North Downs Barn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
North Downs Barn
Ranked #4 of 17 Rochester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Sumptuous and Secluded!”
Reviewed 4 May 2013

My husband and I just had an overnight stay at this gorgeous B&B and would certainly highly recommend it! We have never been in a barn conversion before and this one is lovely. Despite being a short drive from West Malling you feel miles from anywhere and the peace and seclusion are most welcome. Our room was delightful, beautifully decorated and furnished with high quality everything from the linen to the crystal water glasses. There are endless thoughtful touches, and breakfast is excellent cooked to order and very plentiful. Our room was small but had everything you could need and an en-suite shower room (not a power shower though!)
If you want peace and quiet in lovely surroundings this certainly fits the bill. If you want a meal out or a local pub you either need to drive or be a hiker. The nearest pubs are quite a walk away and a lot of that is walking on country roads.
A very nice place to stay with extremely welcoming hosts.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spherinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
25
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

My wife and I have been enjoying a few days holiday in Kent, and started with a couple of nights' stay at North Downs Barn. The building itself is amazing, Alison is such a friendly and welcoming host, the rooms are clean, bright and comfortable and the breakfasts hearty and excellent.

All that remains is to say that we enjoyed it so much that we returned for another night before returning home!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

The owner was amazing - she greeted 3 wet NDW walkers & 1 wet dog with a friendly helpful smile. We were given a towel to dry the dog whilst she whisked our boots & waterproofs off to dry for us then showed us to our fab rooms. Breakfast was everything you'd want, cooked to order. Lovely place, would highly recommend

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spakky7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We stayed here for one night after a days walking around Rochester and doing a leg of the North downs way. As soon as we arrived we had that "Aaahh we can relax now" feeling you should get when arriving at a hotel or B&B, Allison was friendly, chatty and welcoming, but left us to get settled in whilst she went and got some tea and homemade scones (delicious!). We told her we were going to a pub a few miles away for dinner, and she kindly offered to give us a lift so we only had to get a taxi on the way back. (WARNING about the local taxis - they have no idea where anything is! Make sure you bring maps and postcodes, we ended up on the motorway driving around for 15 mins for what should have been a 4 min drive - I don't know if it's just where I live but I've never had to direct a taxi driver before :s Also, our taxi was 20 mins late because the first one went to a completely different village, in Strood... anyways....)
The rooms were spacious, (Our bathroom was huge - and stocked with all kinds of toiletries, I've never stayed in a Barn conversion before so it was weird being in such a big shower!) clean and the bed was comfortable. We watched the Olympic opening ceremony in our rooms and despite some dodgy weather the digital signal didn't do too badly!
Breakfast was something else - loads of fruits, even stewed rhubarb, sliced strawberries, and apricots were on offer alongside yoghurts and cereals, the cooked breakfast was generous and tasty, and there were even mini croissants and jam and honey on the table.
I had a wander about the garden taking pictures of the swallows and chickens and horses before going up to pack.
The biscuits in the jar were a nice touch on the tea tray, much better than the usual packet biscuits.
All in all, we had a very enjoyable stay, and it felt like we really got good value for money.
Allsion said she was nervous about being on tripadvisor, as she hadn't added herself - all I can say is, if they continue doing what they're doing now, she has absolutely nothing to worry about!

Room Tip: We had the double ensuite room at the front of the house, it has a samll single bed in a seperate ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fenny89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anonymous
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Had a lovely stay in a brilliant family run B&B. Nothing is too much trouble and Allison goes above and beyond to make sure you're happy. They gave good advice on places to go and made us feel very welcome. Breakfast was cooked to order and tasted really nice!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swadey73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

As soon as I spoke to Allison on the phone, I knew this was going to be a special place to stay.... Myself, a friend and our two boys were looking for somewhere to stay after our visit to Diggerland (which is less than 5 minutes away!) and we couldn't have found anywhere more perfect. The accommodation itself is beautifully presented with thoughtful little extras and the views from the windows are breath-taking. I certainly wouldn't say that any guests would find the family photographs intrusive - the walls were certainly not adorned with them (none in the bedrooms, just a few in frames in the communal areas) and at the end of the day it's important to remember you're staying in a family home, not a hotel. Both our boys are well behaved, but at the end of the day, they are two and three years old and Allison was very relaxed with them. She kindly heated up some 'Thomas pasta' on toast for them upon arrival and didn't mind at all that they spent most of the time pushing their newly acquired diggers along the floor and down the stairs. Allison also looked after the 'mums' very well, by providing wine classes, a choice of takeaway menus and the even brining us plates and cutlery when dinner arrived. The barn itself was extremely peacefully and a good night was had by all as we snuggled down into the Egyptian cotton bedding. In the morning, a wonderful fresh breakfast was served (Allison was happy to cook exactly what we wanted to order) before we stuck our wellies on and wandered outside to see the animals (horses and chickens). In summary, yes, North Downs Barn is a very special place to stay, but Allison's hospitality is unbeatable and what that's what really made it for us. Allison, thank you for sharing your home and we'll certainly be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PabloJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-on-Avon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Near perfect B&B: clean en-suite room, excellent breakfast, friendly hosts, ample parking, close to Rochester attractions, lovely large garden and stables. We stayed in the twin room for £70 which was very good value when compared to similarly priced soul-less chain hotels (which don't include breakfast). The room was a little on the 'cosy' side which for us was fine as we were only staying for one night but anyone staying for longer could find it a bit of a squeeze...especially as there is no wardrobe. Hosts are very welcoming - after a three-hour drive we were made pot of tea and biscuits on the large landing area - and there is a very homely feel to the B&B. We thought this was one of the appeals - but I guess some people may feel a little awkward / intrusive in a place where the walls are adorned with family portraits and photographs etc. All in all though a brilliant B&B.
Ps: the hosts don't take card payment - cash or cheques.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bcanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rochester
3.5 mi away
St. George Hotel
St. George Hotel
#3 of 6 in Chatham
308 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Inn on the Lake
The Inn on the Lake
#4 of 5 in Gravesend
482 reviews
3.1 mi away
Gordon House Hotel
Gordon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rochester
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
The King Charles Hotel
The King Charles Hotel
#1 of 2 in Gillingham
620 reviews
4.6 mi away
Ship & Trades
Ship & Trades
#5 of 6 in Chatham
345 reviews
4.0 mi away
Bridgewood Manor - QHotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Downs Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Downs Barn

Property: North Downs Barn
Address: North Downs Barn Bush Road | Cuxton, Rochester ME2 1HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Rochester
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your North Downs Barn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Downs Barn Rochester, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing