We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cocktails and atmosphere ”

Olivers Bar & Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Olivers Bar & Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 139 Restaurants in Rochester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$25
Cuisines: Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Oliver's Bar & Restaurant is an exclusive establishment in the heart of Rochester. Our philosophy is to only offer the best to our patrons. From our extensive range of wines, beers and spirits, locally sourced and inspired restaurant A La Carte menu to our equally high standard of customer service. Whether it be dining, drinking or dancing. We want every visit you make to Oliver’s to be memorable for all the right reasons – great service, great atmosphere, great company and great food and drink.
Reviewed 12 February 2017 via mobile

Went here for my friends 50th birthday. Great atmosphere and didn't feel out of place due to our age. We're made very welcome and was a friendly place. Was able to drink and have a dance. Everyone seemed to be there to have fun and a laugh. The staff were very knowledgeable and friendly. Had a brilliant evening.

Thank svg6667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adboperations, Owner at Olivers Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2017

hi svg6667

thank you for your kind review, Olivers is great for birthdays and special celebrations. we are glad you enjoyed your visit. we look forward to welcoming you back very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (458)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

146 - 150 of 458 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2017

We visited on Thursday 9th Feb 2017 as an informal work get together to say thanks to our 3 Turkish visitors. There were 7 of us in total and we dined at 7:30pm. Upon arrival we were looked after straight away and coats taken. We sat down in a lovely room with great decor. Our waitress was Moira who made us feel welcome and attended to our requests with a smile on her face and great sense of humour. Every dish we ordered came out in good time and the presentation was excellent. Every dish our group tried was tasty and of a sensible portion size. Starters, mains and desserts were great. The wine choice was exhaustive and the red we chose was top notch. Moira ensured every part of the dining experience was 5* so I can only thank her again here. We would all definitely go back again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DrCollins1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adboperations, Owner at Olivers Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2017

hi Dr Collins

thank you for your kind review. we are glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2017 via mobile

My husband and some friends visited Olivers on a Monday evening to try the new midweek menu for £12.95 and wow what can I say......
Firstly I had the potted beef with homemade piccalilli which was the best I'd ever tasted, followed by the chicken Kiev which was delicious, we also had the mussels between us and steak and ale suet pudding which was again lovely.
We had to try the desserts simply because we couldn't miss out!
All the food is homemade and absolutely delicious, we will definitely be visiting again and at that price it would be rude not to!
Thank you

Thank sunshine80Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adboperations, Owner at Olivers Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2017

hi sunshine

thank you for your kind review. we are glad you enjoyed visit . we are very proud of our new menu . we look forward to seeing you back very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

Great expert cocktail making class by Moira who was a great teacher and showed us all exactly what to do. Would highly recommend and a great, friendly member of staff!

Thank Callum F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adboperations, Owner at Olivers Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2017

hi Callum

thank you for your kind review . we are glad you enjoyed your visit to olivers and look forward to welcome you back very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

If I was rating Olivers on food then it would be a 1 star. As we had drinks there too, I am giving it a 3 star as the cocktails were very nice and our waiter was lovely.

The menu at Olivers is very limited - 6 main courses to choose from - usually this means the food will be great as when there's a limited menu it should mean the food is perfected. This is NOT the case here. They are trying to be an expensive restaurant but are failing terribly on the choice of food and the quality. £15 for a chicken Kiev and chips - please view the picture and see for yourself that this is not a £15 quality meal. This is also how I left my meal - the chicken had no garlic sauce, no flavour, bland, boring. The chips were also horrible frozen ones - if you're going to use frozen chips, at least buy nice ones! I also never have ketchup but had to because it was such a dry meal.

The cocktails are great and 2 for 1 before 10pm - we would go back and enjoy the bar and music but would never eat there again. All my friends thought the food was over priced and poor choice / quality.

Thank Claire P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adboperations, Owner at Olivers Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2017

hi Payno32

thank you for your review. I launched an investigation into the comments raised in your review. However you left a few points out. you sat down 1.5 hours late due the fact three of your guests were running late. in that time you and your guest consumed 28 cocktails which made you slightly tipsey. you was asked on three occasions by the serving staff if your meal was ok. on each occasion you said yes. our manager would be more than happy to discuss you complaint further . thank you for visiting olivers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Olivers Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 
Rochester, Kent
 

Been to Olivers Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing