We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely worth a visit!”
Review of Kinara Rochester - CLOSED

Kinara Rochester
Price range: US$13 - US$38
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Kent
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Definitely worth a visit!”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

This is my second visit to the Kinara Indian restaurant but the first to their new venue which opened seven weeks ago. Located two doors from my favourite Indian restaurant the Cummin club. This is a very modern looking restaurant and a modern tinge on Indian food. Nice bar area if you want a drink before going to your table. Service was good and staff very friendly. Nice atmosphere and food was very good. If you like your Indian food then you must visit. Ignore trip advisor ratings for restaurants in Rochester as this is way down and does not reflect the quality. It is definitely one of my top ten in Rochester.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Providence1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    28
    12
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Average, unfortunately.”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We first came to the Kinara when it was at the other end of Rochester high street, and we were blown away by the concept [really modern Indian food in a modern setting]. We has always meant to come back but never got around to it until we saw that it had moved and decided to go back.
The new location is fine, but the building is a downgrade in terms of dining space (I understand they can, however, hold larger function events now). It was also pretty empty when we arrived, and stayed that way - last time we came it was heaving and had a great atmosphere.
The service was good (but they had nothing much else to do), but we were not wow'd by the food...we are certain that the menu was not as extensive as before, but that might be a trick of the memory.
Still trying a modern twist, but they have lost the 'x-factor' that they had before. A real shame.
Probably won't worry about going again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cabaldwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This restaurant serves slightly different Asian foods and I have to say the dishes are delicious...the staff are very helpful and I would recommend.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Catriona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely food & service ”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Had a groupon voucher and thoroughly enjoyed our meal. Service was really good, the food was lovely, lots of choice.

This isn't traditional Indian, seems to be more Pakistani but so nice to have something different, there is even an organic light meal section of the menu which you wouldn't get at any other Indian.

Would definitely recommend & would definitely go back!

Helpful?
Thank Shelley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Quite good...”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Having moved into new premises, just yards from another Indian Restaurant, the Kinara, a mix of Indian and Pakistani food, will have to pull out all the stops to pull in the customers.
The restaurant has a clean, fresh modern look, the food is pretty good while the staff attentive but not obtrusive.
Most of our party had quite good meals but a mix-up between friends who didn't listen properly (not the staffs fault) meant one person having a far hotter dish than he'd ordered. The staff were not totally blameless though, one half of a starter ended up on the floor, although they quickly made up for that but later after asking for a stuffed paratha, a plain one was delivered.
I must admit when/if I do go back, I'll never order their version of a Mushroom Bhaji again, it came in a warm, clotted cream style sauce - yuk!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RichardD1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kinara Rochester also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing