We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B&B Heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cedar House B&B Rochester
Ranked #4 of 17 Rochester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The facilities and service at Cedar House are better than some 5 star hotels. From the moment we arrived after a long, hot journey, we were made to feel at home with a tray of tea and biscuits. Our twin bedded room was spacious with a wonderful view over the beautiful rear garden. Both the bedroom and en suite bathroom were tasefully decorated, well appointed and immaculately clean. The beds were extremely comfortable and the bed linen was gorgeous. There was much attention to detail. Breakfast was superb, well cooked, unhurried and enhanced by the beautiful crockery. The B&B was easy to find in an attractive road only a mile from Rochester's town centre. Alison and Joe were very welcoming, friendly and efficient and it was a joy to stay with them.

Room Tip: The Bellerophon room at the rear of the house was sunny and quiet with views over the attractive rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2013

Very clean rooms, great service, lovely breakfast and delightful hosts. You could not want for more! We highly recommend this guest house for anybody visiting Rochester and the surrounding area.
Thank you Joe and Alison.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UKfamily_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Just had two beautiful nights stay in Cedar House which is located just a short walk from the beautiful historic town centre of Rochester set in a lovely, well-established suburb. Alison and Joe were the 'perfect hosts' in every way - excellent and varied choice of breakfasts, with clean, spacious and well-presented rooms with a good selection of 'coffee & tea' facilities with 'welcome goodies' of fudge & biscuits. Well recommended - we'll be staying here again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveNTrish2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Have just spent 3 nights here and can only reiterate all the other reviews! Joe & Alison are a great couple who make you feel very welcome & nothing is too much trouble. The B&B is situated on a lovely road very handy for exploring. Breakfast was varied and plentiful & the 'Putting Green' room was clean, spacious & had a very good courtesy tray! Alison's homemade biscuits & fudge were a lovely touch!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaneybabeCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We had never stayed in a B&B before our visit to Rochester. If they were all like Cedar House we would never stay in an hotel again. After reading recent reviews there is not much more we can add. Alison and Joe were two of the most delightful people you could wish to meet. To be greeted by home made biscuits and tablet in our spotless room made us realise just how lucky we were that our daughter-in-law had booked us in for two nights. Unfortunately we had had to stay in another B&B for the first night as Alison and Joe were full. All I can say is thank goodness we hadn't stayed in Cedar House the first night and had to change for the second and third nights to the other B&B. The bedroom and bathroom were spotless. The breakfast was excellent. What more can I say? If you want a B&B in Rochester this is the one!

Room Tip: We were in the Bellerophon. It was light and airy with a lovely view of the back gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

The Cedar House is just a short walk from the historic town centre of Rochester in a leafy suburb. The house looks quite grand from the outside and the inside doesn't disappoint. The room we stayed in was well fitted out and had a good view over the garden.
Our hosts were very kind and helpful. We couldn't have asked for a better reception. Breakfast each day was very good.

We will certainly stay here again if we need to go back to Rochester and I do not hesitate in recommending this lovely B&B. I just hope it doesn't get too popular because it's such a lovely place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5Tim5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

There's a maxim that says, if a job is worth doing, it's worth doing well
Joe and Alison Blair's Bed & Breakfast exemplifies that edict.
Nestled high above the tree lined street, behind a manicured lawn, the curved driveway ends at a beautiful, welcoming oak door. The two tiered staircase leads to three inviting doors. The first door opened to our beautiful wallpapered en - suite ,featuring a seven window bay, overlooking much of Rochester. A round multi headed shower complimented the spacious bathroom. Especially appreciated was the wonderful towel warmer.
The mountain of pillows atop the luxurious duvet promised warm, comfy nights.
Tea, coffee, cookies and sweets greet you on the writing desk.
Across the hall, the other guest room featured a golf décor with a double bed and an even larger walk in bath and shower.

Breakfast is the icing on this cake. English breakfast with juices, coffee, tea ,eggs, sausages, black pudding, bacon, home- made bread and assorted preserves.

And if all this doesn't have your head swimming, add in two of the most gracious, charming, accommodating hosts ever to grace a B & B.
Anyone visiting the Rochester area should most definitely plan ahead to spend a few days with Joe and Alison , if for no other reason than to relive an era when class was the norm.

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room at Cedar House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rochester
1 mi away
Gordon House Hotel
Gordon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rochester
135 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham
1 mi away
St. George Hotel
St. George Hotel
#3 of 6 in Chatham
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Greystones B&B
Greystones B&B
#7 of 17 in Rochester
55 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Golden Lion Hotel
The Golden Lion Hotel
#1 of 17 in Rochester
170 reviews
2.6 mi away
North Downs Barn
North Downs Barn
#2 of 17 in Rochester
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cedar House B&B Rochester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar House B&B Rochester

Address: 66 Priestfields, Rochester ME1 3AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Rochester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Rochester
Price Range: £83 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury bed and breakfast in Rochester Kent, close to Cathedral, Castle and Dickensian High Street. All bedrooms en-suite with TV & Wi-Fi and off-road parking. Ideally located B&B for visiting Rochester, Chatham Historic Dockyard, London and South East England. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cedar House B&B Rochester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar House B&B Rochester Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing