We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an amazing place !!”
Review of Chestnuts B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chestnuts B&B
Ranked #5 of 17 Rochester B&B and Inns
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What an amazing place !!”
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We came down for my sisters wedding which was one of the reasons why we chose Chestnuts B&B as it was local to the wedding venue. Amazing amenities, easy to find and the owners were always willing to help. Lovely selection for breakfast. We felt refreshed after our stay at Chestnuts B&B.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natshore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
23
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
kent
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed with rosemary and John , along with our daughter and granddaughter, as our son married at the knowle country house in higham at the beg of August .. We arrived very late on the Sunday evening to find our accommodation was in little twin houses at the back of the house in their very spacious, peaceful, cottage garden. Both rooms were extremely well stocked with very thoughtful extras like choc bars, which we welcomed as it seemed a lifetime since we had eaten!! The bathroom was simply fantastic, the shower powerful and hot,all the little extras... Cotton balls earbuds etc...and the bed large and very comfortable.
Rosemary and John were very welcoming, the dining room was clean, comfortable and well stocked with ample cereals, fruit juices etc..... The well cooked breakfast was huge, and they looked after our 2 1/2 yr old granddaughter very well. This b n b is recommended by the knowle and I can see why!! They are fantastic lovely people who really want to make your stay as comfortable as possible .. If you are attending a wedding at the knowle, or just need a place to rest your head please please give this beautiful n b a visit
Thank you John and rosemary

Room Tip: Both rooms brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sheilamarie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

What a lovely welcome from Rosemary & John. Room absolutely delightful and had a great night's sleep. Great setting to the rear of the house with loads of parking. Breakfast - what can you say - absolutely delicious with melon starter with that ginger sugar. Must visit again!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: only a couple if rooms but well appointed and very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveH2201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed with Rosemary and John in the Honeysuckle room for one night in late May. We arrived late, as we had quite a traumatic journey, both Rosemary and John were so friendly, we were offered tea and biscuits and good conversation to help us relax. Sat Nav's and Ipads even came out to help us find the location of the wedding reception we were going to, furthermore we were very kindly given a lift into Rochester - which was just lovely. The room was beautifully decorated, the bathroom was huge with a great shower with powerjets, and the tranquil surroundings of the wood around the house was fabulous - really nice to wake up to. Breakfast was fantastic too :) Really hope we get to visit again - thank you so much for a lovely couple of days

Room Tip: Honeysuckle room was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We’ve just returned from a most wonderful stay with John & Rosemary at Chestnuts B&B in Higham; we can thoroughly recommend it!

The 2 very well furnished rooms sit 30 metres from the main house surrounded by an established chestnut coppice. The rooms are immaculate and very comfortable, each with their own contemporary en-suite wet room, with a super shower; ideal after a long day. The rooms are light and airy and look out on to the well kept gardens, there were rabbits playing on the lawns and lots of wild birds, it is a very relaxing environment.
Well stocked with an ever changing, intriguing selection of drinks and snacks, the room was equipped with free wifi, large flat screen TV with a free view box, hot drink making facilities, extra blankets, coat hangars, hair dryer to name but the essentials!

Breakfast: breakfast was amazing. We stopped for 7 nights, a variety of fresh fruit every morning followed by a hearty full english, always cooked to perfection. Accompanied with toast, yoghurts, fruit juices, teas and coffee; you certainly won’t need lunch!

John & Rosemary make the whole experience special with their superb attention to detail, friendly nature and genuine care for their guests. We will most definitely be returning in the future and we fully recommend their B&B without hesitation. I’d go as far to say that it would be a strong contender for the best B&B in the UK by far...

Room Tip: The Honeysuckle room has a king sized bed, the Lavender room is a twin room and has two single beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScubaStrapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

I have stayed with Rosemary & John many times. Proof of something good, if ever it was needed.
Well equipped & a fantastic escape from work & home, for piece & tranquility.
I will stay again, without hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnTravelsLots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We had an absolutely lovely stay at the Chestnuts B&B. In fact, it was so nice I almost don't want to let you in on the secret!

We stayed in the Honeysuckle room. The accommodation was cosy and comfortable, with a king size bed, and an en-suite shower room. The shower was truly a feat of engineering, with two shower headstand water jets that give you massages too! The room was spotlessly clean, and very welcoming. It had its own flat screen TV, and WIFI, and it's own thermostat, along with a range of tea, coffee and the best selection of biscuits I have had in a hotel. It was obvious that the layout of the room was well planned, with everything to hand to be very comfortable indeed. The bed was very comfortable too, and extra blankets were also available in the large wardrobe.

Our hosts were just great, they made us feel very welcome, providing us with tea and biscuits on arrival, and they gave us lots of recommendations about the area, as well as weather updates and tips on the best places to eat locally.

Breakfast in the morning was amazing, including a range of cereals, yoghurts and fruit, porridge (if you wanted it), as well as a really delicious fry up too. It was excellent value for money.

There's plenty of parking and because the accommodation is separate to the main house, a feeling of privacy too. Your rooms are in a little annexe in the garden, so you look out over the lawns and the wood with all the chestnut trees, and it's beautiful.

We'll definitely stay there again. And I have no hesitation at all in recommending it to others.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgiaK136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rochester
3.0 mi away
Best Western Manor Hotel
Best Western Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Singlewell
244 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Inn on the Lake
The Inn on the Lake
#4 of 5 in Gravesend
490 reviews
5.1 mi away
Granby Hotel
Granby Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northfleet
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The King Charles Hotel
The King Charles Hotel
#1 of 2 in Gillingham
629 reviews
5.7 mi away
Bridgewood Manor - QHotels
3.9 mi away
Ship & Trades
Ship & Trades
#5 of 6 in Chatham
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chestnuts B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnuts B&B

Property: Chestnuts B&B
Address: Gravesend Road | Higham, Rochester ME3 7DX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Rochester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer a warm welcome and comfortable en-suite accommodation, in quiet location with off-road parking and full English breakfast. Chestnuts is an excellent base from which to explore exciting places: castles & caves, forts & country parks, Dickens festivals & local theatres, river walks & shopping centres, a ski-slope, ice-skating & digger-land. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chestnuts B&B Rochester, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing