We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B Ever”
Review of Dux Court B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rochester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dux Court B&B
Ranked #11 of 17 Rochester B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 February 2013

We arrived at Dux Court B&B and met Vickiy, the owner who was very welcoming and so accommodating in meeting or requirements. The Dux Court B&B, is a beautiful house that has been amazingly transformed into a 5 start establishment, with beautiful en-suite rooms in all of the large bedrooms. We also met her daughter Esta, who was also very welcoming, we were treated as a family member as we joined in the banter around the breakfast table while eating a hearty cooked feast before we made our way home.

We were part of a party of 3 couples, who also have children that were being looked after while we attended a wedding at Cooling Castle. Dux Court B&B is also perfect for families and the next time we venture near Rochester then we would stay here again, with out a doubt.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (10)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 10 of 10 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2012

This place is such a find. The accommodation, the surroundings and the hosts are just perfect. I would recommend this B & B to anyone. It is like a 5 star establishment at a very reasonable price. Our room was straight out of Pride and Prejudice. The bathroom was a dream. A rolled top bath, twin basins and a very large shower. Breakfast was delicious. I especially loved the stewed greengages from their garden.

Room Tip: We had the Mandarin room which was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Chrissie53_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

This B & B was booked for us by a friend so we had no idea of what it was like until we arrived late at night after attending a wedding in Cooling Castle Barn. First impressions were really good. Lovely room, lovely antique furniture everywhere. Slept well then the next morning we could look around a bit more and it was fascinating finding all the different nooks and crannies with small stairs going up to another landing then other stairs going down somewhere else. Being very nosy I just wanted to explore the whole house. All of the rooms were very spacious, very clean but also very comforting and warm and cosy. We went downstairs for breakfast and first of all went into a very large kitchen and stood talking to Vicki, one of the owners who very happily explained about the house and how the back of the house is much older than the front which was built in Victorian times. We then sat down at a lovely old, very large table in the dining room laid with beautiful old fashioned blue and white crockery. We were offered a choice of fruit and cereals then a wonderful cooked breakfast was brought in with plenty of tea and coffee. The beautiful old teapot was covered in a cute tea cosy which reminded me of when I was a child at home. Most of the food was in season and bought from local producers. We sat there for quite a while talking with our friends and looking out onto a lovely secluded garden. We all said how relaxed we felt and were amazed at how quiet it was. All that could be heard were the birds. The views from the windows upstairs overlooked orchards and fields and again we all wanted to go exploring. We have now decided to come back in the summer to do some walking and stay overnight. After we left we were driving back on the M2 towards London and I felt as if I was entering the modern world again after leaving somewhere that I had found to be rather enchanting. I am looking forward to going back.

Room Tip: There are 3 rooms to choose from all really lovely but I did like the room that had the freestanding...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Pauline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

We stayed here for two nights around a family wedding in nearby Cooling Castle Barn. It was recommended by the Barn, as they didn't have space for us on the first night. How lucky were we?

Its a little difficult to find, in that when we visited it wasn't well identified from the road - two gates in a stone wall lead into the gravelled front driveway. If you have Satnav, type in co-ordinates N51.43277 E0.55284 and they should get you there.

Dux Court is a listed building - I'm not sure of the period or anything like that - and its just gorgeous. Its set in beautiful gardens to the sides and rear. We were welcomed heartily by Vicki and shown to our spacious and comfortable en-suite rooms. We had requested one room for the five of us (2 adults & 3 kids) but she had a spare room available and put the kids in there.

Vicki offered some suggestions on things to do for the remainder of the day - recommending the excellent Chatham Dockyard if we didn't want to travel too far - and asked did we want to have dinner there that evening. If booking Dux Court was the first good idea we had on this trip, taking dinner was the second. When I didn't eat the plate and all, its a miracle. Even our kids - normally fussy enough eaters when they don't have exactly what they're used to - absolutely loved the food (all home made) and we each ate roughly our own bodyweight in food.

Next morning breakfast met the same huge standard - both in quanity and in quality. Properly set us up for a day when we knew we wouldn't be eating until late. The boys were going ahead first and we were going to get a taxi for the girls - but no problem, Vicki said she was heading off and would drop them up to the door.

Next morning breakfast awaited us again - and again met the same standards as before. Again it was a choice of cereals, cooked breakfast and fresh fruit - and lots of everything. No question of being rushed out, all very calm. And I'm sure if we were anywhere else we would have paid at least twice what we did for what we got.

Throughout our visit we were treated not as customers but as guests. The kids were made feel welcome to wander around, in and out of the garden, watch TV. When her husband came from work on the first night he sat with us and another guest for dinner and chatted away like we'd known each other forever.

This is how to do hospitality. Be made welcome, not feel like a stranger, nothing is too much hassle and the food was tremendous. I've stayed in hotels and B&Bs in many countries and cities and this stands head and shoulders above just about every one. Will we go back? Whatever it takes, yes!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank ConorB75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rochester hotels
4.7 mi away
The Golden Lion Hotel
The Golden Lion Hotel
#1 of 17 in Rochester
184 reviews
5.5 mi away
Botleigh Villa B&B
Botleigh Villa B&B
#6 of 17 in Rochester
24 reviews
4.6 mi away
Gordon House Hotel
Gordon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rochester
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Greystones B&B
Greystones B&B
#7 of 17 in Rochester
56 reviews
7 mi away
North Downs Barn
North Downs Barn
#2 of 17 in Rochester
82 reviews
2.4 mi away
No photo provided
Reginald Lodge
#1 of 1 in Rochester
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dux Court B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dux Court B&B

Address: Dux Court Dux Court Road | High Halstow, Rochester ME3 8RZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Rochester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Rochester
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dux Court is situated on the outskirts of a very quiet village with only a few neighbours near by. The gardens are stunning and back on to surrounding orchards. We have 3 sumptuous rooms which have been renovated to a high standard, each boasting a superb en-suite bathroom. Each room is unique and the furniture and soft furnishings have been lovingly collected over a number of years. The Mandarin room is a stunning double bedroom that overlooks the front of the house. The bathroom has a separate shower and a large roll top bath in the middle of the room from which you can view the whole garden if desired. The Wigeon room and en-suite has a large super king size bed and enough room to be used as a 'family' room if necessary.The Mallard room is a double room and en-suite with a separate shower cubicle. The breakfast is a full breakfast and promises that you won't be hungry for a good few hours. Dux Court is close to Cooling Castle Barn and a taxi service can be arranged if required. Rochester and Chatham are near by offering lots of tourist attractions. We are well situated for links to Europe and the M25 and about 40 minutes from London by car. A warm welcome awaits you! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dux Court B&B Rochester, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing