We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic stay”
Review of North Downs Barn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
North Downs Barn
Ranked #4 of 17 Rochester B&B and Inns
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I stayed over the late bank holiday weekend of May 2014 as a single traveller on a visit to a friend's wedding.
Communication up to my visit was flawless via email and telephone. Alison demonstrated superb customer/guest service professionally but also took enough interest to make my own visit as easy and enjoyable as possible. For example, before my arrival she took the effort to get taxi quotes to the wedding venue without my asking of her and with extreme kindness offered me a lift to the location for a fraction of the commercial rates.
On arrival to the railway station she also arranged a collection for me back to her bed and breakfast which saved arranging further transport (from a small but quite remote railway station).
The accommodation was presented fantastically from the exterior in the beautiful Kent Downs with plenty of open spaces surrounding the bed and breakfast.
Inside was kept just as well from the expectations already set from the exterior. A very welcoming home with the upstairs reserved mainly for guests staying at the Barn B and B which featured an open landing with sofas, maps, books and abundancies of DVD's for guests to enjoy.
The room I was allocated was very well maintained, furnished to the right level of homliness, with a varied and well stocked tea tray with more than the usual selection of biscuits/drinks etc. Alison was also very kind to always be more than happy to provide fresh milk if desired.
The room was not ensuite but there was a more than big enough bathroom just off the bedroom from the corridor. Shower robes and clean towels were provided along with handsoaps/bodywashes.
The room I stayed in for 3 nights was towards the rear of the barn which overlooked the large maintained garden and stables with Ponies in. Although not dead silent the room at night was more than suffcient to have a good nights rest. (Some noise was present from adjacent guests).
Breakfast was served in a beautiful room downstairs set for guests over a large table. There was plenty of fresh choice of fruits/cereals and yoghurts ready and Alison was more than happy to cook a hot breakfast as required in the mornings.

Overall, I felt more than welcome staying in this bed and breakfast which is obviously lovingly cared for as a personal business by Alison. I appreciated the interest Alison took in my visit and the effort she went to keeping it enjoyable. Fortunately, the weather was dry during my visit as it was a pleasant 20 minute walk to the closet pub/shops for evening food. If otherwise staying with a car or transport this may open up a few more opportunities further afield than what I could manage with public transport.

I honestly don't know how I could suggest any improvements. Would definitely recommend without hestitation.

Thank you very much Alison.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raggyrabbits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
24
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chatham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I had mixed feelings about staying in a bed and breakfast. I was travelling on my own and wondered if this would suit me. I can honestly say this is truly a four star bed and breakfast. Beautiful accommodation with nice touches in the rooms, tea, coffee, biscuits. Dressing gown and lovely towels and pillows made my trip so relaxing although I was on business. Then the breakfast was just great a good selection of fruit and cereals, tea, coffee, and anything you want cooked is done. The surrounding are clean, spotless, the gardens are fab. The host is pleasant, extremely helpful. Thank you Alison for my stay I will be back.

Room Tip: Just try you won't regret I had a small double but Was comfortable for a couple. I would say any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, UK
Level Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We stayed here recently for one night and after 1 week in caravan it was just what we wanted and more! We had a family room which had a single bedroom adjacent to our room, the only issue here was there was no door between this room and the bathroom, not that it bothered us! This room was also big enough to fit our travel cot. The room had the character high ceilings associated with a barn, the bed was just perfect, amply warm & cosy and a nice hospitality tray of bottled waters, tea/coffee and biscuits. The breakfast was beautifully set with an abundance of choices, the hot breakfast consisted of good quality ingredients, cooked and presented with love and care! The price was unassuming considering. All topped off by the wonderful host Alison. All in all a recommended experience if your any where near the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rustymonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
133 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Booked the family and double room for one night last Saturday.
What fabulous accommodation.
The rooms have very comfortable beds, tea and coffee facilities and all the amenities along with bottled water.
The breakfast was brilliant - a choice of fresh fruit, cereals along with full English.
Alison was very accommodating.
All in all a very good experience.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BiffaChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Lovely venue, farm setting, enormous building with extremely spacious rooms; very clean, extremely well appointed - comfortable large beds modern efficient bathrooms and a spacious lounge/library for guests to relax. Lovely welcome from Alison Evans, the proprietrix, who really made us feel at home.

First class breakfast easy access to Ebbsfleet International - free parking at the B+B if you want to take a taxi to the station (about £20)

At £80 per night per couple, unbeatable value for money; don't bother with anywhere else!

Room Tip: They're all good! But in the Gun Room you wake up to look at the horses ( outside the room!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nucleartraveller8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Great thanks to Allison. My father and brother stayed in that bed and breakfast and had an awesome stay. Rooms were clean and heard the breakfast was wonderful. Would definitly recommend this place or will go back myself.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oursons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
china
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

my second stay here, wonderful rooms, spotlessly clean, wonderful bedding, fantastic breakfast,wonderful views and great location for visiting nearby Rochester, with direct links into London. look forward to staying next time. .

Room Tip: I have stayed in two different rooms so far and both were equally comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blueso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rochester
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Rochester Hotel
2.1 mi away
The Inn on the Lake
The Inn on the Lake
#4 of 5 in Gravesend
3.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
4.6 mi away
Ship & Trades
Ship & Trades
#5 of 6 in Chatham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Premier Inn Chatham/Gillingham (Victory Pier) Hotel
3.5 mi away
St. George Hotel
St. George Hotel
#3 of 6 in Chatham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Downs Barn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Downs Barn

Property: North Downs Barn
Address: North Downs Barn Bush Road | Cuxton, Rochester ME2 1HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Rochester
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your North Downs Barn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Downs Barn Rochester, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing