We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing cocktail making class”

Olivers Bar & Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Olivers Bar & Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 139 Restaurants in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$25
Cuisines: Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Oliver's Bar & Restaurant is an exclusive establishment in the heart of Rochester. Our philosophy is to only offer the best to our patrons. From our extensive range of wines, beers and spirits, locally sourced and inspired restaurant A La Carte menu to our equally high standard of customer service. Whether it be dining, drinking or dancing. We want every visit you make to Oliver’s to be memorable for all the right reasons – great service, great atmosphere, great company and great food and drink.
Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

Great expert cocktail making class by Moira who was a great teacher and showed us all exactly what to do. Would highly recommend and a great, friendly member of staff!

Thank Callum F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adboperations, Owner at Olivers Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2017

hi Callum

thank you for your kind review . we are glad you enjoyed your visit to olivers and look forward to welcome you back very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (458)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 153 of 458 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

If I was rating Olivers on food then it would be a 1 star. As we had drinks there too, I am giving it a 3 star as the cocktails were very nice and our waiter was lovely.

The menu at Olivers is very limited - 6 main courses to choose from - usually this means the food will be great as when there's a limited menu it should mean the food is perfected. This is NOT the case here. They are trying to be an expensive restaurant but are failing terribly on the choice of food and the quality. £15 for a chicken Kiev and chips - please view the picture and see for yourself that this is not a £15 quality meal. This is also how I left my meal - the chicken had no garlic sauce, no flavour, bland, boring. The chips were also horrible frozen ones - if you're going to use frozen chips, at least buy nice ones! I also never have ketchup but had to because it was such a dry meal.

The cocktails are great and 2 for 1 before 10pm - we would go back and enjoy the bar and music but would never eat there again. All my friends thought the food was over priced and poor choice / quality.

Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adboperations, Owner at Olivers Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2017

hi Payno32

thank you for your review. I launched an investigation into the comments raised in your review. However you left a few points out. you sat down 1.5 hours late due the fact three of your guests were running late. in that time you and your guest consumed 28 cocktails which made you slightly tipsey. you was asked on three occasions by the serving staff if your meal was ok. on each occasion you said yes. our manager would be more than happy to discuss you complaint further . thank you for visiting olivers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2017 via mobile

Delicious cocktails, especially pornstar martinis! Highly recommend. Lovely service but could do with some more seating.

Thank MrsNicsx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adboperations, Owner at Olivers Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2017

hi Mrs Nicsx

thank you for your review. we have plenty of seating in two of our other rooms . we are glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2017 via mobile

This was our first visit and we were not disappointed. The atmosphere was well balanced between the bar and restaurant which are separate rooms.
Mt wife was treating me for my birthday and choose Oliver's neither of us are fussy eaters but expect our meals out to be above what we could prepare at home.
The menu, though not huge has a wide culinary style and certainly has dishes to tempt everyone. I wanted one of everything from the a la carte menu but settled for The Salt & Pepper Squid and Slow roasted 5 spiced Duck leg. My wife had the Goats Cheese and shallot tartlet and Barnsley Lamb Chop. All these dishes were cooked and presented wonderfully. The portion sizes was very generous. We ate our dishes in total bliss.
The Waiting Staff are very friendly and attentive without being intrusive.
We were so impressed we made another reservation to visit again next month with friends.

Thank michaelcairney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adboperations, Owner at Olivers Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

hi Michael

thank you for your kind review. we are glad you enjoyed your visit to olivers. we look forward to welcoming you back very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017

This is by far the best venue in Rochester. We were booked in to do the cocktail course and have a meal afterwards. The service was amazing from the time we stepped in until the time we left. Staff were friendly and attentive. Nothing too much trouble and it was clear they were out to make the whole Olivers experience a special one. The food was truly heavenly. The decor throughout added to a warm welcoming atmosphere. The people leading the cocktail course were Moira and Matt. They made it great fun, were very knowledgable about the origin of certain cocktails and really good teachers. We were allowed to go at our pace and again nothing was too much trouble and to top it off the cocktails were wonderful. Olivers is situated in Rochester high street but once inside it had the feel of being in a top class bar/ restaurant in London.
I would highly recommend Olivers as a special night out.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 1963Nicky1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adboperations, Owner at Olivers Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2017

thank you for your kind review. we are glad you enjoyed your visit to olivers and look forward to welcoming you back very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Olivers Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
Rochester, Kent
 

Been to Olivers Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing