We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveller rating
16
42
24
23
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
42
24
23
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall barprivate parkinga stones throwrump steakhotel is in a great locationlisted buildingstar hotelroast dinnerbig roomlovely atmosphereshort staytrain stationvisiting rochestergraduation
Filter
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 139 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2012

The best bed had experienced for a long time (including the one at home!), great mattress and crisp wholesome sheets. So a fantastic nights sleep. The room could have done with a deep clean, the remotes were filthy, the tv unfathomable and surfaces in the room and ensuite were clearly left out of the cleaning schedule. Repairs had been botched. The hotel was a mix of old style charm and later incompatible additions. Electrical sockets need a serious overhaul, floppy contacts in several plugholes, cracked and wobbly, metal box fitted proud of the wall when it should have been set into the wall (is this safe?) When the breakfast coffee ran out we had to use sachets of instant as the waiter wouldn't brew any more and the food was poor, tinned tomatoes with ?vinegar added to make them keep, inedible sausages, nice kippers though! The place needs better management to make it run more efficiently. I would stay again though on account of location and good beds. The castle and Thames estuary are well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank voyager s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Booked in to this hotel for two nights stay. The interior is very tired with carpets worn and patched. The room was in a similar condition, not clean and very dusty. The buffet breakfast room was very tired and again not very clean. Morning coffee is from a sachet and an urn of hot water. The waiter was less than welcoming in the morning with a 'what do you want' comment as we sat down. There were no protectors on the pillows and no covers on the spare pillows in the wardrobe. There were broken tiles in the ensuite which were covered by a cut piece of carpet and also no lock or latch on the ensuite door. I had also booked a room for my son and his partner and the sink in his room was blocked and for some reason the staff moved his luggage from his room to our room before he had even checked out. We went elsewhere for breakfast on the second morning. The hotel looks and feels it needs a complete renovation and a some good housekeeping. I raised a number of these issues with the staff on check out but got the feeling the staff were not interested. The cost was £70 per night for a double room. Definitely not recommended for a stay. Pay more and stay elsewhere.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank Alan151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

The Gordon Hotel needs three of three things.1 complete demolition,2 relocating to Albania,3 close the kitchen down and promise never to open again.This place sucks with a capital S.The restaurant is bleak and uninviting,the menus drab crumpled confused.The only thing that was real was the food,real bad,real real bad.With a heavy heart we ordered the safest thing on the menu,steak and chips,was the worst meal I've had since I was three.How hard is it to pan fry some steak and rustle up a few chips.Well it was mission impossible at the Gordon hotel.The food was so bad that my partner who usually eats anything impulsively smothered her meal with tomatoe sauce before devouring it and then complaining.Man.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We stayed here for one night when we were visiting the lovely city of Rocester and Chatham dockyards. We were looking for somewhere to park off the High Street when we saw the entrance to the Hotels car park so parked there and went in to see if they had a room.
We were offered a choice of 3 rooms one on the front of the Hotel directly over the High Street and looking out at the Cathedral or two at the rear of the hotel that we were told would be much quiter.
All the rooms were pleasant and had been recently painted.
We chose the one on the front because it was quite large, had an imitation 4 poster bed, and had a fantastic view, as stated. It had fully working sash windows which is quite unusaul for a property of this age.
The Hotel is certainly in need of some modification and redecorating but it was generally clean and very friendly.
We would use this Hotel again epecialy because of its location.

Room Tip: High street rooms best but could be a bit noisy at the weekend.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rich_n_Chris2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We stayed here for one night , it was booked for us by a friend , also I was born in this area so I really did not want to have to say bad things about it , but quite honestly this place is vile.

The only thing its got going for it is the fact that its right on the high street just a stone's throw from the Cathedral and Castle.
Sadly everywhere else in the area was fully booked, we arrived late and had about 10 minutes to get to an event , otherwise we would have moved to another hotel as soon as we arrived.

The staff are friendly enough but the Hotel is, quite simply, filthy , and in serious need of a complete refurb.

We checked in quite late so its likely that we got the worst room but thats no excuse for it being dirty. Right from the start we found the hotel filthy , my feet were sticking to the carpet in reception because it was so dirty , Even the artificial christmas tree in the reception area was covered in dust .

Our room was just awful , dirty and dank smelling , filthy broken furniture , dust covered pictures and mirrors on the walls, a filthy cupboard that they called a bathroom with broken fittings and a cold dribble for a shower , a wardrobe that was so full of junk it was unuseable, a window that looked out directly into a ramshackle lean to shed that was full of rubbish , and a bed that must have been 30 years old , it was so lumpy and uncomfortable we hardly slept at all .
Breakfast was covered in grease and served at tables that had not been cleaned, there was a plastic flower in a vase on our table, the flower had a layer of dust on it and the vase had all sorts of rubbish in it including some dead insects that had clearly been there for months.

and they charged us £68 for this !!! apparently the rack rate is usually £80 or £90
I recommend you avoid this hotel

Room Tip: If you want a good room choose another hotel
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BrianR0se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews