We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst hotel I I have ever stayed at!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Victoria & Bull Hotel
Ranked #16 of 17 Rochester B&B and Inns
wales
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“worst hotel I I have ever stayed at!!!!!!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

booked a room £45 per night we where going to my mother in laws funeral in Rochester Well what can I say The reception desk was non existant and two young girls attending It did say that the hotel was under refurbishment But It in my view wants complete over haul. It was dirty, tatty, the bed was like a brick and whoever the cleaners are need to be sacked Tiolet was filthy and as for all the facilities that are advertised its a load of tosh!!!!!! Keys didnt fit and we had to scramble under the hugh lock gatesin the front of the hotel to get in as the key didnt work. I wouldn,t recommend this hotel to anyone The only thing going for it is that it is convienient for the high stree But thats about all NEVER AGAIN !!!

Room Tip: no tips except dont go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taffwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    0
    16
    16
    28
    51
See reviews for
17
43
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dartford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

This is the most awful hotel I have ever encountered! Apart from the receptionist (a younger lady) the staff, when you could find any were SO rude! The decor of our room was below average but if that had been the only problem it would have been fine. To alert reception you are there you have to ring a phone which nobody answers!! When you ask someone for help they ignored you. The tv in our room was broken! The beer was off and was then refused to be swapped! My husband waited 45 minutes at reception to try and find someone to help us and in the end had to walk into a staff only area at 7.15pm to be told that the night receptionist who was supposed to be there until 8pm had gone home as it was quiet!

We tried to ignore all these factors and went off to have our dinner elsewhere and on our return discovered that the bar below was one of the liveliest on the high street!! So as you can imagine with windows that didn't shut properly we could hear all the noise not only from the bar but from the staff in the courtyard dragging around bottle bins! It was so awful we promptly drove home.

The only good thing I can say is that when we returned the following morning to complain (the nice receptionist was back) she was apologetic and promptly gave us our money back. However I got the feeling this is something she probably has to do on a regular basis.

We should have been more on the ball as they ask you to pay on arrival! Hardly surprising given the circumstances.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rochester hotels

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Rooms: Dust everywhere. Floor looked like it hadnt been hoovered in months. Room smelt like someone had been smoking init, so opened window-tried to shut it and it wouldnt close. Mold all around the bath, toliet stained in bowel and on seat. Mattress lumpy. Duvet as thin as they come. Pillows stained. My clothes bed clothes stunk after sleeping in the bed. Paper thin walls, you can hear everything and I mean everything. Bed dumped in corridor. Absolutely disgusting room.

Staff: Didnt even get acknowledged when dropping key at reception and staff were sitting on the floot. Wouldnt have hurt to say good morning.

Location: Good location at top of high street.

Breakfast: No breakfast as "refurbing" Wouldnt have risked it if there was breakfast.

Overall I can not believe the owner is allowed to sell rooms in such awful conditions. AVOID!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_bug1186311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Stayed here for 2 days as we where there for the Radio Caroline 50th party..
Despite the hotel going major renovations our room was clean and pleasant to stay in..

We found staff more than helpful, and for just £30 a night its excellent value for money..

Wouldn't hesitate to stay again..

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 683Ade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We stayed in this Hotel for a special weekend but were very disappointed there was a mix up with out booking so they gave us the room the staff usually stay in. No tea/coffee equipment but there was a kettle no towels or soap Basic to say the least net curtain was ripped to bits bathroom had mildew everywhere and the toilet was disgusting. Hair in the hand basin and no matching bathroom suite with a sticky vinyl floor. We complained to the staff but nothing much was done. Old furniture with ring stains on and also a stain on the bed sheets. We had no alternative but to stay but would have left if anywhere else. Half the lights didn't work and noisy at night 12,30 am throwing bottles in a metal wheely bin. Spoilt out special party weekend to celebrate Radio Caroline's 50th Birthday.

Stayed 7th and 8th March

Room Tip: Don't stay there
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The only positive for this dump were the charming young ladies obviously under great pressure to look after the customers. The room was awful with peeling wallpaper, curtains that don't fit and windows falling apart. Spoilt an otherwise good weekend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

This place could be gorgeous once renovated, however it was diabolical, room dirty, bed falling apart and missing the screws to hold it together,damp on the walls,wallpaper falling off, hairdryer last PAT tested in 2005, jaccuzzi bath not working,tiles missing in the bathroom,overlooking old yard with bins and the staff smoking area.
Day staff were lovely, but at night noise from club underneath was horrendous,tried to complain to the night bar manager of the hotel who was rude and obnoxious and refused to give out his name, until refurbished this place is a total joke and even once finished the noise is unaccepable, The bar manager should be sacked as he has no public relation skills what so ever and will only bring further bad press to an already bad reputation, I refused to leave the hotel bar until my complaint was taken seriously and was removed by bouncers onto the street without shoes on and waited for the police to turn up, the said bouncers tried to say I was drunk however the police Knew this was a lie as they were discussing the situation with me and could tell i was not.
So in short do not book into this place,or if you do then do not bother complaining in the evening or you will be removed from the building as the bar manager is a jumped up bully no wonder you have to pay in advance its because people do not run away without paying,its because they do not want to pay for such an appauling place.
I can honestly say I would rather stay in a carboard box than to ever go there again.

Room Tip: Do not go there ever.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rochester
0.4 mi away
Gordon House Hotel
Gordon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rochester
125 reviews
0.9 mi away
St. George Hotel
St. George Hotel
#3 of 6 in Chatham
318 reviews
1.5 mi away
The King Charles Hotel
The King Charles Hotel
#1 of 2 in Gillingham
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Chatham Maritime Hotel
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Rochester-Chatham
1.7 mi away
Ship & Trades
Ship & Trades
#5 of 6 in Chatham
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Victoria & Bull Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Victoria & Bull Hotel

Property: Royal Victoria & Bull Hotel
Address: 16-18 High Street, Rochester ME1 1PX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Rochester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Rochester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Victoria & Bull Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Royal Victoria & Bull Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Victoria & Bull Hotel Rochester, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing